A Glimer of Love & Hope Beneath The Forest Canopy

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0316.jpg

The forest will answer you in the way you call to it. ~ Finnish proverb

The Japanese have a word that describes those deep intuitive feelings that flow through us as we enter a forest.

They call it Yugen. One only needs to step into a forest to awaken what we've always known. The forest, the humans, all life is connected.

On days when the heart is heavy, confused, aching, we can run to the woods and shed our burden like leaves in Autumn. When we forget ourselves we can quietly walk, finding ourselves again amidst the twinkle of light through the canopy. The forest shelters us, keep us warm and we rely on it for our survival and yet, knowing this, so many take for granted the majestic as though it is an infinite "resource" for us to do with as we want.

As You walk with me with thoughts about the magnificence of forests and the human connection, here is a song to by the Hollow Coves - The Woods Lyrics, that feels right for this story.

The cold night takes us to a place to escape the chill
Top top, somewhere in the woods, on the hill
Wake up, feeling the cold in between our toes
Is there a way back? Nobody knows.

Humans are small specs in the timeline of a forest

The magnificence of the forest should humble humans. We can toil and cultivate our years away trying to shape the land however, the moment we stop, the land will regenerate, the forest will re-grow, forever changed and yet eternally resilient.

IMG_9417_01.jpg

Often the only reminder of human existence will be an apple orchard in the middle of a forest or an old bottle or tin strewn about the forest floor.

IMG_0791.jpg

The forest gives so much and we owe it our love and protection. Children are the future and it is on our shoulders to teach them the wonders of the woodland. Forget shopping malls and amusement parks. Instead, nourish them and help them grow into healthy adults. Let the young delight in the light twinkling through gigantic canopies, the humming of life and the tiny curiosities that surround us like fairie magic. Let them love the forest so they will nurture it for generations to come. Let yourself appreciate the world through the eyes of a child.

IMG_3767_01.jpg

All photos were taken over the past year on the 90 acres of forested land surrounds our home here in Canada's Maritimes. We are stewards of this land, aware that we are only borrowing it for a time.

Echoes of machinery can be heard in the forest today because part of the land that abuts ours, belongs to others who raid forests like bandits. Plastic orange tape marks the man-made barrier between a forest that is protected and one that is not.

I can't change this and so instead I'll mourn and then I'll write, speak, and share my heart and life in the forest. as a reminder of what should be. This is my protest done the only way I know how.

IMG_9783.jpg

And into the forest I go, to lose my mind and find my soul. ~ John Muir

IMG_0295.jpg

Basket in hand, I step into the forest. A soundtrack plays in my head as I walk. The ground crunches beneath my snowshoe clad feet and I weave around trees and duck branches. The Usnea sways with the wind like an old man’s beard, and brown leaves flutter down from the sky onto the snowy ground. I pick up fallen birch bark and stop to admire the old man mossy tree that I love so dearly. Today I am just wandering without real purpose and my basket stays empty apart from a few curled wisps of birch bark. ~ Walkerland /A Life of Folk Magic and Nourishment

IMG_0257.jpg

On my way home I stand at the edge of the forest and just absorb. I touch the tree that I am leaning against and marvel at its strength. I touch the rough bark with my fingers and send my gratitude. Through storms and drought, it stands strong and shelters us from the worst of the storms. I watch as the setting sun peeks through the leaves. Everything shimmers green and golden. This is magical. This is the life I have chosen to live. ~ Walkerland /A Life of Folk Magic and Nourishment

IMG_0403.JPG

The warm kiss of the sun on our skin, wreaths of daisy’s, stolen kisses under weeping willows. Bonfires, herbal tea, and moonlight walks. Nature is always there, embracing us. Those small details, the ones that often get ignored, are the part of living that fills me up with joy and gratitude. ~ Walkerland /A Life of Folk Magic and Nourishment

This post is in response to @eco-alex call to action: International Forest Day 21st March | Please Join Us For A Steem Challenge!. You have until Sunday, March 24th to get your posts completed!

Sort:  

You are so poetic and beautiful, love you so much. I remember these photos of you in the dress from the @naturalmedicine challenge. I'd love to visit your forest one day and take you for a walk in mine. Just gorgeous. Xxx

Thank you @riverflows. I think one day we will just have to make this happen. xx I just had to dig out those photos once more. I wanted to go and hug a tree but we've had rain which means we are now walking on a layer of ice with several feet of snow beneath and I have been forbidden from going out unnecessarily because snowshoes + Ice + Me = comic tragedy and my bones are getting too old for that.

Haha oh dear nooo we don't want that!!! I'm thinking of digging out old photos too! Been too busy to get into forest. We may get a bit tonight though as we head down for Friday night beach picnic. Xx

Posted using Partiko Android

A really lovely and important post! Your forest is so lovely, and loved. I so miss the one that used to be to our north....

Thank you @goldenoakfarms. oh gosh, I remember you telling me that they cleared that land. :(

Dear walkerland:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

The whole forest area looks so mystical, and the poetry flowing with it is just so beautiful.

This is awesome 🙏🎶 A most beautiful ode to our forest's. I dream of regrowing vast quantities of forest on our planet. Best of luck in the contest. I am going to check it out too. 💙💚🧡💜

It frustrates me how slow Canada is to wake up and protect the forests but I am heartened by stories like the recent one where volunteers in India planted over 66 million trees in 12 hours. SO amazing and PROOF that many hands can make BIG things happen. xx

So amazing! So many places we can do that right here on our homeland too. Love hearing this good news 💚🎶🌱

ooh wow, you are a forest lover for sure!
i never heard of Yugen, that is a good word to know.. i like that very much, ,oh the Japanese culture is so amazing!

Canada looks just SO beautiful, i hope one day i make it there!

Yugen is such a good word. I can't even think of an English word that has a meaning as rich or as beautiful. Yes, do come to Canada some day, I am sure you would love the experience.

Beautiful words. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! :)

this was really lovely and i like that song you shared! you know i feel so similarly... the forest is like our mother and she heals us in so many ways. i'm glad to know you're out there in your own neck of the woods protecting, savoring and speaking for the forest xoxo

Oh, I do know you feel similarly. I am in awe of the land and forests around Mountain Jewel, what you are creating, how you share it.

yugen.... I love it. Thanks for sharing this piece, it’s joined a few dots for me. Still processing it all... I think I need to go back into the forest and sit in amongst it all and give thanks for their awe-some, wond’rous gifts...

Congrats on winning the challenge.
😊🙏🏽☯️

So do I. I've fallen in love with yugen. I truly appreciated the post you wrote, it stuck with me for days and still lingers. I've come to realize that I can't live anywhere that there isn't a forest right there in front of me and feel very grateful that we live in a place where this is possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49