Basking In Herbal smudge Sticks & Aromatic Posies

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9256.jpg

Yesterday I indulged to my hearts content in doing whatever I felt drawn to do. My day was centred around a mindful appreciation of our life on the homestead. Today I am continuing this celebration by working with healing herbs.

The air has a frosty bite to it as I went around collecting a big basket of herbs. I am feeling really good while I hunt around gathering these fragrant plants. It's such an energizing and health filled activity. You get to breathe in all of these healthy essential oils and create magic with them. Life is good.

With a cupboard already filled with dried herbs for the winter I decided to indulge in my favourite hobby of decorating the house with herbs. I'll create some décor, maybe a wreath wound from grape vine, some posies and herb smudge sticks, something I deeply value but have never made before. I'll also start some more herbal infusions because there's a full moon coming but that's another post for another day!

I remember visiting a great aunt once who had numerous bundles hanging from the low rafters of her cottage. I felt like I'd gone back in time, her little cottage was magical. There was such a good energy in her tiny space as well. This scene stuck with me into adulthood and now I can hang bundles of herb to my hearts content. It's therapeutic for me. Just brushing my hand against these bundles will release the scent of nature all through the long cold winter.

Smudge Sticks - Many cultures use sacred smoke made from plant medicines to cleanse, heal and purify.

Smudging using white sage is deeply rooted in Native North American tradition and is how I became familiar with the practice.

IMG_9263.jpg

Smudge sticks are tightly bound bundles of dried woody, resinous herbs.

The type of herbs used will vary across the continents using what grows natively in that region.

These dried bundles of herbs are burned slowly (something akin to incense) releasing the aroma into the air. Smudging, the ritual burning of herbs is done for many reasons including to clear a space or person of negative energies, to purify the air, to ward of bad spirits, to bring vision, clarity and much more.

I have a large collection of traditional white sage (Salvia apiana) smudge sticks that I've picked up at pow wows and other cultural events. I became hooked when I attended a ceremony where sweet grass was being burned. You could smell the sweet grass and also sage everywhere while drum beats pulsed through your heart. It had a really calming, effect on me. I felt a sense of belonging (something I don't often feel).

We've been using these dried sticks of sage for years to purify and cleanse the air and home. When moving to a new home we always smudge first and when things have been tough, or bad energy has been in the house we smudge then as well. When I am not feeling well, when I remember to, I will burn sage. It has antibacterial properties so I think that it's a good thing to release into the air when sickness is around.

What I have made are tightly bundled sticks of herbs using a mixture of woody herbs and natural cotton twine. This is not traditional but it's a way to use what grows abundantly for us to make something that we enjoy using. Please note that you should do research as not all herbs are good for burning and in my opinion some smell really bad (mints for example).

Lavender restores balance and creates a peaceful atmosphere. Lavender also attracts loving energy and spirits.

IMG_2887_01.jpg

Sage is for releasing what is troubling the mind and for removing negative energy, it is used for cleansing homes and sacred items. source

IMG_9217.jpg

Burning rosemary incense or a sprig of rosemary whenever you encounter “fight or flight” or stress can also help calm the nerves. source Rosemary reduces stress and anxiety & elevates your mood.

IMG_7398.jpg

Making smudge sticks is really quite simple.

Take a bundle of herbs and tie one end tightly together forming a posey. Wind the sting around the herbs forming a tight bundle and secure the lose end tightly. Trim and clean up the bundle if desired. Allow the bundle to dry in a dark, dry place out of direct sunlight. It can take quite a while for the inner part of this bundle to dry. Use a natural string, not too heavy as this will also be burned. As I mentioned earlier do your research before choosing your herbs. Not all are suitable for burning.

IMG_9268.jpg

IMG_9269.jpg

Hanging posies and Bundles of herbs around the home invites such good things.

Sometimes I'll gather up a big handful of herbs, tie a string around the base to bundle them together and hang them somewhere. That's as fancy as it gets.

Other times I'll put a bit more effort into the process and wind the string nice and pretty. I hang these bundles over doorways, in bedrooms, cupboards and the pantry.

I also like to tuck these posies into packages when I mail them so that the recipient gets a nice surprise when they open the box. Aromatics are so important to me. So healing.

Have you ever danced around a May pole? I have! Dancing and weaving through colourful streamers with flowers in your hair? Where did that tradition go? May Day used to be a time for celebration, spring had arrived. One tradition of May Day was to gather flowers wrap them in pretty paper (often also including some gifts or candy), and anonymously hang them on peoples doors. I feel like my little posies pay homage to this old tradition.

IMG_9265.jpg

IMG_2920.jpg

IMG_6273.jpg

IMG_6280.jpg

IMG_6285.jpg

Welcome, welcome to our home.

Hanging posies of herbs over doorways is such an inviting thing. It's like warding off bad energy, welcoming people into a cleansed home, and guarding over loved ones all in one bundle. If that doesn't work I've got garlic everywhere as back up. Vampires be warned.

Maybe this ritual says "strange people live here!!" or maybe it expresses love for all that enter. I know I am strange but I hope the love part isn't lost on people.

IMG_9323.jpg

My senses are alive and I smell really good too. I am feeling so uplifted and energized. It's so amazing what working with herbs can do for your psyche. It's been such a delightful morning of creativity and good vibes. Of all the things we do on the homestead, this is right up there at the top of my list.

[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch
Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca |
Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Cool! Coincidentally, I did a fair amount of wandering yesterday and also gathered some cedar and made smudge wands. I hadn't made them before either and after reading your article will place mine in a darker place to dry.

Oh cedar - how nice! Yes, the sunlight will apparently cause them to loose colour and aroma. I am not sure if this is the case with all herbs but It seems like a good rule of thumb.

A town a little north of us used to have a May Day celebration, but it's long since been discontinued. :((

Loved learning about how you use the smudge sticks and the herbs you use. Love your basket of sage!

We LOVE your post! We've given you a 100 percent upvote and have resteemed it too AND we put it in our curation for the 24/9. Hope this helps you continue to write such amazing posts!

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, and haven't already got on board our collective, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

Thank you! ♥♥♥

Awesome... we grow Sage and Lavender for our smudge sticks....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77