I Just Earned 18 College Credits in 10 Days

in #education5 years ago

18 Credits.jpg

Should I Get A Bachelors Degree?

After obtaining all the required credits for my Associate's degree, I've been taking tests to prove my knowledge of additional subject material along the business degree course line.

That means I have taken 6 tests in the last 10 days and passed them all. I still have another 9 tests scheduled, which would mean another 27 credits should I pass them all. Or 45 in total, all in one month.

I really like this testing out of classes. I might not have had a college degree, but that sure doesn't mean I haven't been learning and increasing my knowledge. Taking these tests proves that my autodidactic ways are successful (nothing pisses me off like someone who is a degree snob).

CLEP feb1.png

DSST Feb1.png

Which Degree?

It would be a business degree with a specialization in finance. Combining my love of running my own business with my love of investing.

I would still need to take a few online courses as all degrees have a requirement to earn credits at the institution and there are some required courses that do not have a test-out option.

It seems the college that I would need to go to would be Thomas Edison State University as they make it easy to get a degree the way I am doing it.

But anyway, this is just a quick update on why I am so quiet as of late and will be for at least the rest of the month.

Hope all of you are doing well.

Sort:  

The piece of paper, is not worth very much.
Unless you are trying to break into a new field, where you have no experience.

Further, the coming Greater Depression will see that degrees are completely worthless.

But, if it doesn't cost much, it looks like you are enjoying it.
Keep at it.

These tests are free to me right now and if I chose to pursue a further degree it would also be free and I would receive a stipend no less than $800 per month (and it could be more).

I really like this testing out of classes. I might not have had a college degree, but that sure doesn't mean I haven't been learning and increasing my knowledge. Taking these tests proves that my autodidactic ways are successful (nothing pisses me off like someone who is a degree snob).

It comes down to whether you feel that the paper is valuable. @builderofcastles makes a good point about the value to the degree snobs you mention (these people are a pestilence on good education; and I ran into them at conferences all over the place...the Cathedral doesn't like self-edumacted monks ;>)

HOWEVER, if you get joy from the process, then do it! It can also help you identify areas that you might want to study more.

if you want it , go for it! And Congrats on your achievement..

Look at you getting it done man!

Whoa... you are on a roll. Congratulations. All the best.

Why stop now...go for it?

Thumbs Up.gif

Congratulations, I believe that the autodidactic methods are really very effective.

you don't hear about people enriching themselves very often in life like this... its good to be proud of this.... keep going.... knowledge is power

Congratulations @getonthetrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74