Safe Spaces - The Dystopian Infantilization of America's Youth (Part 1)

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Preparing the future for failure:

Safe Spaces - The Dystopian Infantilization of America's Youth (Part 1)

I'm Rubber, You're Glue

I am immensely thankful that when I was growing up there was no such thing as a "safe space" at school. The only safe space was at home and frequently, in the face of conflict within the household, the bedroom. Back then, it was considered a virtue to be able to stand your ground in the face of adverse circumstances, to argue for your point of view and to listen to other perspectives even if you disagreed with them or they made you feel uncomfortable. Retreating behind my mother's skirts or hiding behind my father became something that was simply not allowed after the age of five or six unless there was a demonstrable physical danger.

The playground refrain of the day, when someone would say something that was intended to hurt your feelings or insult you, was "I'm rubber, you're glue, what you say bounces off me and sticks to you!" Today even this immature coping mechanism has been abandoned in favor of telling authority figures so they will silence the critic or retreating to safe spaces. Sadly, this latter "solution" has not only propagated itself in elementary schools, but at universities as well.

In the 1970s and 1980s there were no emotional "safe spaces" outside the home - the term didn't even exist in its current iteration. In recent years however, a movement has arisen that advocates public spaces be partitioned and areas thereof dedicated to accommodating and coddling those who are incapable of coping emotionally or intellectually with divergent opinions or objective realities they wish weren't true.

But what exactly are "safe spaces" and how are they supposed to work?

Defining 'Safe Spaces' - Doublethink Indoctrination?

Let's start with the Merriam-Webster Dictionary definition:

(A 'safe space' is): a place (as on a college campus) intended to be free of bias, conflict, criticism, or potentially threatening actions, ideas, or conversations.

This ostensibly neutral formulation can be supplemented by the definition provided by geekfeminism.wikia, ostensibly an advocate of safe space ideology:

'Safe space' is a term for an area or forum where either a marginalised group are not supposed to face standard mainstream stereotypes and marginalisation, or in which a shared political or social viewpoint is required to participate in the space.

The idea that a 'safe space' require a shared political or social viewpoint to participate in it makes it clear that an expectation of ideological conformity exists in such spaces.

What more can we discern? The other terms used to define safe spaces indicate they are zones of exclusion, not inclusion. How do I come to this conclusion? As can be seen in the definitions above, a 'safe space' is defined with the aid of a number of terms that enable considerable interpretational freedom: a 'marginalized group', the 'mainstream', 'bias', 'criticism' or 'potentially threatening actions, ideas or conversations' are most certainly subjective terms.

It was precisely this interpretive ambiguity that I recently found myself contemplating while considering a "safe space" sign from the internet that had been posted in public at one of my alma maters. My first impression was that it could only have been designed in a modern Ministry of Truth echo chamber. Given my perspective, everything it said appeared twisted in accordance with some dystopian logic so as to mean the exact opposite of what it said, all the while earnestly proclaiming "We are inclusive and accepting!"

This is the sign that triggered my consideration of the topic (irony intended) which was found with a simple internet search, as this sign is apparently very popular today.


image source

This is a new Treachery of Images writ large. Instead of reading "This is not a pipe" and being able to reconcile the statement with the fact that it was merely an image of a pipe, the safe space sign (for me) had no conceivable logical explanation for its fundamental contradictions other than a lack of intellectual integrity on the part of its creators.

Now don't get me wrong. I understand what safe spaces are supposed to be or represent; namely spaces where people of diverse ethnicities, sexualities and genders can retreat to in order to feel supported and cared for. But the categories of ethnicity, sex and gender seem to be the maximum extent of diversity that is accepted or welcomed and even then I think we can all recognize the limits of that "diversity".

Diversity in the context of a safe space does not mean that diversity of opinion, perspective, religion or political belief are welcome or accepted - all of which are admittedly much more varied than ethnicity, sex and gender (well, gender has apparently gone LGBTQ-to-Infinity so ...). Thus the claim to be diverse, inclusive, accepting and welcoming for everyone is patently false and must surely be recognizable as such by the promoters of these spaces. If that isn't doublethink, what is?

