Who Is Responsible For Our Happiness?

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1173.JPG

Happiness, something we all wish to achieve, the dream we all chase after. We become so obsessed that we begin to explore many different ways in which to achieve true happiness. Chasing a high that is rightfully ours.

But do we really get to experience true happiness, if this is how we view it. It is not about being happy all the time, that in itself is quiet unrealistic, so what is it and who is responsible for our happiness?

All too often we depend on others to make us happy. Being in a relationship with someone we easily become dependant on them for that reason, you feel as though when you are with them you are whole and in that lies the expectation then that they will continue to make you feel whole. Relying on their acts and their behaviours to make you feel happy. Such is the way with relationships and indeed it is only right that you should, but are we handing over too much responsibility for our happiness to others. This has been playing on my mind of late. The reality of relationships and the fact that we hand over some of our power to our partners. We suddenly don't need to be practising so much self love anymore because they can do that for us. Instead of us individually taking the time to care for ourselves, we now become lost inside a relationship where the other person's needs are now more important than ours.

But are we able to be truly happy, if we are constantly looking to others to help us reach that sense of fulfilment within our lives?

So many expectations on one person to be your everything, to provide what you need and to know when you need it too. It all seems a bit much really and it is also a lot of pressure to put on to someone. Ah these expectations we have that in some way define us and lead us down paths away from our true self. What is it that we expect from others, be it friends or lovers. What is it that we deem important and why are we so comfortable in handing over so much responsibility to them for our joy and happiness. Feelings of expectations can lead to feelings of disappointment and then we begin to feel unworthy and uncared for.

20180215_173143_Film9.jpg

Surely if we are to be really happy then it is up to us individually to make ourselves happy. In a sense freeing others from that responsibility and taking it back for ourselves, taking back our power. Not expecting things or people, to be or act a certain way and just accepting that this is who I am, this is my life and this is how things are right now. To live in the moment and allow ourselves to really experience our natural state of being. To really experience each moment in our lives. To open ourselves up to all the highs and the lows and really feel them. To acknowledge them and honour them.

True happiness is not in being happy all the time, it is in being open and honest and accepting of who you are and what you bring to the world.

Acceptance is key, acceptance and self love.

After being in a relationship for almost 11 years and with 3 beautiful girls all under 9, finding the time for acts of self love is not always easy. But finding moments are, moments where I get to enjoy the sun on my face and the earth beneath my feet . Moments when I get to lie on the ground and allow the earth to hold me, moments when I allow the breeze to caress my face and gently release any build up energy from my hair.

Time spend on here writing, sharing and expressing myself, I rarely get to just sit down and complete a post in one go,they are always stretched out over the course of a day. But this is my life and I accept that, I accept the beauty in those chaotic moments and the beauty in those rare moments of peace, I accept all of them and it makes me happy. Like right now, my 5 year old and 16 month old are making a hell of a racket behind me, trying to outdo one another in the sound department. Yes it is very distracting and yes it pulls me away from my train of thought, but this is my life.

And as I have said already acceptance is key.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

I like your post in my past i made the big mistake to put the key of my happiness in someone else pocket now i realize that i have my own key..

thank you @noemilunastorta we certainly hold the key, thanks for dropping by xx

lovely :) It is what it is ;)

you warm my heart in your liberation x

thank you lovely xxx

... nobody but yourself is responsible for your own happiness...

Happiness is an inside job, it always was and it always will be. No one is creating our feelings than ourselves, no one is pushing them on to us. We are the creators and even though it is scary to take responsibility for our own life, it is very rewarding and liberating in a way. We realize that we are no longer (never were) dependant on others when it comes to our emotions. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about this, it was a really wonderful and enjoyable read 💚

thank you @zen-art for taking the time to drop by and thanks for your lovely feedback xxx

Really appreciating you and this post and the rich truth you remind us of yet again. Lovely that you can come back to this place after a time of turbulence and transition. Much love to you!

thank you @artemislives for your lovely lovely feedback, much love to you too xx

Your post has been hand-picked and shared in our "Spreading the Love" weekly curation series because your content promotes our core values of life, freedom, truth, love, and happiness! You can check it out here.

Thank you for your conscious contribution to this platform! Steem on! 🙏❤

left.gif|@lindseylambz.gif

wow thank you @freedomtribe, I am truly honoured, I will go check out your curation series now xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35