You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Safe Spaces - The Dystopian Infantilization of America's Youth (Part 1)

in #education7 years ago

Tax money should never be used to create exclusionary and discriminatory zones which not all students are allowed to go to. Discriminatory spaces where only "People of color" and LGBTQ can go belong on private property and nowhere else. Every student who pays tuition to a given school should have equal access to all of its facilities. If you are prejudiced against white or straight people (as it sounds like this group is) you can choose to try to hang out in certain public areas when you believe the fewest white or straight people will be. But you are not free to ban them from being there.

Sort:  

As you can see, I totally agree. I hope you enjoyed the read and maybe there was something new in it for you. There is so much going on in this regards today in schools and college campuses that it boggles the mind. One of the best places to keep up to date on the escalating madness is http://www.campusreform.org/. I didn't incorporate the aspect that some classrooms are now being designated safe spaces which are sometimes "work free" or where exams are voluntary or even an automatic pass for participating in social justice activities- which totally blew my mind. If you didn't do so, you may like following some of the links I incorporated into the text here and in Part 2, here. As a photographer you may appreciate the cinematography of 2081, which I included in a recent post, here.

Thanks for the reco - looks like lots of good reading there! I try to dose myself on this and not let myself get overwhelmed. If I start feeling hopeless about humanity I put it aside for a while.

I need to take a bit more time and fully enjoy your Part 2. I hope I'll have some free time tomorrow after work.

Thank you for the cinematography reference - looking forward to that as well!

I totally understand not overindulging, it can be overwhelmingly frustrating at times to watch the lemmings rush off the cliff. You will enjoy 2081, guaranteed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60