Garlic Cloves Fermented In Honey

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9969_01.jpg

We love fermenting food. It's this truly old world, primitive way of preserving food. Fermentation is the earliest method we know of for preserving food and it is one that spans across continents and cultures.

Fermentation is the easiest way to preserve food that I know of. It also has the added bonus of unlocking and supercharging the heath benefits of the food being fermented. No other method of food preservation does this!

Honey + Garlic + Fermentation = Supercharged Health Benefits

Fermented garlic offers more health benefits than raw garlic. Studies show that the fermentation of fresh garlic raises its health promoting properties and its bio-availability. This means that the nutrients in fermented garlic are easier for the body to digest and absorb.

Why We Love It!

I am working on a care package for my son's birthday and it always includes our organic, home grown garlic. We've taught him that when healing and boosting our immunity - natural is best! He lives somewhere that is very cold and winters get very dark. There are weeks of winter where day seems like night and it really pounds on your wellness after a while. This leads to people being indoors a LOT which means that they are constantly sharing germs and getting colds and flu's. We like to send him things to ward off illness and boost his immunity and he loves garlic.

  • Research shows that fermented garlic has much higher antioxidant activities than that of fresh garlic.

  • Garlic contains a sulfur volatile active component that has antibacterial, anti-inflammatory and antioxidant biological properties

These are just a few reasons for the many benefits of fermented garlic. But there are many more!

IMG_9951.jpg

My cousin sent me two jars of this beautiful alfalfa clover raw honey from a farm in Alberta - so beautiful! It has solidified a bit after being in the pantry for a long while so I needed to heat it very gently applying the least amount of heat possible. Heat can kill nutrients so you never want to boil honey. I usually work with a honey that is free pouring and runny for recipes like this one, but warming it gently seems to have done the trick.

IMG_9958.jpg

IMG_9962.jpg

IMG_9963.jpg

How To Ferment Garlic In Honey

This recipe is so easy. The result is a tangy and slightly sweet, easy to digest product. Even kids are willing to eat this garlic.

Ingredients/supplies

Wide mouth glass jar with lid or airlock
Organic garlic
Pure unpasteurized honey

Directions

  • Sterilize your jar with boiling water and dry it before use. Fill the jar with peeled garlic cloves leaving 2 inches of head space.
  • Cover the garlic with honey. You'll need to let the garlic flow through the garlic and settle between the cracks for a few minutes. Once that's done top up the honey so that it covers the garlic. You don't want any garlic exposed to air!
  • affix your airlock or lid to the jar. If using as lid you will need to burp the jar daily. This means opening the jar to allow any build up of gasses (carbon dioxide) to escape. We use these handy silicone pickle pipes (Amazon Link) made by Masontops for our ferments - I like these best of all the fermenting gadgets I've tried, mostly because there aren't multiple pieces to worry about losing!
  • Try to keep the jar around 60 to 75 degrees Fahrenheit, and store out of direct sunlight (a dark cupboard is ideal).

For the best results we like to wait at least three weeks before we start eating this garlic. It improves even more with age. At about three months old it is AMAZING!

[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch
Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca |
Facebook

Photos copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

A root vegetable synched up with the bees via a sacred/ancient processing method....I LOVE THIS POST y'all shared!
The amplification of the "natural medicine" (real food that grows that way) is such an amazing way to enhance what is already awesome (garlic & honey)!
Gratitude for sharing directions on connecting the dots for a superb preservation! Loving you @walkerland ~ namaste!!!

I love fermented garlic. I made some earlier this year and will take a teaspoon whenever I feel I need a boost of my immunity. It's quite amazing how these fermented recipes hold the test of time.

Yes! I just made a batch and then used the extra honey in my honey mustard recipe. So delicious! And the health benefits are an added bonus to the yumminess!

oh ... the picture I get in my head when I think of how that honey-mustard combo tastes is a great one. Yum!

Love fermented foods. But this is a new one to me. Delicious. A bottle of yummy goodness that I'm definitely going to make. Thanks @walkerland!

Wow what an amazing and potent medicine this is. I have never thought to visit darling in honey but I will definitely do it when we have our garlic harvest in December. It would be extraordinary for cold and flu season. As you know my husband can't eat garlic so I have to look for ways to preserve it because we just don't get through as much with only one of those eating it. I have preserved in vinegar which works well too and I just chop it up and put it on top of my dinner. I'm also really disappointed that the bees we were given last year buy a friend who is a beekeeper have disappeared. It was worse for him though because he said he lost a lot of hives this year. It would have been good to have my own honey and garlic

Posted using Partiko Android

I dream of being a bee keeper but have this huge fear of killing them all which has me dragging my feet. I am sure that would be terribly upsetting to lose a lot of hives - I know I would be upset. I am sorry your bees vanished! Will you try again?

I love pickled garlic ...We eat garlic almost every day. It's sort of crazy. I grow so much of it and there is just the two of us here. I want to sell organic garlic but just can't seem to get things going at the scale we need.

(honey and garlic ...go figure).

I've got the winter to get things figured out once and for all! :)

Yes, we'll try again - trying to get in touch with our stoner beekeeper as he's the one that gave us the hives when a swarm landed on our property. I was so sad, but at least there's still a heap of bees in the garden - it's so springalicious out there!

So, then after the 3 months you would just eat the garlic plain? Do you do anything special with the honey? I have not heard of this recipe, but it sounds amazing. I love using garlic.

Yes! I like to eat the garlic plain! It really mellows and changes - It is not overpowering (or at least I don't find it to be). You can use the excess honey in salad dressings, sauces and you can chop up the garlic and uses it in cooking as well. I find it to be quite versatile although we primarily use it for an immune booster.

This seems like a really simple thing to make. I will have to tell my father about it. He shares my love (or do I share his love?) for natural recipes but he unlike me loves garlic too so this will be perfect for him. Thank you for sharing 💚

It really is simple - so simple it feels silly writing it as a recipe but I really want to share! I'm not sure what happened but as soon as I started growing garlic about five years ago, I became obsessed. Before that I rarely bought it because I didn't trust it that much not knowing its origins or processing.

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74