You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Patriarchy: a society led by men or a society led by fear and a feeling of scarcity which happens to be an environment in which the masculine takes charge?

in #ecotrain7 years ago

I have been looking forward to reading this post as I know how passionate you feel about this. I sure could feel your fire reading this, I agree that the patriarch has always and still does wish to dominate the feminine and anything that represents it. They feel so threatened and fearful by it and the only thing they can think to do is beat it down. I do believe that the feminine is in all of us and that a lot of 'people' are victimized because of it. We badly need balance and it is coming, look at all the people who are returning to the great mother, to nature to live and reconnect.
I love your fire, it is fire that is such a catalyst for bringing about change

Sort:  

Ahhhh. And I have been looking forward to responding to you! It's been a town day for me (I'm sure you're familiar with the project that going to town with children can be) hence the delay in my response. It also happens to be a rum night, so I'm going to do my best at coherent sentences. One of the amazing things sparked in my brain from your comment was the use of the word "patriarch" as opposed to "patriarchy." It made me think of the difference between racism and prejudice. What I mean is that prejudice is personal, whereas racism is institutional. I see the patriarchy as an institutionalized system beyond anything personal, while a patriarch seems like a person who outwardly espouses those beliefs. There is no doubt in my mind that the patriarchy as an institution is responsible for so much of the damage to our planet and her people, and we are all, in one way or another, a part of that - even if we don't like it. Similar to racism. Those that actively espouse it, well they're another can of worms. I agree that balance is coming, and I think those of us who see the damage, particularly the women and the parents of girls, must speak loudly to why and how this change needs to be made. Much love!

Oh, and look at the comment above from my boy, @anarchyandbread. I resisted the temptation to comment underneath what a proud mama I am, but I thought you could appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64236.48
ETH 2519.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66