The Magic and The Healing Of The West Coast Of Ireland

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

P_20190913_151457.jpg

I visited Connemara a few days ago with my Mum and 3 girls. She took me to my sister's favourite beach. The beach where we will be scattering her ashes. She loved to come here for walks along the shore with her dog. It has a certain wildness to it, which appealed so much to her and to me.
P_20190913_132712.jpg

There was so much seaweed in the sea that day and the water looked brown because of it. It felt so good to come here, to get my feet in the sand and retrace some of my sisters steps. To walk along the shoreline, knowing she had done this many times before.
P_20190913_132809.jpg

My daughters were in their element, climbing the rocks, looking for shells and playing with the seaweed. They spend hours amongst the rocks, ,finding treasures and making Islands. Which allowed me the time to sit on the beach and really take in the beauty of it all.
P_20190913_132837.jpg

I have a great love for seaweed, the feel of it and the smell of it. It is so rich in minerals and after walking on it and the sand my feet felt like they were brand new. When I lived in Ireland I would come to the ocean every autumn and collect enough seaweed to put on the soil in my garden.

P_20190913_152748.jpg

Today would have been a perfect day to collect some. I had told my sister about the magic of seaweed and how it enriches the soil and protects it from the cold over the winter. I have also been know to collect seaweed and add it to my bath, what a wonderful gift from the sea. Such a wonderful treat for my body and my garden. For the soil is the skin of the earth.

P_20190913_151519.jpg

I love the colours of the seaweed, the purples and greens. I like to imagine the journey that it has been on, before it gets washed up onto the shore. The many life forms that it sustains.
P_20190913_133608.jpg

Some people dislike seaweed and I have met a few that hate the feel of it on their feet. What a funny thing to hate, when in fact it's many oils are so beneficial to us. How some will spend money on treatments, yet walk away from what is in abundance and free. How crazy that unless it has a price, some assume it has no worth. Above is some dulse seaweed, nestled amongst some rocks.
P_20190913_150849.jpg

Can you spot the heart above, the heart shaped receptical from the Ascophyllum nodosum seaweed, or Bladderwrack as it is know in Ireland. This is where reproduction takes place. New life being made within a heart. Reminding me , how important it is for us to slow down and take the time to observe, so that we can see the beauty that surrounds, so that we can witness the magic happening. So much is missed because we do not take the time to see!
P_20190913_150745.jpg

We spend most of the day on the beach. I felt so relaxed and at peace, the sky was so blue and sun shone down on me as I listened to the waves lap at the shore. In the distance I heard my girls so happy and content. Here I was, Surrounded by life and beauty and the magic of the West Coast. Remembering my sister and feeling so grateful for the fact that she was in my life.


8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

That's really beautiful photos of the coast landscape!

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks so much xx

Beautiful, that you could have that peaceful time to absorb it all and feel grateful to have had your sister in your life!
I'm so happy that it was so for you!
Such beautiful pictures too! I never realized the seaweeds have so much color!

thanks so much @porters, it was just what I needed and yeah the wonderful colours of seaweed, I must write a more indepth post about it xx

Please do! I love seaweed and I order it bulk from a person on the coast who dries it naturally on the rocks for I am totally land locked and nowhere near the ocean! Keep well and happy!

It's funny how beauty and sadness can be like two sides of the same coin.

Have you moved back there, or are you just visiting?

I am only visiting, I return to Spain next week. Yes just like life and death, love and grief there is never one without the other xxx

On some occasions I also walked on seaweed, and reading you stoked that memory in me.

I hope it was a happy memory, I love to walk on it xx

It is an indescribable feeling that you can never forget.

I didn't know the oils from seaweed were so benefical for us. This was a great post, seems like you guys had a very nice family day in the coast. Here's a vote from the @ocdb curation team :)

thanks so much @ocdb for your support and yes seaweed is so wonderfully beneficial for us xx

The coast is a magical place <3 I love to see the beach and see, preferably when there's not too many people around and when it's a bit 'too windy' - get a cup of hot chocolate afterwards.

There were not many people there which was perfect. The beaches in Spain are usually so packed, I really did appreciate having such peace here xx

Hi @trucklife-family, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

I don't know why but seaweed make me feel uncomfortable. I didn't know about the oil benefits of it. But I'm not the one who is gonna step on it to feel it. ha ha ha...
It's not actually funny, it's kind of fearful, gross and I don't know; it's just uncomfortable.

Oh I am so pleased. I knew that you were worried about going home back this post shows me that it was the right thing to do and you are exactly where you need to be. Funny I grew up on the coast as you know and I still don't mind walking through seaweed. I actually hate surfing above it as well as I always worry about what is underneath it lol. Were used together it after the big storms for the garden. I distinctly remember doing this with Mum and Dad with the trailer. We aren't allowed to do it anymore, which I suppose is a good thing or there would be none left in the sea given how big the population is getting xxx

Ah thank you beautiful, I was so apprehensive but it really felt so good to be there, to be where she loved. I don't think many people take the seaweed over here to be honest, there was so much there the other day, but yes it would not be good to take too much. xxx

This reminds me of the seaside in Canada. Do you eat the kelp?

This reminds me of
The seaside in Canada.
Do you eat the kelp?

                 - ilovecanada


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I have eaten kelp but not from this beach, it is so full of nutrients, I love to dry it and grind it up and use instead of salt xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30