Why and how did Donald Trump rise to power and do you think his tenure can help the world if you ignore the obvious negatives? EcoTrain Question Of The Week!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)


Oh @eco-alex you do like to make us sweat sometimes, and this question really got alot of us fired up. I must say, that initially I was not going to answer it, as I figured that my opinion would be shared by some of the other wonderful passengers and I am just not into politics. I have absolutely no faith in that system, and anyone who gets involved in it.

The way I look at it, if you want to change something you have to start anew. There is no changing anything from the inside, because once you step inside any system like that you are working for it, you are supporting it, no matter how you look at it. I used to work in mental health in my twenties and I really thought I could change how people were being treated within that system, try and push for folk to be treated holistically instead of with pharmaceuticals. But it did not take me long to realize that no matter what I told myself, I was in fact working for the system even if I was swimming against the tide I was still in that sea amongst all the sharks. And girl did they like to bite.

So anyhow back to the question at hand, why did Donald Trump get elected. Wow, well the way I look at it Mr Trump is a showman, he knows how to put on a good show, how to entertain folks, he is also a business man and it is within his best interests to know how to succeed.

That means he needs to listen to what people are telling him and he did just that, he listened when some of the people within America voiced their concerns about the amount of revenue leaving the country, about the amount of people losing jobs, about businesses going bust. We all saw that in the media, reports about towns becoming ghostlike and lacking in the most basic resources. Trump latched onto those working class people who really had enough of seeing their country suffer, seeing themselves suffer. He jumped on that band wagon and found his followers, here was Trump to save the day and make America great again. He told them exactly what they wanted to hear and then his show really began and boy did he entertain.


I do not like Trump and I agree wholeheartedly with @mountainjewel that he really is a fine representation of the Patriarchal rule that is still so prominent today. And I can't ignore the simple fact that by him being in power, his behaviours are now seen as acceptable to a lot of people in America, his presence in the oval office, means that for some it is perfectly normal to be a sexist and racist, perfectly normal to be derogatory towards women. So sorry I can not ignore the obvious negatives.

Do I think his time in office will help the world?

Well he sure as hell has got a lot of people fired up and he has highlighted a lot of Ism's that were kind of being swept under the carpet in the U.S and in doing that he has united a lot of people in their stance against what he represents. So many people finding their voice and taking to the streets, so many taking a united front, that has to be a good thing.But he has also very clearly divided the Country further, because you have those who love him and those that don't. But what is he doing for the world. Well here is my opinion, the more flamboyant the President is, the more distracted we all get by the great show he is putting on, so while we are being entertained by his outlandish comments and actions, we are not paying attention to what is really happening.


He has to be the best show man yet, I mean he really does not do himself any favours and he acts kind of dumb, yet clearly he is not. I can not look at the man and take him seriously, I mean he is orange and that hair, I know we shouldn't judge some one by their looks but seriously and then there are all the dumb ass stuff he says, is he trying to make America look weak or something, I mean is he. He clearly is playing a very clever game and succeeding by the way we are all so distracted by him. He really has all of our attention and he really knows how to keep that attention on him.

I mean it is exhausting trying to keep up with the endless stream of sexist and racist comments that comes out of his mouth and onto twitter. And then there is the fact that he comes across as very two faced. I mean one minute he says one thing and the next he has changed his mind, one example is him playing all sweet and nice to Theresa May when meeting her to discuss Brexit.

Politics is such an old game and sometimes that game involves putting on a divided and weak front, in order to manipulate and dominate others when they least expect it.

So will he help the world, more like How will he help himself, politics is not about helping the people and certainly has nothing to do with helping the world, that my dears is up to us. Because anyone who wants to rule over others, is really just in it for themselves. That's my thoughts, I don't expect you all to agree with them and that is just fine by me. But I would still like to know what you think, because we should always question what is happening.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

When you are done with that hammer I would like to borrow it, because you hit the nail on the head more than once with it on your take of tRump and the people here in the USA, or at least a whole bunch of the people here.

thank you @sultnpapper, he really is a great showman and boy has he get us all worked up and torn about how we feel about him, really great candidate to keep our eyes away from what is really happening. You can gladly have my hammer x

The majority of the people here in the USA do not have even a clue about what has gone on here and what is taking place currently and what I am speaking of dates back to even prior to the civil war.

