Learning Primary Colors with Pudding and Food Coloring

in #education7 years ago

I have 5 kids aged 9 down to 2, so finding activities that everyone can do together is always a challenge. This was a great activity to help the kids learn about primary colors and what happens when certain colors mix together! Everyone enjoyed this short activity and the rewards of doing a mini art lesson today.

IMG_9165.JPG
The pudding all mixed together

The first thing we did was mix together our pudding and separate it into three bowls. The goal was to learn the primary and secondary colors, so I used red, blue and yellow food coloring - one in each bowl with the pudding.

IMG_9158.JPG
Even Flat Stanley joined us!

I could only wrangle up three of my kids today - the other kids were playing with neighborhood friends. And please excuse their super dirty feet sitting right on the counter. This.Is.Panama.

IMG_9166.JPG

Each kid chose which colors they wanted to mix together in their bowl and I spooned it up for them. Then they guessed what color it would become. Since the base color of the pudding was yellow, each one already had kind of been mixed (the red was a little orange and the blue was quite green). So when the colors were mixed, they kind of did not do like I wanted them. Having a white base (like frosting) would have been better. The kids, however, did not care and they just ate it up!

IMG_9164.JPG

I did something similar to this over the weekend for my son's donut birthday party. I made different frosting colors and let the kids dip the donuts in them. Then they mixed them all up at the end. The frosting base was white because it was milk and powdered sugar, so the colors really stood out. This activity was also a fun way to mix up colors and talk about what happens when blue and red are mixed together.

IMG_9098.JPG

I recommend either of these activities for younger children to learn primary colors and what happens when they are mixed up. It is fun for older kids as well because they can try mixing three and see what happens or figure out if you do two spoons of red and three of blue what shade of purple it will be.

Items needed include spoons, bowls, pudding mix and milk to make the pudding. Take caution with allergies and if you allow the child to use the mixer! It is a fun activity with an added bonus of a snack at the end.

Procedure:

  • Make vanilla pudding
  • Split into three bowls
  • Add red, blue and yellow food coloring to each bowl
  • Add 2 spoonfuls of 2 colors to each child's bowl and mix
  • Eat!

Thanks to @pennsif for creating this Homeschool Contest! Today was the first day I heard about it and the deadline is tonight! I hope they will run this again! I also just learned about the homeschool channel in the Homesteaders Online Discord group! I am super excited about that!

Sort:  

Great idea. Edible education. What better way to learn?

Very true! It is the preferred method around here. I'm glad he did this contest - made me come up with something creative to post on here and engage the kids. Need to do it more often!

What a fun (and delicious!) way to learn about primary colors. My boys love doing hands on activities like this especially when sugar is involved :)

Yes, so true that they especially love it when sugar is involved! Ha!

This is a good activity for children! When my daughter grows up, I will do something similar for her! Thanks for the idea!

Yes, she will love it and it is pretty simple! :)

That is very good, and child has a creativity to make new of collor

Yes, they had a great time! I'm glad we were able to do a little bit of snack making and art practicing. :)

That looks like fun! I rmember doing a similar activity with milk food coloring and detergent.

You have a tray of milk and add some drops of food coloring (2 minimum) and then you add some drops of detergent and the colors all swirl together..

Il try find the link to the activity as Im sure it will explain it better!

Wow, that sounds like a lot of fun. Interesting that they swirl together after you add the detergent!

Yeah it is one of my favourite activities! :)

Interesting activity! Good luck @apanamamama 😊

Thanks - the kids really enjoyed it. We even had some leftover pudding today.

Waw! sounds delicious. I wanna try later with my kiddos. Thanks for sharing ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61063.93
ETH 2667.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61