The cognitive dissonance evoked could only be resolved by postulating two reasons for the intrinsic contradictions: 1. the creators of the sign were functionally illiterate or 2. they are deeply indoctrinated into a doublethink ideology (which I consider more likely). Either way, the propagation of such obvious dishonesty in a supposedly intellectual space (a university campus) had exactly the opposite effect of that intended: I was triggered (/sarcasm).

Why do I contend the sign's representation of safe spaces is intellectually dishonest? Let's take a look:

Safe Spaces are Zones of Sanctioned Discrimination and Segregation

The dictionary definition provides us with vague waypoints for identifying what a safe space is meant to exclude. The intention to create a zone free of bias, conflict, criticism, threatening actions, ideas or conversations appears imminently reasonable. But what kind of bias, conflict or criticism is meant? Which 'potentially threatening actions, ideas or conversations' are intended? That even the mere 'potential' of threat is to be obviated makes it clear that subjective interpretation is the defining criteria for what a 'safe space' should be. (As far as I can tell, if this is the definition of a safe space, human beings are not allowed in safe spaces).

Safe spaces are however highly contextualized in the current educational environment, perhaps the definition provided by geekfeminism above can be of further assistance.

If I am not mistaken, 'marginalized groups' as intended by geekfeminism means racial, ethnic and LGBTQ-to-Infinity "minorities", an admittedly US culturo-centric view that predicates the "majority" as marginalizing, i.e. intolerant and oppressive (even if unintentionally so because "white privilege"). 'Mainstream' too is almost certainly meant to reference what could be understood as the 'white, cis-gendered, heteronormative, democratic, meritocratic, free-market capitalism' paradigm nominally participated in and ascribed to by a majority of the population. Is this to mean that safe spaces are meant to exclude individuals who sympathize, identify with or practice these preceding characteristics and are willing to exercise their right to free speech to defend or promote the same? It would appear so.

(The irony here is that "mainstream" and "social" media have for years been actively promoting or providing a platform for violent/racist ideologies, promoting the LGBTQ-to-Infinity narrative and in some cases has become a fifth column advocate of political violence seeking to discredit the Constitution of the United States.)

This is a strong indication that safe spaces are not about promoting inclusivity, tolerance, diversity or even rational discourse, but rather about infantilizing the cognitive functioning of their participants and providing them with an emotional environment in which developing maturity and coping skills are not only unnecessary but actively hindered. Just as parents try to obviate potential threats in a toddler's surroundings, safe spaces try to achieve the same in an emotional and intellectual framework for adults. This appears to be the promotion of learned helplessness or the perhaps fear to advance social division and create dependency in what should be independently thinking adults. Followers, not leaders, are what are desired and being produced on college campuses today.

Safe Spaces and The Conspiracy of Oppression

As Judith Shulevitz pointed out in the NYT:

In most cases, safe spaces are innocuous gatherings of like-minded people who agree to refrain from ridicule, criticism or what they term microaggressions — subtle displays of racial or sexual bias — so that everyone can relax enough to explore the nuances of, say, a fluid gender identity. As long as all parties consent to such restrictions, these little islands of self-restraint seem like a perfectly fine idea.

But the notion that ticklish conversations must be scrubbed clean of controversy has a way of leaking out and spreading. Once you designate some spaces as safe, you imply that the rest are unsafe. It follows that they should be made safer. source

And these two paragraphs include crucial considerations that were not taken to their logical conclusions: First, if an individual does not consent to restricting their thought processes or forms of expression, they are not welcome in a safe space. Second, the implication that all other spaces are not safe entails that those who gladly occupy those "other spaces" are perpetrators or co-conspirators of some form of oppression or discrimination. Ominously, the form of discrimination can be arbitrarily determined to legitimize the safe space ethos at any time.

