Microtech Stitch: Borka Blades Bronze M390 169-13

in #edc6 years ago (edited)

The Microtech Stitch: Borka Blades Bronze Flavor
20180205_161258.jpg

This auto knife worked it's way into my small collection pretty quickly after seeing it. I carry a Spyderco Paramilitary 2 primarily, and have for over 3 years. It's an excellent blade and has served me very, very well. But...Who doesn't like changing it up a bit?
20180205_161346.jpg

Size wise, they're about the same. The biggest differences I've knoticed is the thickness of the both blade and handles between the two. The Stich is far more "beefy" and definitely instills a "full hand" feel, like you're holding a prybar with a really sharp edge to it. The blade comes extremely sharp from Microtech, like razor sharp (which is good! :D).
20180205_161214.jpg

You can clearly see the differences in blad type over the PM2. The PM2 has a very utility/defensive type blade style while the Stich is mainly a "defensive" type. The lockup is very strock with no movement in the blad whatsoever. It is an auto knife, but I find that deploying my PM2 is much quicker than the Stich. Maybe it's because I'm so used to using my PM2 and have become very good at deploying it, or maybe it's just that the Stich has more mass to move and just isn't quite as fast. By no means though is the deployment slow.
20180205_161436.jpg
Now, the technical specs.
Microtech Stitch: M390
Spyderco Paramilitary 2: CPM-S30V

Both are very good steels that will do the job just fine. M390 is a newer steel compared to CPM-S30V, and it has it's pro's over CPM-S30V. It's a bit more durable and holds it's edge better than CPM-S30V. S30V is a slight bit cheaper, so that may fit your budget better. S30V is a stainless flavor, so resisting corrosion is no issue. I carried mine for 4.5 months on the ocean, exposed to salt water air nearly the entire time. I only picked up an ever-so slight ammount of surface corrosion that was quickly erradicated by a small amount of lubrication. After that, it didn't come back. Anyone who's been around or on the ocean knows that it's an extremely harsh enviroment and no matter the metal, it will eventually rust.

20180205_161427.jpg

In closing, if you're on the fence for a EDC knife, either one of these will fill the roll perfectly. There's a price difference between the two, with the Stich being about double that of the Paramilitary 2, but don't let that deter you. You're paying a "premium" for a top notch knife from a top notch company with a cult like following.

Spyderco offers excellent knives at excellent prices. The PM2 is what I would consider one of their flagships. It deployment (when you get it down, which is very easy to do) is blisteringly fast. The bearings offers a smooth and positive deployment and the compression lock makes for a very secure lock up. If you're on the fence, just jump over and get it. You won't be disapointed.

The Stich offers arguably one of the best steels, automatic deployment at the press of a button, a beefy blade and handle, and the only real thing that matters....the cool factor. I mean look at it, it looks like an apocolyptic blade....it looks damn cool. It fills the EDC roll just fine even though it's a bit thicker than what I'm used too. Instead of making you choose between the two if you're trying, just do this....

Buy Both. Seriously, you'll be happy.

Sort:  

Microtech's have always seemed like really nice/cool blades... I'm just not too much into autos, plus I technically can't own/carry/use where I live... great knives though!

I don't have a Spydie PM2, but I have owned a few other Spydercos over the years and loved them all... Unfortunately I've lost/had stolen 2 or 3 and I just have the fullsized Military now...

I hear you on autos. There's only a few I actually like, Benchmade Infidel, Stitch and maybe a few randoms here and there. For the most part I like assisted or manual open. Like I said here, I actually open my PM2 faster than the Stitch deploys, it's awesome and feels so satisfying when you deploy it haha. The Military's are nice, I plan on adding one to my collection soon!

Geordie's doing a @preppersonline weekly newsletter post every sunday now, i submitted this and your first aid kit posts into the #preppers-newsletter channel on there. That would be the spot to put your edc and preparedness post links .. #steemit for the first aid / preparedness monday curation post. In the #promote-your-post so the members will check it out. I'm messaging you here just to be sure you knew i submitted them today, i just wanted to be sure they were on todays newsletter, just in case you didnt know about it. Hit me up when you are on discord, there's another group that would be good for you.

Hey @loganhommel, microtec looks sweet! I made an article about pm2 aswell. We agree on many points, give it a look: https://steemit.com/survival/@juozas/spyderco-paramilitary-2-knife-and-128298-review also made a couple of articles about essentials in survival, I would be interested in what you think about them: The Big 3: https://steemit.com/survival/@juozas/the-big-three-survival-article-snail-challenge-and-128012
and Water: https://steemit.com/survival/@juozas/proven-water-treatment-methods-survival-article

Participate in Snail Challenge!

Just found you recently, Follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33