You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A question for the non-native English speakers

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Interesting post. I'm a Japanese speaker and learned English as my second language (now I'm learning German as third one).
For me writing on steemit daily basis helps me to think, structure and tell my idea in a global standard way. We Japanese tend to assume we have commonsense and try to communicate based on it as most of us Japanese grow up in a kind of closed environment among people with less diversity. I notice sometimes others have question marks on their head when I say something and I have to explain things more concretely with a detailed background.
So I improve my communication skills here on steemit (hopefully). Especially writing is good as I can take as much as time to think. I don't have to care about someone waiting for me ;)

Sort:  

From my understanding, all cultures are blind to themselves and it is only when we get out and experience the open world we start to see how narrow we are. the Japanese also tend to be quite orderly and structured based on drilled cultural rules and I think you guys have a rule for everything and every aspect of life. This would make the common sense only common in that environment, perhaps. I think all cultures have similar in some ways.

It is very cool that these days we are not locked in to our experience like the past, even if we are only able to explore digitally.

Thanks for taking the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81