The EcoTrain Magazine: 18th April 2019- Bringing you Amazing Content from the EcoTrain Passengers

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to another weekly Curation from the amazing Passengers of the EcoTrain.

There has been some changes within the community recently, all of which you can read about here and also we have had some new people join us , which is always exciting. So a big EcoTrain welcome to
@bewithbreath, @eaglespirit, @metama, @metametheus, @minismallholding, @steelborne, @steemflow and @thistle-rock

I have picked one post from each of the passengers, who was active this week and wrote about topics that are important to the EcoTrain and that help to promote creating a better world. As always we have something to suit everyone. I also have included the Launch Post for this weeks Question of the Week, which will be in 4 parts, one which involves a new challenge

It is our goal within the EcoTrain to make the world a better place and we are all very passionate about doing just that, which is reflected in the content we create. So sit back, enjoy and remember to show your support by upvoting, following and resteeming the content that you enjoy and lets all work towards making the world a better place together!

WELCOME!

@sagescrub

My Very Lazy - No Dig, No Till, No Weeding - Garden Bed Prep Method


 


I am practicing a REALLY lazy way of prepping new garden beds that doesn't require any digging, tilling or weeding!

Let's get right to it... no beating around the bush.
Here is my recipe!
Make a pile of compost on top of your grass
Wait one year
Peel it back and reveal your brand new, fertile garden bed ready for planting!

Sound easy? Well it really is. Ok, I'll show you how it works with SIX different examples (limited only by my imagination)!

@eaglespirit


Eagle Spirit Asks: Would You Spay Or Neuter Your Furry Friend?


Life Changes After Pups …

It had been over 10 years since I had a puppy, the last dog was a quite devastating end. It was raining, foggy, I was on vacation and the poor pup was rushed to the pet hospital in Philadelphia. The situation was traumatic enough that I held off until I found a breed that would suit my personality, cattle dogs.
My friend from the Rez (Native American Reservation), called me up telling me my favorite dog he owned just had pups. Of course, I had wanted Sassy from the time I first saw her, but my friends were not willing to let her go at the time.

@thegreens

Merilyn and Dorine, Environmental Defenders join Earth Rangers of The Greens to #BeatPlasticPollution

For over two weeks now, @thegreens have enjoyed the passion and committment of Shefe Dorine and Ngehmukum Merilyn in contributing to create a thriving, just and sustainable Environment.

Dorine is holder of a B.Sc in Nutrition Science who has decided to volunteer with The Greens. Her passion is to carry out research in the test for plastics in food and water in the North West Region of Cameroon. She also strives to #BeatPlasticPollution by upcycling plastic bottles to UPB Tree Nursery Pots which she will use to nurse and grow Fruit Trees to distribute in schools and communities; hence contribute in cleaning up her community and promoting food security and healthy nutrition for members of her community.

@mountainjewel



Planting Trees as the Climate Changes: No Backyard Is Too Small


I’ve continued my research into the effects of climate change around the world. After avoiding it for many years – or just not focusing on or looking into the details – I’ve started to face it head on.

It feels like a brave thing to do. The next book I want to get at the library is about all of the reasons why humans avoid taking in information – or indeed doing anything about it – regarding climate change. There are a host of psychological response mechanisms, I’m sure, but I’ll let you know when I read it what I find informative. Currently I’m reading a book by Jeff Nesbit called This Is The Way The World Ends: How Droughts and Die-offs, Heat Waves and Hurricanes are Converging on America. I have to say, having all of this information in one place is shocking, but again I must look and so I am keeping my courage in the face of it all.




@walkerland



A Day at the Walkerland Homestead | Greenhouse | Chicken Poo | First Growths | Sustaina-palooza 


You know what they say about couples that shovel chicken poo together right? I have no idea actually but it is our 18th anniversary tomorrow and we've done a lot of interesting things together over the years. We've been suffering from cabin fever lately and when the sun came out today and it finally felt like spring we flew the coop and even shoveling chicken poo sounded fun. Feels SO GOOD to be free again!

I've been wandering around looking at everything and taking note of the health of plants, trees, and infrastructure. My husband pruned blackberries and raspberries, dug a trench to drain the garden (we have clay soil)and shoveled out the coop.

@riverflows

Dreaming of the Distances Between Us & Those We Love

I've never been one to over analyse my dreams - they are usually just really fun or interesting, or easily analysed because of their perfect simplicity, or reason that my mind is overworking - I'm worried about an argument I had with someone, or I ate too much cheese before bed (okay, that's a stretch, as I'd never do that, but you know what I mean!). My love laments that he only has dreams about drug dealers after him for money, or war - whereas I dream I'm surfing a perfect surf break with dolphins or writing a novel in French, which is really hard to do, because I only speak Australian.
The other night was different.

I dream I was in a galaxy, far, far away. How I got there, who knows. There'd been some disaster or another, and we were isolated on a lonely planet far, far from Earth, with no way of returning.

@trucklife-family

Where once we were a people that had faith in what was around us, now we keep looking for someplace better to be.

How often do you take the time to stop and observe what is going on around you in the natural world. To notice the beautiful dance that occurs between the birds, the animals, the plants and the trees. How the birds, carry seeds as they fly and then drop them so that they can grow into plants and trees. How animals carry some of those same seeds on their fur, transporting them to new places.

How the water from the clouds fall and sink into the soil, carving pathways through the rocks only to come back to the surface again as clean spring water. Water that we can drink, water that can heal us.

@metama

For Those That Have Awoken 


There is a sickness that has woven it's way through the land.
It's tendrils reach far and wide, grasping at our very souls.
It comes from no one and leads to no where.

