Be the change you want to see until there is no more need for a change

in #ecotrain6 years ago
I was recently asked an interesting question. Who are the best people to lead or guide our world... Politicians, Parents, Academics, Philosophers, High Tech.. Or someone else? @eco-alex does that from time to time, asks us something and pushes us outside our usual thinking pattern to explore what is outside the comfort zone of our thoughts. This question immediately brought me to the subject of change. Would I want something in this world to change and if I had my magic wand, what would that be? Would I change the world leaders? Sure, I would make myself the ultimate empress of the world and fix up the place real nice. Dream big or do not dream at all, right?


CC0 licence, Pixabay, author: geralt, adapted by me

The only problem with that scenario is the fact that I am one of those people who does not want to change the world. I am a strong believer in not fixing what is not broken. The little world that I live in is not broken and my reality is just fine. Nope, not delusional and not living in a bubble, just thinking that everything happens for a reason and as a direct result (consequence) of past actions. Selfish? Most definitely. Happy? Extremely.

When you look at this planet, what do you see? Do you see destruction, corruption, violence, and injustice? Do you see amazing cultures, scientific discoveries, kind people and beautiful places? Do you see us going backward or do you see us moving ahead? What is the frequency you are vibrating on?

Not that long ago, if you wanted to visit someone in another country you had to travel for the bigger part of your life to get there and even longer ago, people did not even know some countries existed. Today, we can sit on a plane and be anywhere in the world in less than 24 hours.

Traveling is easy.
Communicating is easy too.

You are maybe in China, USA, India and are reading these words written from a small country in Europe. You are maybe reading them only minutes after they were written. How amazing is that? I did not have to use a carrier pigeon to carry it to your place.

Hey! You are READING! You are reading and you can write. Did you know that reading and writing was once reserved only for priests and nobles? Today, you are able to educate yourself, go to the library or online and find any information you want.

Are you in love?
Are you married?

If you are married, I am sure you chose your lover yourself, it was not chosen for you by your family. If you are a woman, you should be happy that you were not sold into marriage when you were 10 to some man who was 30 for a payment of 10 cows.

Back then, you were considered lucky if that scenario played out. You could have died from a common cold or any number of diseases before vaccination removed them from the planet. You would have given birth somewhere around 14 and if you were lucky, you would have survived the childbirth only to die somewhere around your 30th birthday.

Life expectancy was not that long.

In older days, when there was no modern plumbing, if you stepped outside of your house, you would have to be careful not to trip and fall into piles and piles of excrement on the streets. But forget about that, think about your children. If you wanted to be sure they would survive, you would have sent them into the priesthood. Better that than soldiers, right?

Aaaa... Soldiers... There was always some war going on, big or small. Between countries or between cities with so much rape, death, and destruction going on. Just when your crops were nice and big and there were no floods or droughts, someone would come and set them on fire. Maybe you were lucky enough to avoid that but do think about that crops. You only grew a couple of plants and your culinary skills were limited. No travel means no sales and no exchange of goods.

If you lived anywhere outside of America,
no potatoes for you.

Hey ladies? Remember how in our past lives we were valued less than animals? Do you remember how not only did we not have the right to vote but there was no right to express our opinion either? A quiet life of service to our family was everything we could do. Hey, people of skin color other than white? Remember being a slave in your past lives? Remember wearing CHAINS on your body and being whipped? Remember being called a boy?

Do you still think we live in a bad world?
Compared to what? A great one from the past?

Politicians are corrupt? Ohh, boo hoo. There is misinformation in the mass media and news is controlled? Boo hoo. A couple of rich and powerful are calling all the shots? Boo F-ing hoo. This is the best time to be alive and I for one am extremely grateful that corruption is the only thing I have to worry about and I am not even worrying about that. It is all a matter of perspective and your own personal vibration. Are you on the positive frequency or on the negative one? Do you think the planet is being destroyed or do you see all the solar panels, wind and water produced electricity and laws against pollution? What do you see? What is the frequency you are on?

When you watch the news, do you see people helping each other or do you see them hurting each other? Are you being controlled by that same news and living in fear or are you vibrating on a much higher frequency? When you look at the world, what do you see?

Let me tell you about the world I live in. My world is a happy place and people who I see in it are doing amazingly well. In my world, a person can sit on his motorcycle and hit that open road. He can travel great distances, meet different people, eat various food and admire the planet he lives on. Kudos @bigtom13. In my world, a person can travel the world and enjoy the music he makes with so much passion for what he does and come home to his lovely daughters and play dress up with their dolls. Kudos @bengy. In my world a woman can compose music, write books and raise her beautiful twins with so much love all at the same time. Kudos @katrina-ariel. People in my world are living their passion and enjoying life. People in my world are a source of inspiration for me and a constant reminder that you really can be all that you want to be.

In my world, there are female politicians, female judges, and female car mechanics who do their job extraordinary. In my world, if people want to move out of the city and live in the woods, they do. In my world, even those living in the woods or in the country can be connected with others by the internet. In my world, people can even make money on the internet. There is this thing called steemit where you can write and earn money by doing it. In my world, you can be or do whatever you want, even if you are a girl. You can be a housewife or an astronaut. You can be the CEO of your own company or grow your own food. You can be a photographer and make a living by traveling and taking photos. You can be a scientist or a lawyer or a doctor or the best cleaning lady in the world. In my world, people care for the environment and look after our planet. They use solar panels and eat healthy food with reusing and recycling their things. There are artists in my world, painters, singers, and dancers who live free. I am not alone in my world and if you want, you can live in that world too. There is nothing wrong with the world I live in.

