Gratitude: From Sickness to Flying To Ireland.

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

I feel like I have been undergoing a journey on so many different levels. I had been preparing to return to visit my family in Ireland and through Steemit I was able to finance the trip and my daughters passports. The build up was huge, we had not been to Ireland as a family in over 5 years and in that time I had another baby. We booked the flights, and awaited the passports.

They all came except for my youngest daughter who will soon be 1. Because she was not born in Ireland her's took longer. Our date of departure was approaching, everyone is super excited, but still no passport. After some local TD intervention, that my mother instigated, the passport came 6 days before our flight. Which also turned out to be the Equinox and my 40th birthday, so although I wrote a post that day about my double celebration, it was in fact a triple celebration.

Finally we would be getting on that plane. Then I fell sick, my reason for not being active on here for the last few days, except to publish my poems which I admit my partner had to help me with. I am usually quiet healthy, I do my best to look after myself, well as much as a mum of 3 kids can. But the last few months I have been having stomach complaints on and off and then they all came to a head recently.

It is believed that we hold so much in our guts, it is also where we are meant to process and allow ourselves to move forward, just like our food, see our physical bodies function so well by themselves once we provide the with the right nourishment but the emotional side, well that tends to get pushed aside, especially when a lot is going on in our lives.


Image Source:http://www.collective-evolution.com

And I feel like I have been keeping my head above water for a little while now, whilst also being mum and keeping home and putting on a happy face too many times. Inside I continue to feel stretched and running on empty, how amazing we are that we can function when we feel like this. I am ever grateful to my body for continuing to move, for allowing me to keep going, but it had to come to a head and that it did. In the most physical way it could. Full on vomiting and diarrhoea and finally fever. Lucky me!

I had to rest, I was given no choice in the matter my body was clearly saying enough is enough. I have had 3 days of bed rest. On the 4th day we had our flights to Ireland and well what can I say, I am stubborn as hell and tough as boots, so of course I got on that plane. I sit here now in my parents house writing this post, still quite tired, with slight temperature but on the mend. I am once again so grateful to my body for the amazing strength it holds. I am grateful to my girls and my partner for rallying round me so that I could get on that plane. I am so grateful to be here now and not in Spain, I am so much closer to my sister, the reason I am here to begin with.

My sister has Cancer and seeing that written now on the screen really brings it home to me. It is not easy writing those two words together, but it is another step in really accepting it. I will have to face the reality of it now that I am here because she is in hospital, it has spread. Before when I saw her she looked really well, sure we talked about it but you can talk about so many things without really seeing them. We get by in life like that, talking and talking but not really processing things, allowing ourselves to really feel what we need to feel.

So many journeys I have undertaken. So far this one has led me here, I am not really sure what comes next, but I am grateful to be here nonetheless.

I am part of the ecotrain, if you wish to read great content and be inspired please check it out. It is one train that is full of very diverse and creative passengers. And we all know that diversity is the spice of life.

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

So sorry to hear about your sister, and your condition. So glad to hear you are on the mend. Don’t push it! Take your time.

...the emotional side, well that tends to get pushed aside, especially when a lot is going on in our lives.

So true. And our bodies put up with a lot before finally saying “enough!”

Thanks for sharing and hoping you’re back to full power soon.

Blogs like this are why I feel Steemit has value. Resteemed.

Thank you @kafkanarchy84 for your support, I'm taking each day as it comes xx

Wow! I am so sorry to hear that you have not been well and even more sorry to hear about your sister. I am sending positive thoughts and distance healing, to you and your whole family. I am glad you made it on that plane! Stomach issues go so deep and as a holistic therapist, I would say you have been holding your feelings and emotions inside for way too long and your gut has definitely had enough and can't take anymore. I think you need to take time to recouperate your strength and feel well again. Don't worry about what comes next, look after the now. Love and hugs, @beautifulbullies xx

thank you @beautifulbullies for your words and support, I really appreciate it all. xx

I hope you will be feeling better soon and that there is something that could be done for your sister. It ain't easy having a family member sick, struggling with cancer or any other condition. Wishing you a speedy recovery and lots of strength. Be well!

I am so sorry. I hope the best for you and your sister.

So sorry about your sister. Great that you managed to go on that plan darling, please rest and take care of your self. You are amazing!!!

thank you Niina xx

Beautifully written @trucklife-family
Don't feel guilty if you don't come on here for a few days, enjoy the time you have with your sister and your family as this time is precious, enjoy Ireland.
Wishing you strength and good health and of cause many smiles too
céad míle fáilte 😊

Wow, way to go supermom! You sound like you have had quite a challenging leg to this journey of yours. I am so happy to hear that you've made your way to Ireland with the family. My heart goes out to your sister in this desperate time. She is so blessed to have you there with her and I will keep you both in my thoughts and prayers. I hope you continue getting well and that your sister can find healing too. <3 Aimee

Thank you Aimee xx

Take care of yourself and feel better soon!

Oh dear, do rest as long as you need and get well! Sorry to hear about your sister. Lots of love and big hugs to you @trucklife-family :)

I hope you are feeling better by the time you read this. How wonderful of you to support your sister in her hard time. You have a very generous heart to make that journey and be with her.

thank you @sagescrub, I am feeling better, my sister is in hospital still taking everyday as it comes for now. x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50