Humanity On The Steem Blockchain- ecoTrain QOTW

in #ecotrain5 years ago

humanitypoemnaomipahlmin31200x1595.jpg
Img Source

love dividing line_1840796.png

ecoTrain QOTW: Share about something or someone that you have discovered on the Steem blockchain that has inspired you or taught you something..

This is an absolutely wonderful question @ecotrain and choosing how to answer it has been a bit of a chore. There is SO much to talk about, people to recognize. Yet each time I start to write I keep coming back to is humanity.

love dividing line_1840796.png

According to Mirriam-Webster's Dictionary humanity is defined as:

1 : compassionate, sympathetic, or generous behavior or disposition : the quality or state of being humane
2 : the quality or state of being human

I have always believed that if people just communicated and learned about each other and their cultures then the world would be a better place. While Steemit may not be perfect it has far exceeded my expectations. I have made friends in places I have only seen on a map and unsure if will ever make it off my continent. Yet even what I have seen from this side amazes.

One of the first situations that occurred soon after I started on the platform was someone had needed help with medicine. I didn't even have 5 steem to give. So used the gofundme link that had been listed. I had income at the time and it's just in my nature to help out when I can. From history on FB and seeing gofundme pages failing I was expecting the same. Quite the opposite happened. They had gotten much more than they had asked for. Not to sound cynical, but where does that happen?? I mean really, who he helps just normal people trying (especially in this case) to live.

People I know have had their accounts hacked and everything taken. We all know when that happens there is nothing really that can be done to recover those funds. I most cases people are very quick to extend a helping hand and lessen the damage.

Currently there are several situations happening one of the largest is Venezuela's economy. @abh12345 put out a post this week on how much money has been converted from Steem to Venezuelan Bolivar and the amount was astounding Link to post. To think that even while most of feel the price of Steem is too low, here we have people relying on their Steem income to survive. I know we all hope secretly to be able to with some bills or to offset a spouse getting to stay home. We have families that are able to live through the chaos.

So that is part of the humanity, the acts of generosity. The for the human side it truly goes much deeper. In effect we are living a dream I have had.

if people just communicated and learned about each other and their cultures then the world would be a better place.

It is hearing how life in a monastery is. Why and how someone chose to be vegan and what they did. Being able to offer comfort in a time of need. Reading some of the most amazing tales. Experiencing places around the world that I have never heard about. Learning about life in countries that I have been given a very pointed viewpoint of. Seeing amazing restaurants and getting amazing recipes. Meeting the most wonderful people that I would never have met otherwise. Honored that they consider me a friend. Finding out things about myself that I didn't realize I could.

There is so much from the human aspect, there is no way to cover it all. Overall, to know that we all have the same basic problems and the same basic fears. Due to this platform we all have become world citizens.

love dividing line_1840796.png



Pay It Forward Contests

Power House Creatives _night mode.png


Brought to you by @quochuy (steem witness)

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral



Thank you for your continued support!
Love,

Sort:  

I LIKE that you have chosen to focus on steem's HUMANITY and generosity of spirit, instead of just rattling off a long list of your 37 best steem friends to get their upvote. Thank you. Yes, the way the global steem family is stepping up for #venezuela IS inspiring. You might check out both @kantos and @fundakantoria and see what they're doing in Venezuela teaching music to childdren - and funded entirely be steem. Also check out @littledisciples and @childrensclothes. Yes, the steem price is awful but steem IS making a difference.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I was going to use your name but I already have your upvote :P !! HAHa I was actually wondering what I would do as I didn't want to leave anyone out and I didn't want to do a big list as it seemed labourious. @tryskele was very clever here, but it did give me a good idea for what to write - how long have I got - don't want to miss this one, it's such a nice way to focus on the POSITIVE and I love people's charitable hearts here xx

Thanks @artemislives. It doesn't feel right to just name someone for a vote. That is just how I am. I only mentioned Asher because his post and seeing the outpouring of support was what really made me realize what is it I have gotten from this community.

I know there is so much more that goes on and so many more that need help which are just as bad as #venezuela. I don't mean anything by not mentioning it some things I haven't learned about them yet. Plus #venezuela does hit a little close to home since that is where my sister-in-law is from and they are in the process of trying to get as many family members out right now.

Totally’ the whole point of this qotw was to share topics that inspired us or things we learned! I should have worded it differently

I had a hard time picking 1 specific post. I chose to go a bit broader. If anything it was Asher's post that started this retrospective. It really is learning that as humans we really are more caring and understanding than the media makes us out to be. We are naturally humanitarians.

The whole humanity of this place breaks my heart and makes me cry for joy all the time. It's what I focus on above and beyond the trolls and the flagwars. Need help? Yep, there will be someone there to give it to you. A wonderful response - and speaks to me of the kindness on your heart.

A big, resounding yes! Especially the parts about this being a world platform. Cultures are so varied and different, yet the people within them really do face similar problems and their joys in life are often similar. I've had so many of my concepts about other cultures and countries completely disproved.

This meme always says a lot for me.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is perfect @minismallholding. While I was writing I had started to express something similar. While we are from our respective countries we are not them and they are not us. However we are part of it and it is a part of us. It doesn't mean we still can't relate.

I completely agree about having perceptions shattered. Being in the US with being fed and told who we need to 'hate' is horrific. A group of people did something horrific which caught the world's eye. Since then the news and government had fed and nurtured that hate. I REFUSE to believe a whole country or a people need to be hated for the actions of a group of people. I realize that group is large and their feelings are strong, they do not speak for everyone.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

When you look from a spot high enough, you will have enough view that shows you the better things that everyone else should have seen... :) that's what I first thought about when reading this, you focused on the good things and how humanity worked on the blockchain.

Imo the projects that will survive and be remembered are the ones that make a difference and I think we can all agree that Steem is one of them. You know I don't usually stick to a crypto for 2 years and more...hehe.

Wonderful view @lilacse. I'm glad you've stuck with this one!!

Lovely to meet u! Beautiful heartfelt post.. THANK U!

It's such a complicated thing. I think it's safe to suggest that most of humanity cares about their fellow humans, regardless of their race, beliefs and/or lifestyle.

Unfortunately however, there's a very small portion of humanity which is the exact opposite of that. Those in that portion want nothing more than to get over on everyone else, so they crave having power over everyone else.

What drives them, whether it be a wealth thing, a religious thing or a political thing, (or maybe they're just crazy), is immaterial. The thirst for power and control propels them in any case.

These people are unreasonable. Some are certifiably insane, yet attract tons of followers, some of whom may also share the same insanity. This needs to be addressed. We can't pretend that they don't exist and don't have way too much influence over us.

I absolutely agree @free-reign. That small group causes immense harm, pain and conflict. Yet... that is all our media focus' on. I am still of the opinion a noticeable amount would ease up if we didn't give it notoriety. Yet if we aren't told we can't move forward. A bit of a conundrum.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.734 which ranks you at #5471 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 46 places in the last three days (old rank 5517).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 109 contributions, your post is ranked at #107.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This promoted content generated 0.004 STEEM in curation reward payback. Thanks for using Steemium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51