The Power of Play

in #ecotrain7 years ago

I'm gonna be straight with you because, well, you know, that's how I roll. I'm feeling poopy today. I was thinking about what to write, and I remembered I wanted to write about play. But I thought I might be too grumpy to write about play. Then I thought about writing about beer because, boy, I'd love a beer. Then I remembered that I can't really afford beer, and we don't have any homebrew right now. So that seemed kind of sad.

image.jpeg

Buck up, Buttercup!

Guess what? Grumpy time is the perfect time to play. Writing is play for me. Making beer is play for me. I gotta pull myself on up out of this funk. Sometimes you just gotta fake it till you make it. I believe in letting myself feel how I feel, and well, there's some stress in my life right now, but I don't believe in sitting here rolling around in my funky funky.

What is Play?

People think of play as something for children, and if you have ever read anything at all I have written about kids or education, you know I firmly believe in the power and necessity of play for children. Kids learn by playing. They learn how to communicate, interact, become adults, problem solve, resolve conflict, be imaginative, be kind, and discover their passions just for starters. I don't think anything is more important than what's on that list.

image.jpeg

So, does growing up mean playtime is over?! No, no it does not. What you play may change. Then again it may not. When I was a kid, my favorites were Barbies, Lincoln Logs, and outside. I don't really like playing Barbies anymore. It's not that I'm opposed to them. I just don't have access to that part of my imagination anymore. It makes me kind of sad. Lulu says I'm still good at Barbies, but she's just trying to get me to play what she wants. I do still love Lincoln Logs and being outside, though. I can still throw down at the park.

By digging just a bit we can understand a bit more about what play really is. When you watch kids playing, you can see they are totally and completely immersed. Sometimes I have to yell loudly to get my kids to even hear me when they are playing intensely. I remember my mom regularly saying, "Kristin! I have been calling your name for five minutes!! What in the world?!" No matter what kind of play, that is a common thread. Total and complete immersion.

So ask yourself, what is it you do that you fully lose yourself in? What are the things you do that cause you to totally lose all sense of time? Those are your play. The list changes over time, and nothing works all the time. Dancing is almost always a good one for me, though. Sometimes I have to talk myself into play, like today. Just a little ways into writing, and I am already feeling better. I love that feeling when the writing starts to flow. I feel a lot better, even though my situation has not changed at all.

Me and my girl cooking together
image.jpeg

Making beer is another one for me. I love the magical creation of it. In fact the entirety of the kitchen is wonderful for me. I love creating and gifting people with deliciousness. I used to love knitting. Maybe I will pick that up again, although I live in the tropics now. Outside is always good for me. Wandering through the jungle is fun. I love listening to and watching the animals. We are also blessed with an abundance of water here - we have river and sea. And, oh gosh, sandcastles!! Do you love sandcastles too? They're so much fun. I used to really love hula hoop. I haven't done that in a few years. Maybe I'll make another one. That slack line @mountainjewel was on looked pretty fun as well.

The jungle taking over the ancient Mayan temples. I love wandering in these spaces.
image.jpeg

In fact, once you're in the groove, anything can be play. Have you ever turned on the radio and danced through chores? That's what I'm talking about. Just because the kitchen needs to be cleaned, that doesn't mean you have to drudge through it. Your play places are the things that really drop you into that blissed out state, but once you're there, you can ride it through almost any task.

Holy crap that worked so well!

I did not really expect to feel so much better. Just writing and thinking about my play spaces way improved my mood. Now I am going to go dance while making dinner and then make beer and cookies. A saison, I think.

Tell me what works for you?

Have you figured out what your plays spaces are? Share them with me! What really gets you flowing and glowing? I want to know all about it. Then go do it!

Sort:  

we all grow older, The smart ones refuse to grow up.

True that. Our truest growth is in continuing to play.

I love dancing, when I'm tidying up, when I'm cooking, when I'm outside and a song comes into my head, I love dancing with my kids. I also love singing, singing to my kids, to myself, round the fire with my friends and when I'm walking the dogs.
I also love to write, to play with words.I love to swim and play in water, I really love bombing into a pool, not really good at diving but I do bomb well.
Thanks for the great post, too cold to be in water right now but will get into the others at some point today xx resteemed xx

Water bombing rocks. I hope we can do it together this summer! Until then we will virtually dance and sing together.

I cannot imagine a day going by without play. Having kids you have to be on your toes in that department. Being playful is an attitude to everything, from joking with people in communication to imagining dream goles. I stufied drama at university and we studied games for a whole term. So i guess play is one of my qualifications!!

Exactly! We have to stay in play as much as we can, and kids are the greatest teachers! They are truly the shortcut to enlightenment.

For me it´s the internet!
Reading, researching, watching videos, sometimes music videos, writing for steemit, the days just fly by and I have done not much else on a typical day, since I discovered steemit last July. For about 3.5 years I´ve done pretty much every day what I wanted and since I´m scared stiff of work, work was not part of it.

Reading is definitely a good one for me. Talking to people for hours on end is another. Oh, and traveling. That's probably my favorite game. Can't believe I didn't think of that one.

Well an ice cold homebrew and some lincoln logs, sandcastles and jungle hiking does sound like fun...

Yeah. That's a pretty solid day right there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39