This party politics system and elections of candidates is meant to be a distraction, and has worked very well I might add, so that the people are "occupied" and don't even begin to search for the real truth about how and why this country operates like it does.

The internet opened up a whole new world of information to the masses and rather than take advantage of it and learn something about the history and why things are like they are here, most people just elect to play online games and gossip about celebrities and their neighbors.

I admit there are times when I will play a game of poker or two to pass the time, but the majority of my online time is either researching things or writing things about what it is that I have found while researching.

The government archives that have all the old congressional records dating all the way back to the founding of this country make for some good reading and are readily available yet no one seems to even know they exist.

I use a tag labeled #wakeupamerica when I touch on these subjects so if by chance you happen to see one of those you might just want to read it. I know you aren't from nor live here but I can pretty much assure you that there is a good chance that you might learn something that you won't find in the mainstream, not that you probably follow mainstream news from what I believe to know about you, which is very little.
You were absolutely correct is your assessment of tRump and his showmanship and the people who actually decide who will be president here new exactly what they were doing when they put him in the mix, a cartoon from several years prior actually showed him running for president and winning, it was not a coincidence that it happened, his winning and being president was planned well in advance of his election.
They people who run the country also run the media, Hollywood, the banks and the education system. They have all their bases covered so to speak, so they can control the people and make sure they get what they want, which is total control over the people.
The people in the USA are really slaves of these people, and while there is some freedom of movement there are way to many laws for there to be true freedom. The slaves on the old plantations at least had the brains to know that they were slaves and tried to runaway, yet we are supposed to be so educated here and yet we allow this to continue is beyond me.
I truly wish you well and if I can ever be of assistance please let me know.

thank you so much my friend, I will look out for your writings under that tag.
That same control is more or less everywhere in western society, all the big businesses going hand in hand all governed by money and greed. It is frightening how so many seem unaware of what is really happening around them and happily conform .
Thanks so much for your input and your support xx

You are most welcome.

"I do not like Trump and I agree wholeheartedly with @mountainjewel that he really is a fine representation of the Patriarchal rule that is still so prominent today. And I can't ignore the simple fact that by him being in power, his behaviours are now seen as acceptable to a lot of people in America, his presence in the oval office, means that for some it is perfectly normal to be a sexist and racist, perfectly normal to be derogatory towards women. So sorry I can not ignore the obvious negatives."

I have a comment on mixing the idea of patriarchy with Donald Trump...

  1. Donald Trump is part of an oligarchy, not a patriarchy.
  2. Patriarchy is given such a bad name... and although many indiginous peoples were matriarchal, many were patriarchal. This should not influence us though as all things change and grow into new things. Patriarchy and rule arent part and parcel either. Patriarchy is a defined structure in which the male runs the family/society. Why would female be different? Hillary just as insane...

Patriarchy has nothing to do with this. RULE itself has everything to do with it. More importantly how one aqcuires power and how one uses it.

Trump isnt the issue here. He's the paddy. All the people hating Trump just feeds the mechanism the energy it needs to survive.

I am all for Patriarchy... if it benefits all involved. I also am also an anarchist, so I respect all people's right to participate in whatever social structures they choose.

Thats all.

Patriarchy, at least as I used it in this context, refers not only to a social structure but as a historical rule of and preference for men. It's used in the common, modern and capitalized sense The Patriarchy to refer to a "good old boys club". Patriarchy has everything to do with Trump "grabbing women by the pussy" and getting away with it, the fact that his cabinet and lawmaking is decidedly anti-female (Patriarchy thrives on the subjugation of women's wishes, voices, autonomy..), his bullying (Patriarchy pits men against one another in a dog-eat dog, macho, "Alpha" paradigm).. While yes he is a part of the oligarchy, he is undoubtedly also a vestige of the antiquated structure of Patriarchy as well (and benefiting heavily).

