Hello, I am just trying to figure this all out

in #education8 years ago (edited)

Hi, my name is Amiee and my husband introduced me to this site. I am just in the process of exploring it.

I thought I would start out by telling you all a little about myself.

I am a teacher now for 21 years in an urban school district. I have always taught special education, but have a degree in Elementary Education, Special Education and Early Childhood. I am also Nationally Certified in Special Education.

In my 21 years of teaching I have taught Learning Support K-5, Multiple Disability Support K-2 and Autistic Support K-2. My most recent position is Low Incident Support Team. I consult within my district with general education teacher and special education teacher. I am the internal coach for the Autism Initiative Program which implements Applied Behavior Analysis and Verbal Behavior in 8 of our Autistic Support Classrooms. I help set up the program, classrooms and train the staff. I also conduct a lot of professional development throughout the school year.

If anyone has questions about students with disabilities please feel free to ask. I am always willing to help and answer questions the best that I can. If you are in the process of IEPs, ERs, RRs, etc. I can answer those questions also.

Besides being a teacher, I am also a mother of two. My daughter is 12 and my son is 10. I enjoy being off all summer with them so we can travel and do local adventures.

Well, that is it for now. I hope I can figure this thing out and get to know some of you on this site.

Sort:  

Great to find a fellow SPED teacher!

If you have any questions, or Just want to chat with other steemers in real time.
Join our MinnowsUnite Chatroom
https://gli.ph/g/mT205P/CbFybHevfa12pvgQqtZgt50coGG6ZTyxDzDyWSXQJ7s=

Welcome, Amy! The more time you spend on here, the better it gets. My daughter is even posting art!

Thanks for the encouragement.

I'm just learning myself. I made my first post today. So far, it's very interesting. It seems like you have to use a hands on approach to learn what's going on.

Congratulations @astteacher! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @astteacher! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @astteacher! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39