AP Computer Science Lesson Introductory Java Language Features (2)

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Notes Intro Java Language Features - Operators 8/16


####Arithmetic Operators:

"+"Addition-
"-"Subtraction-
"*"Multiplication-
"/"Division-
"%"Mod (remainder)Ex. 11 % 8 = 3

** Keep in mind, if you use int for 5/2... It will give you an integer! So, use double as its type.


Relational Operators:

==equal toEx. if (x == 100)
!=not equal toEx. if (x != 100)
>greater than
<less than
>=greater than or equal to
<=less than or equal to

** Use these when you may need to use different operations to different types of numbers.


Logical Operators:


** AND means both have to be true.
** OR means one has to be true.

Truth Tables


Assignment Operators:

=x = 2-
+=x += 4this means x = x + 4
-=x -= 4this means x = x - 4
*=x *= 4this means x = x * 4
/=x /= 4this means x = x / 4
%=x %= 4this means x = x % 4

Increment and Decrement Operators:

++i++means i = i + 1
--i--means i = i - 1

** Here is a mathematical example where we could use this:


A mathematical program:


Output (what the user would see):
Solving 5+3*2-2^2:
7


Question for the Students

Make a program with the output:
Hello World.
My name is ______.
My favorite movie is ______.

Answer:


Thank you for viewing Steemers! I am happy to provide my lesson plans for you!

Sort:  

@hansenator - Sire, this is a valuable guidance for java lovers. Therefore, I will RESTEEM & UPVOTE your post Sire.

+W+

Thank you steemwija! I really appreciate the support! Here to educate!

LOL...this brings me back...In high school I helped my older brother with his CS2 class which was in Java. That's how I learned Java. Then I decided to take the AP computer science test after reading about it a bit online and deciding it was pretty basic. My school ordered the test for me (despite not having a class) and I took it in a small room with a proctor...I got really sick that day and vomited 3+ times during the test and had to skip the AP calculus test the next day and a band concert we had that night. (I was able to make up the calc test later)

Long story short, I got a 5, but it was a pretty shitty day...

Wow. Sounds like a hell of a day. Haha. You sound like me in high school... I was the guy people went to for math help. Good work though! What are you doing now?

I'm a senior in college at UMD (Duluth, MN) studying math and computer science. (And playing around with crypto in my spare time)

good news

@hansenator,
When I was at my graduation I did those java stuffs, then started my career as a Java Software Engineer. But life is not as we always thought, I still remember those stuffs, but now doing something much more interesting than codings.
Actually, I hate to be a software developer. I won't take that much of stress, so changed the destiny at the right time.
Good post for newbies of Java, thanks for sharing your knowledge with STEEM community!

Cheers~

Thanks for the awesome comment guru!!! Glad you are doing better than a Software Engineer! You must be really well off! Best wishes ~ hansenator

good post.It is very informative

Thank you kishore1998! I taught this lesson today. It's a great way to make a post.

Thanks Hansenator.I just resteemed two posts feature 1 & feature 2 .Hope your post will reach wider in our community.

Thank you! Best Steemit wishes!

I couldn't ask for more.It is very nice of you .Thanks a lot.

I just send your post to bellyrub.Please accept it as a token of gratitude hansenator.I will encourage your posts to my best.

I appreciate it kishore1988! I'll see you soon!

This post has received a 0.36 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @kishore1988.

Thanks for the information can be of great help

I hope so! More to come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51