Remembering Mr Smith (An Everyday Hero)

in #ecotrain7 years ago (edited)

Teach-Quotes-the-influence-of-a-good-teacher.jpg

The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.

William Arthur Ward

I was reminded yesterday of my old physics teacher, Mr Smith. Like I've said before, I don't remember much of what I learned in school - partly because it was a long time ago and my memory these days is full of holes, partly because most of the time I wasn't really paying attention - and partly because good teachers (I mean REALLY good teachers) were few and far between...

Mr Smith didn't stay around for long, but he left a lasting impression on me. He was one of those rare and precious things - a really good teacher.

Not everyone in the class thought so. In fact, most people would laugh and make fun of him and the way he would throw himself around the classroom when explaining thermodynamics, or the way he would contort himself to demonstrate energy fields.

Mr Smith hadn't always been a school teacher. In fact he was quite new to it. Up until then he had been working as an accountant, or some such office job. I think he knew that his days were numbered and so decided to become a teacher. Something he'd always wanted to do.

Of course, he didn't let on that he was ill. Sometimes, in the middle of a lesson he would stop and take a chocolate bar out of his brief case and hungrily munch it down, to the envy of all of us. He explained that it was because of diabetes, which to us didn't seem so bad if it allowed you to eat sweets in class.

One day, he didn't come into school, or the next day, or the day after that. I can't remember how many days or weeks it was before it was announced by the head teacher in assembly one morning that Mr Smith had contracted meningitis and died from complications.

So today, I am remembering Mr Smith and also all the other really good teachers out there who give everything to share their gifts. In the final reckoning a good teacher is worth more than their weight in gold.

Sort:  

Yes, good teachers are very important, not only in school,
and somehow I was able to attract quite a few into my life.

Very true what you say.. not only in school.

oh Mr Smith..
I think, IF i remember rightly he was Diabetic and died from that.. rather than meningitis.

He was a special one.. i remember him well too!

I think it was the diabetes which made him more susceptible to the meningitis and also caused complications.. but like I say, my memory is full of holes.. which makes it all the more remarkable that I should still remember Mr Smith, even 30 years later. That's the mark of a good teacher (although dying unexpectedly half way through term may also cause him to stick in my mind.. at that time I would have been glad if a few other teachers had done that too - or rather, instead)

like Ms Sterman! ;-)
well u seem to remember it better than i do!
we were lucky really, we had a few great teachers really,
Ms Jaqui Heaton is still my heroine

Mr. Smith does sound like a wonderful teacher. I am so sad to find out he didn't live for long. Good teachers are certainly a huge blessing and I have been lucky to have quite a few in my life too. Also, I believe anyone who teaches you something profound and monumental in your life is your teacher. Considering this, I have met quite a few teachers here on Steemit too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43