Many are still slumbering,
their eyes covered by thick masks.

They are our brothers and sisters,
caught by a sleeping sickness,
they walk unwoken.

@steemflow

Even The Tiniest Have Own Beauty.

Does size matters?? The question remain unanswered for many aspects in life. Like in case of these tiny flowers that I discovered today morning.
I was about to walk over on these Tiniest flower I have ever seen as these were grown very close to the soil. Not knowing the actual name, I named them Grass Flower looking closely, it has tiny little Purple flower along with Green Leafes all around, giving it a cute look.
I tried to capture whatever I can with my mobile camera. As close possible. This truly shows the nature magic. We have the beauty even in these tiny flower that grown wildly around us. Not even bothered about its existence. Who know what quality does these posses??. As we hardly ever bothered to look into these wild flowers while walking or while gardening. People always look out for the plants or flowers that have bigger appearance or fragrance.

@porters

Spring has Sprung! Pussy Willows, Crocuses and Butterflies! My #WednesdayWalk

What a difference a week can make!
Last week my #WednesdayWalk was all about the fresh snow covering - fast forward a week with a few days of gentle showers and Voila!
The pussy willows have burst and the cottonwood catkins broke bud, the first flowers of spring - crocuses are in bloom! Plus today I spotted some butterflies feeding on the sap from a wounded tree - it truly is spring!
Painted Lady Butterfly Feeding on the Sap of a Damaged Tree
This tree had a sapsucker drilling holes in it then it broke with the weight of a heavy wet snowfall. When the sap starts to rise it flowed out of the wounds - perfect feed for the butterflies!

@nainaztengra



Every Moment is a Choice 


As the Saying goes Live each day as if there is no tomorrow. Every Night we die and every morning we are born again to start a new life. If we really start living our life with these philosophies imagine how joyful our lives will be.

We can choose what we want to be, either be a victim or be a creator, either be in the state of love or be in the state of hatred, live in peace or with anger, operate out of understanding or out of ego. Choice is all ours how we want to operate and live our life and this all goes with how we perceive things around us. But one thing is for sure, Choice is all ours to make our life either beautiful or bitter.


@eco-alex

ecoTrain Question Of the Week Part 1 of 4: Abundance Woes  

This week we start a 4 part Question Of The Week, including a creative and fun real life challenge! Yes you heard me right, we're gonna do something in real life too! The ecoTrain is all powered up, and buzzing with new passengers and life, so I'm Very curious if you guys are going to all join us for this little adventure! Let's get to it!

The theme for the first two parts is Abundance, and the theme for the second two parts is Scarcity. There will be one question and then one real life challenge for each part.

@artemislives

Paradigm Change & Why Notre Dame Should Never be Rebuilt 

I was not devastated to see Notre Dame go up in flames, and I hope they never rebuild Her.
Sad, yes, as one is sad when a beautiful old thing that has outlived it's usefulness must be released. Shocked even. But also I felt a deep, silent "Yes!" as I felt empowered.

You see, I BELIEVE that our words, our art, our creations and yes, our buildings, carry vibrational energy. They change the physical world. One only has to visit Auschwitz-Birkenau to FEEL and KNOW that. The vibrations of torture, suffering, loss and man's inhumanity to man linger. The sadness we take with us as we leave there, changes what we create. And so the ripples continue.

@minismallholding

Of Frugality and Waste.


We've just finished decorating three rooms. I've always done things in the best way to save money, but waste is much more a consideration for me than it used to be as well.

The carpets were over 25 years old and not just stained, but getting holes too. However, the underlay was still useable, so we kept that and just replaced the carpet. We saved a bit more on removal of the old carpet by taking it out cutting it up small enough for the household bin. We have the room in our bin to do this, because we don't produce much household waste each week. Some bits of carpet have been redirected for use elsewhere, such as lining the rooster’s nighttime box for better sound proofing and going in the back of the utility vehicle.

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

DRIVER
@eco-alex

CURATORS / DELEGATORS
@artemislives
@hopehuggs
@likedeeler

PASSENGERS
@artemislives
@bewithbreath
@eaglespirit
@hopehuggs
@metama
@metametheus
@minismallholding
@misslasvegas
@mountainjewel
@nainaztengra
@porters
@riverflows
@sagescrub
@senorcoconut
@solarsupermama
@steelborne
@steemflow
@stortebeker
@thegreens
@thistle-rock
@trucklife-family
@walkerland


If you are new to Steemit, love to write, and would like to join the ecoTrain community as an official passenger please email me on [email protected]

** Click Here For More Information on the ecoTrain **

 

CLICK HERE TO JOIN US ON DISCORD AND MEET SOME GREAT AUTHENTIC PEOPLE

 

Sort:  

Beautiful curation work, as always, @trucklife-family. I never cease to be just damn IMPRESSED at what this small community achieves & shares each week. Gratitude & respect. Resteemed.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you beautiful one, yes we are a very productive and creative community xx

Great job again and WELCOME aboard to all our new passengers! It really is a more interesting selection than any other magazine i could pick up~ XX <3 you rock - we Are the ones we have been waiting for =_)

Ah thank you Alex, I am so excited to have new passengers onboard, breathing in new energy xx

Succinct! @trucklife-family - Great curation! Very glad to be on #ecoTrain 🙏🏼🧘🏼‍♂️😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you @bewithbreath and welcome to the family xx

Some impressive articles. Thank you for bringing them all together and thank you everyone on the Ecotrain for such a warm welcome.

thanks @minismallholding, great to have you on board xx

Wow!! This is an amazing eco train edition! So many great topics :) Thank you so much for including my post!

you are very welcome @sagescrub xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18