Are women who dress provocatively responsible for unwanted attention, or should men learn to control themselves? The @ecotrain question of the week

in #ecotrain6 years ago

It goes without saying I think but just in case, I believe there is no justification for using force against anyone at anytime except in self-defense. There is literally nothing a woman could do (that I can think of) that could logically be rationalized as justification for the use of force against her as long as she is not initiating the force.

Anyone else think it's a bit odd that after all the years of our existence, men and women still can't get along, understand each other, or even talk openly. I think that it's by design, a topic for another time.

I just want to raise my hand up and say, "let's talk this out, let's listen and understand each other in an atmosphere of good will and respect. First order of business is to state some truths and discuss how to deal with them. Let's put our critical thinking hats on and logic it out.

As a man, it's a bit embarrassing to bring this up but you do realize that in almost every species, the males are literally killing each other over the females. Females are a very big deal naturally from the male perspective. To ignore this basic fact of nature is not dealing with reality.

Suppose a guy throws on all his gold jewelry and takes a walk on the southside of Chicago. Does he not have every right to wear whatever he wants. Of course he has that freedom. Is ignoring the reality of his situation going to serve him well? Does he have no responsibility for his actions, are they of no consequence or do they have a direct bearing on what is about to befall him?

When a woman dresses to be noticed, common sense says that it's probably not just everyone's attention that she'd like. Does that mean the men are supposed to know which of them are permitted to look and who falls in the category of unwanted attention?

My wife and I (21 years of faithful marriage) were at the zoo and I was waiting for her outside the restroom which was down the hall a ways and around a corner, never saw the entrance, when a woman came around the corner. She was beautiful and she had breasts that would put Dolly Pardon to shame. It was freakish. Everyone was looking, she was smiling, and I couldn't look away, she laughed. Then my wife came back and asked if I had seen her. I said, "you're kidding, right? No denying that unless I was struck with blindness.

Then there was the time I was driving a tractor trailer down a country road in Wisconsin when I came upon a farm where I saw a young lady riding a horse across a field. It was a scene from a movie dream. Her brown hair blowing in the wind behind her, she was so beautiful that I hit the brakes. She was smiling. I was wrecked. I didn't come to a complete stop before I got a grip though. I couldn't help being affected but there was nothing to be done, nothing that could be done.

I walked into a gas station to pay and straight ahead was the cashier, so beautiful, it caught me by surprise and took my breath away. I hesitated as I walked her way. There was no one in front of me and she saw my reaction. She said, "Oh, it's like that, is it? I was so embarrassed by it that I didn't speak or look up, just paid and left. I didn't go in there again for a long time.

Logically, it seems a kind thing, a respect of nature thing, for women to not drive random males crazy. Why do that? Of course, it's not like some women don't use nature against men to manipulate, gain some advantage at their expense. No secrets there either.

To me it's just about everyone being kinder and more considerate.

A man walks into a bar naked, the police are immediately called.
A woman walks into a bar naked and the crowd cheers.

This is not an equal playing field and women are not NPCs (non-player characters) ala @kennyskitchen

Women don't really have to do anything to get noticed, they just have to be there. Men are predisposed to notice. It's in their nature.

Men, control yourself! Women, have mercy!

Sort:  

wow, beautiful post an such a good tone .. very nicely said too! happy you took part this week!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Human rights and wrongs are not determined by Justice, but by Might. Disguise it as you may.

Not sure I understand what you're saying there so if my reply is not relevant, I apologize. but..
Human rights and wrongs aren't determined by anything, they are what they are like the truth, they're not going anywhere, still the same irregardless of laws, the prevailing morals of the day, or who's got the biggest gun.

Human rights and wrongs are determined by the people with the most amount of cash.

That's why there is no universal right and wrong, because its different in many places because there are different people in power.

Laws, religion, etc. decide whats right and wrong, but we have different laws and religions everywhere (and those are made by the people in power). There is no universal right and wrong.

Whats right for you might be completely wrong in some other place.

Gay pride is cool here in some western places, in some Arab places you will lose your head for it.

That's what I mean when I say that right and wrong are not determined by justice but by might.

What is justice for you might be crime for others.

Gotcha... thanks for the clarification. Tyranny's flavor of the day does make the laws, agreed.
Although they're illegitimate, they're backed up by force.

Yes and what is illegitimate is also decided by them or rather through force haha :D

I hear ya but I personally, do not recognize any authority but the truth. I know tyranny when I see it though.
"Government doesn't operate under the rule of law, it operates under the rule of force." ~ Schaeffer Cox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45