My world was not always like that. It is better today than it was yesterday and it will be so much better tomorrow than it is today. That is because my world is constantly changing and evolving, people in it are changing and evolving but not by force. They are changing because they want to and because they are learning. Everything that my world is today is thanks to all those things that once made it, including the people.

My world was always powered by love and passion of its people. Those same people are changing it by an evolution of thought and the wish for improvement. That wish is completely normal, it is written in our genes. We want to be better. We want to improve. Every single thought is driving us in that direction, a direction to a brighter and better future. That wish has brought us out of our caves, up to the sky and even out into space. That wish has pushed us beyond what we thought were our limitations. We have learned that limits are only products of our imagination. We once only dreamed of flying and now we can, not only travel through the sky but fly out of a hobby. Hey, I jumped out of a plane with nothing but a parachute and it was amazing. Life is amazing and the world I live in is amazing.

Everything is changing,
even you.

You can never enter the same river twice. It will we different water each time. The same man can not enter the water twice. He will be a different man every time. I am not the person I was yesterday and neither are you. We are all learning and changing with our every experience, with our every breath, really.

There is beauty everywhere,
you just need to open your eyes to see it

Who are the best people to lead the world? Those that want and those who are. If your passion is leading you there, maybe it is you. Nothing is stopping you but you. If you want things to change, change them and if you do not like where you are, get up and leave, you are not a tree. For some people, the only thing worse than injustice is inconvenience. It is easy to bi**h about things, a bit more harder to actually do something but it does not have to be. If you are not living in the world you want, do something to make it better. Create the world you want to live in. Be the change you want to see until there is no more need for a change and growth comes naturally as a normal evolutionary part of your magnificent ever-evolving life.

Until next time,
KEEP THAT GORGEOUS SMILE ON
& BREATHE IN THE ABUNDANCE

Image sources AND LICENCES in order of appearance:

- all images used in this post are free for commercial use, they are royalty free with the links to original images provided under them
- line divider that I use is from FREE CLIPART LIBRARY, and is here
- titles are made by me using a photo from pixabay that can be found here
- my bitmoji avatar was created on https://www.bitmoji.com/, visit the site to create yourown

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Congratulations @zen-art! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am not on positive or negative frequency. Not turning on one or the other side only. I am on the frequency of reality. And I think most people are thinking same way.

There is a lot of things going on in reality and we choose what to focus on ;)

Wow. Best ever. That is serious stuff and you said it so well.

As I was reading this I thought of all kinds of cool things to say, and then you said them all. Every one.

I was thinking the other day about my Great Grandparents. I met a couple of them because they lived long. In my LIFET TIME the life expectancy has gone past where I am now. How cool is that?

The biggest benefit I can see to living long is that it's easy to see how much better it has gotten over those 60 years I am aware of. It just gets better every day. Jet aircraft were hardly known in my youth and next year I could take a sub orbital flight from Richard Branson. The sky isn't even the limit.

Thank you Petra, thank you.

You always bring a smile to my face with your comments honey, thank you for that and for all your support, much love 💚

this is beautiful @zen-art and you share so many truths in this post, we are programmed to focus on the negative too much, but yes we do live in an amazing world, full of amazing people and the most beautiful places and how far we have advanced. Still behind in some ways. I am just waiting for everyone to realize how amazing earth is and give our beautiful home the respect it deserves xxxx

More and more people are realizing it every day, there is a huge awakening going on and it is absolutely beautiful 💚

All I have ever needed for so long.

Thank you for this.

I am glad you got what you needed from this 💚

Sound like a Ghandi quote, "You must be the change that you wish to see in the world." Good stuff Petra🤗😎

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that quote so I moderated it a bit, raised it to the next level 😎

Womp womp!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful post @zen-art and so very spot on!
Some say I look at the world through rose tinted spectacles, but that's what the world reflects back to me, nothing wrong with that!
When I retired a young man said to me he would miss me as I tend to bring out the best in people and the office would not be the same, but I said to him then it's going to be his job from then on, we can all do that! Sorry I veered off there ;)
But you're so very right, the world was not a very nice place back then!
Thank you for the awesome inspiration!

I am sure you were the little sunshine at your job honey! I am glad you enjoyed this, much love 💚

this is a great post and i love how you included how your world is and what you see. love that! :)

Thank you honey 💚

Wonderful words. I totally agree with this sentiment. A similar sentiment was expressed in a YouTube video by a man who goes by the name Lorax. His video was called "How to be the richest person ever" or something like that, and basically said that if we live in a western developed country and we're not homeless, even if we're pretty badly off, we're SO much warmer and more comfortable than people were just a couple of generations ago. So I totally agree... but with one reservation:
We must never take this for granted!

Oh I agree with that! We should be grateful, happy and always aiming for an even better world but never take things for granted 💚

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zen-art 💚 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34