This exclusionary and discriminatory tendency is demonstrated in every safe space organizer's limitations on access to the respective safe space that I have seen (though of course I have not seen all safe space guidelines). There are countless examples of this exclusionary aspect, but perhaps the most glaringly discriminatory is that of the University of Minnesota's "Tongues Untied" safe space that is reserved "exclusively for 'People of Color who identify as LGBTQIA and/or Same-Gender-Loving" (sic) and explicitly excludes access for any white students, straight students, or LGBTQ advocates who are not themselves a person of color and self-identify as LGBTQ(-to-Infinity).

Interim Conclusion - Safe Spaces are Promoting Segregation on the Public's Dime

By all appearances, safe spaces seem to do exactly the opposite of what they claim. They promote prejudice, isolation and exclusion, sympathize with and advocate intolerance for other perspectives and life choices, demand ideological orthodoxy and conformity to whatever safe space credo is being espoused and ultimately privilege subjective beliefs over objective realities. It is difficult to conceive of a more divisive and disempowering approach to dealing with real or perceived differences between individuals and groups.

I understand the need for safe spaces and I even advocate them in the privacy of the home or in a space that is privately paid for. But I am very much opposed to using public tax money to pay for "safe spaces" on campus or elsewhere where heterodox thought and belief systems are excluded because some people are simply not mature enough to deal with conflict, distressing thoughts or opposing viewpoints like rational adults. Nor should public funds be used to pay salaries to supervise, host or promote such closed / segregated social movements. Public taxpayer funded spaces are not "safe spaces" from divergent opinions, nor should they be.

I partitioned this contribution due to length, stay tuned for "Safe Spaces - The Dystopian Infantilization of America's Youth (Part 2)" - Now live!



.
.
.
Shot with a golden arrow,
.
.

.
Cupid Zero
.
.
.
Don't forget to upvote, follow and resteem! Comments always appreciated.
.
.
.
All gifs courtesy of Giphy

Sort:  

Tax money should never be used to create exclusionary and discriminatory zones which not all students are allowed to go to. Discriminatory spaces where only "People of color" and LGBTQ can go belong on private property and nowhere else. Every student who pays tuition to a given school should have equal access to all of its facilities. If you are prejudiced against white or straight people (as it sounds like this group is) you can choose to try to hang out in certain public areas when you believe the fewest white or straight people will be. But you are not free to ban them from being there.

As you can see, I totally agree. I hope you enjoyed the read and maybe there was something new in it for you. There is so much going on in this regards today in schools and college campuses that it boggles the mind. One of the best places to keep up to date on the escalating madness is http://www.campusreform.org/. I didn't incorporate the aspect that some classrooms are now being designated safe spaces which are sometimes "work free" or where exams are voluntary or even an automatic pass for participating in social justice activities- which totally blew my mind. If you didn't do so, you may like following some of the links I incorporated into the text here and in Part 2, here. As a photographer you may appreciate the cinematography of 2081, which I included in a recent post, here.

Thanks for the reco - looks like lots of good reading there! I try to dose myself on this and not let myself get overwhelmed. If I start feeling hopeless about humanity I put it aside for a while.

I need to take a bit more time and fully enjoy your Part 2. I hope I'll have some free time tomorrow after work.

Thank you for the cinematography reference - looking forward to that as well!

I totally understand not overindulging, it can be overwhelmingly frustrating at times to watch the lemmings rush off the cliff. You will enjoy 2081, guaranteed!

For the longest time, I thought this whole safe space social justice warrior shit was just a joke on the internet. It crushed my soul when I realized it was actually a thing. I went through the same thing with hipsters.

I know what you mean. As a young optimist, I used to think the pendulum of recrimination and discrimination could be stopped from swinging, but I am a bit more pessimistic these day. The safe space thing too, I thought, that can't be real, young adults don't want to be treated like babies. I guess my first clue should have been the ravers in the early 2000s running around with pacifiers around their neck...

Well said. The irony is that they're advocating segregation, the exact thing that they pretend to be fighting against. And it's even worse that they don't even see that...

