You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing With Abundance in Our Own Ways.

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Hahaha, I remember as a teenager my favorite time to mow the lawn (in fact the only time I'd be happy to do that chore) was when our apple tree was dropping its fruit. It gave me such a joy running over rotting apples with the lawnmower, until the whole yard was covered in apple sauce!
Of course, a much better solution are critters to eat them. Birds are cool (imagine how the cats felt about alcohol filled birds, hehehe), but pigs would also do wonders on that. In fact, my dog right now would LOVE it! She's crazy about apples, preferring it to any doggy treat.
Your post also reminds me of a group I met in Budapest, who go to peoples' yards to harvest the fruit they can't or don't want to. Of course they always leave them a nice big bowl of the best pieces, but also they get a huge discount on the jams, ciders, etc. prepared from the fruit, not only harvested from their trees, but all the trees in the network. An ingenious solution to maintain abundance in our busy world.

Sort:  

Haha! Feeding the lawn with apple sauce! My friend had a crab apple tree and she had to go out daily to pick what she can reach and collect any windfalls before her dog gets them, because eating them sends her loopy.

I have seen something on groups in Britain who do something similar with windfalls and fruit not being used. One of them only collects apples for cider.

Posted using Partiko Android

Crab apples? Good to know! I looked into what my dog is NOT supposed to eat, such as onions or grapes, which she totally would if she had the chance, but apples are supposedly all right. Crab apples though... I don't know, nor am I sure I'd even be able to recognize them at all.

That's quite possible, since it was a British dude who inspired that Hungarian harvest circle.

Do you know Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall and the River Cottage series? I'm pretty sure it was him that highlighted it. I wonder if that's inspired others.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70