That's all.

Loading...

Suggestion:
Replace Patriarchy with Misogyny...

Suggestion:

We all live within specific contexts in place and time. Take a look at the experience of women, both of whom are trying to convey something very specific and experienced-based about the nature of Patriarchy.

As a person who studies etymology and has read Tolkein and studying words and other languages, I have no doubt about the root of the word patriarchy, in fact I am well aware of its foundational meaning.

However, through all of your verbose responses, you've continually bypassed anything trucklife or I have said around our contextual awareness of the use of the word.

Though misogyny is intimately tied up with modern-day Patriarchy, I am not confusing the two.

Lesson:

Listen to women. Believe women. Heed our experiences. See us.

Thank you for your reply, I guess we just have to agree that we both have very different ideas about what patriarchy means,
For me it is more about the masculine qualities that some identify with and which women most certainly fall under as well. It has nothing to do with male or female as we all have both masculine and female qualities, what it has to do with though is balance. There is no balance if only one side is represented, and represented to the extreme! and that for me is the problem with patriarchal rule. It is all about being dominant and manipulative, if things were to move more into balance then we would be under neither the patriarchal or matriarchal rule.
Yes unfortunately Patriarchy has got a bad name because unfortunately it has all been about divide and conquer, that has been the way of the world for so long now. It is this mindset that has led to people becoming more and more disconnected from the natural world and from there natural selves.
At the end of the day we all identify with certain things, you may very well have a different term for what I speak about, I am for balance and equality and to achieve that we need to move away from patriarchy and matriarchy and create something new.
I am curious what you mean when you say Trump is the Paddy? I have not heard that term before but it does sound quite derogatory.
Like all politicians he is a puppet, I am well aware of that and Like i said in the post he is putting on quite the show.

Yeah. Paddy is the one who dances on the strings for the puppeteer.
Agreed upon terminology...this is always an issue.
Patriatchy has a definition. If you decide to extend that definition into other thinhs, that is your choice... but it does mot work when conversing normally.
Patriatchy isnt the problem. It is also the paddy. Its an excuse that is easily grabbed at.

The real issue is people allowing inauthenticity to gain power. Trump represents thag as much as mosg other heovernment and sicietal strucgure we have today.

Being Irish I take a lot of offence to the the term Paddy being used that way, as you may know Irish people are sometimes referred to as Paddy but your way of defining it is very derogatory, I can certainly not identify with that at all.
Everything has a definition which has mainly been defined by man, I follow my own intuition when it comes to my learning, that which has been written and rewritten over and over again and forced upon us as learning, does not stand true to me. We are all entitled to our opinions I accept yours even though I do not agree and that is okay. The puppet is part of the problem and in my eyes It Is patriarchal rule that has put him there, the people have no real choice in who goes into power, that is an illusion so that we feel we have some control.
I stay away from politics, I do not agree with any of it and I follow no government, I live off grid with my daughters and do not feed into the power struggle that is happening in the world.

Patriatchy has a definition. If you decide to extend that definition into other thinhs, that is your choice... but it does mot work when conversing normally.

again the definition put in place by who, I do not need anyone to tell me how I should think that is much of the problem in todays society, too many people are being told what to do and how to live and are not thinking for themselves.
I converse normally with lots of people about the above, I am not here to tell you what you should think but I am here to share what I think. At the end of the day Trump is a distraction, he is not the main problem I am very aware of that, but how I see Patriarchy is, this is no dig at men it is all about the lack of balance in the world today x

Loading...

I'm glad you had the courage to take this one on, because I tell you, I couldn't.

I could talk about why I think Trump rose to power. It's both simple and complicated at the same time.

But that second part of the question ... do you think his tenure can help the world if you ignore the obvious negatives?

That's like that terrible joke: Other than that, Mrs. Kennedy, how did you enjoy your trip to Dallas?

I'm with the trees on this one.

image (1).png

wow yeah this was a big one and I was seriously not going to answer it, but in the end I just had to say my piece, thank you my friend I think it is best to be with the trees for most things xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43