Good post! Let me know about that banner you want. You can contact me via Steemit.chat :) Steem on!

Thanks for reading, put up part two if you are interested here. Ah, sorry, when I said you inspired me to get a banner done, I was thinking of one of helping one of my graphic design students with a small commission. But I will definitely send people your way if I can!

This kind of thing kills me. People are so worried about being offended that they believe only they should have freedom of speech.

In America, everyone has the right to free speech, which means we should all be ready to hear something we may not want to hear.

But many of these younger people (I say that like I'm old, I'm actually only 30.) don't believe we should have many of the freedoms we enjoy, as long as everyone is coddled and taken care of.

Sad but true. I would contend that the freedom of speech we (once?) enjoyed in the States should be spread around the world, but we see increasingly draconian "hate speech" laws proliferating everywhere and it is being pushed for in the states as well. I actually had a student in one of my classes that said Milo shouldn't be allowed to speak in public (the topic was his fat shaming lecture) because what he said was offensive. I engaged in a respectful way and asked a few questions on unrelated topics until I found something mildly controversial and then reminded her, by her own standards, I would be justified in making sure she wasn't allowed to speak on the topic in public because it was offensive. She was stymied and didn't know what to say, I let the topic rest and moved on, but that is pretty much the only way I have found of addressing that kind of thing. I have tried just criticizing restricting free speech, but that has yet to work. Thanks for the response!

That's a good way of going about it. Often times, I believe people truly don't mean to "restrict" free speech, they just truly think that people have a right to not be offended, and that couldn't be further from the truth.

I absolutely love this post. So well stated. I was screaming in agony where I should have been as you described the practices of today, and I was cheering wildly in the places where you were talking about what it really is.

Well done. Keep writing stuff like this and you'll be hijacking my blog due to the amount of resteems I have to use. ;)

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am glad to hear it resonates not only intellectually but emotionally. I can only hope that some of the social justice crowd can overcome their resistance to reading any kind of critique and follow the argumentation to recognize the danger this kind of behavior entails. @valued-customer left a great comment on my post The Social Justice Movement is Its Own Worst Enemey that, in keeping with your advice to me, I advised him to expand into his own post.

The responses in general here on Steemit are making me feel less the pariah than I have in many years. Where I am now - both in my work and social life - even what they call right wing is clearly on the left of the political spectrum by US standards, and as a voluntarist/consitutionalist I rarely if ever get any positive feedback on my views of how to deal with the societal, technological, ecological or political ills facing humanity. So thank you again for your positive feedback, it really makes a difference.

The responses in general here on Steemit are making me feel less the pariah than I have in many years.

At the moment during the time I have been on steemit I have found it to be liberating and mind expanding. The key is to try to keep it that way.

Maybe we can turn this place or something like it into a seed from which we can grow some world changes.

A Quantum Neoplatonist "hallelujah" to that! I would love to see a social media platform spread the ideas of the people and not be used to herd sheeple.

When someone raised in safe spaces enters the real world, it's like dumping a domesticated animal into the wild.

So true, made me think of this cartoon:

source

Congratulations @cupidzero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Instant follow man. Great article. It hard to find content about this subject on Steemit!

I'm wondering have you head of postmodernism? This is what has created this ideological vacuum in the first place. It's started at Yale in the 1960. There's many theories on why it's agenda was pushed but none of them good.

Thanks for the kind words, yes, I am very familiar with postmodernism, and the Yale school was really a disciple branch of the Frankfurter school of New Criticism in my opinion. I have addressed this a few times in passing in my earlier posts that, if you liked this post, you would probably enjoy reading. Try these two: Social Justice is Its Own Worst Enemy and Meritocracy is Dead. I am in the process of a cycle of SJ pieces and it is something I think is critical to address, there are many other topics I want to address as well, but as long as the SJ madness continues, so will my blogging on it. And thanks for the follow!

Next one is up Frankenstein's Monster - The Galland article will interest you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65