The Drama of Money

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Money, it's a hit.

It's such an incredibly touchy subject, isn't it? There is probably nothing so totally surrounded in judgement. If you have too much, you're an asshole. If you have too little you're either lazy or some kind of victim. And if you want to be spiritual at all, you must totally renounce it as the root of all evil. Oddly enough, prayers are usually not an accepted form of rent payment. You can't buy food with good vibes, and land prices are rarely listed in terms of meditation hours.

It's so tied up in all this drama, but it's actually just a means of exchange. It literally means nothing, but we give it tons of meaning which is further confused because it varies from person to person. Some people value others because they have money, while other people value those who don't. Again, it's absolutely ridiculous. Some people with money are good, and others are shit buckets. Same goes for poor people. That’s just life.

Saying that all this is nonsense doesn't change how it affects you, though. I have understood all this stuff for a long time, but that doesn't mean I'm free from that bondage. A deep, deep knowing is required to really free you. Now I'm about to make a big fat leap and say something pretty radical.

Handle this shit first. Before dealing with your other issues, heal your relationship with money.

Here’s some slightly unhelpful sort of true/sort of not true things we tell ourselves

The best things in life are free!

The best things in life aren't things.

It ain't nothin honey, if it ain't free.

Of course all those things are true to some degree. Yet none of them are true all the time or completely true any of the time. Yes, I love my kids and hanging out with them. I also enjoy feeding them. And even going on vacations with them.

Why healing our money issues is so important

I really and truly wish I would have put the focus on healing my energy around money many, many years ago because it makes things so much easier. No, money won’t make you happy. No, money won’t make everything easy all the time. No, money won’t heal all your woes. However, it will make it so you don’t have to worry about paying bills. You won’t have to worry about how you’re going to feed your kids. In fact you can eat healthier food! You will be able to pay for counseling if you need it. You will be able to go to the dr or get medicine if you need to. You will be able to go on vacation and rejuvenate yourself and your relationships. You will be able to treat yourself to nights out, special foods, and treasured gifts. You will be able to buy fun things for people you love. You will be able to create a life where you can do the work that fulfills you most. You will be able to get out of your house and meet new friends. You will be able to give to people and organizations you want to give to. You will be able to bless the planet by getting the electric car and the full solar system with batteries. You will be able to buy that land you’ve had your eye on for so long.

How to start

Here's the good news. You don't have to work a lot for this to happen, and you don't have to deny yourself all your pleasures. I have noticed a lot of wealthy people who don’t work much at all. If hard work created wealth, there would be a whole lot of millionaires in the impoverished nations of the world. You just have to heal your relationship with money.

What does that mean? I think first you have to clear up any mistaken beliefs about money. If you find yourself thinking or saying negative things about money, replace it with a different thought. Don’t try to not think it. That’s a pink elephant kind of thing. You have to replace it. Here are just a couple examples. There are lots more. Pay attention to your thoughts!!

Rich people are assholes => There are a lot of really wonderful people with lots of money, like JK Rowling or I am a wonderful person, rich or not.
You have to work hard just to scrape by. => Lots of wealthy people have loads of leisure time. Just check em out on their yachts, vacation homes, and golf courses.

It’s also good to visualize.

See yourself with the things and money you want. Do vision boards. Put affirmations up all over your house. Tell yourself how worthy you are! Spend time each and every day visualizing, dreaming, and/or writing. If there was a time in your life when you had money, use those thoughts of that time as touchstones. If not, use other people you admire as touchstones. The more emotion you have with these visualizations and touchstones, the better. Rather than just seeing yourself on a boat, really focus on how you are going to feel the first time you take that beautiful boat out on the water. Emotional visualizations will manifest much faster. For me it also has to be realistic, but that may not be true for everyone. I have to believe there is a possible path from here to there. It wouldn’t work for me to visualize myself on my own jet plane. First of all because I don’t really want one but also because I see that as impossible. Of course it’s not, but I would have to clear that mistaken belief first.

Act as if.

This is really important but can also be a tad tricky. I believe in giving money to people who spiritually bless me in one way or another, and my belief is that giving, especially in a spiritual alignment, will result in money returned multiplied abundantly. Now, it can be easy to think that spending money on treats or trips could be a way to develop an abundant attitude. It can work if you have money but have been hoarding it. However, if you drive yourself into debt or put yourself in a difficult situation, you’re going to deeply regret that, and it’s going to shift you out of alignment.

Now, it is all easier said than done. I realized a lot of this some years ago, but I’m still at it. I have managed to live in a tropical paradise and work less than half time and get to spend a lot of time with my kids, but I am looking forward to - actually excited about - travelling more, having a boat, going out with my kids and friends more, and seeing my family more often. I figured out pretty early on my parents had instilled that whole idea of working hard to make money. I understood quickly that was horse shit, but there were lots more layers to that. As I dug deeper, I also realized that I had a belief that people who work hard are better people. I also began to understand the ridiculousness put on stay at home parents and how demeaning and undermining the lack of value placed on that very hard work is. Knowing I work really hard to be a good mom and not getting any kind of financial remuneration for that is frustrating and disheartening. In fact, as I have mentioned before, most so called “women’s work” is horrendously undervalued - teaching, nursing, caregiving, child care, etc. So, there’s more for me to unravel. Right now I’m coming out of a pretty shitty relationship that’s been dragging on for way too long, and I have definitely taken a hit over the last few years. So it’s important for me to focus on my own worthiness right now.

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay unless otherwise noted.

I’m a passenger on the @ecotrain, as well as a member of @teamgirlpowa and @steemitmamas. All three are worth taking a look at, and all three are on discord.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It is better to be rich than poor, because the poor man always thinks he will be happy once he´s rich, but the rich man knows that this is not true.
Osho

This is true mostly. I grew up with money, so I know it won't make me happy, but I also know that not having to stress over bills and being able to travel with my kids more would be pretty fucking fantastic.

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I loved this post. I resonate with it greatly. I too was raised with an over-estimation of the value of hard work. My family worked so hard, even my grandparents, yet money was always a worry and some physical needs were not taken care of.

Then I went to an Ivy League college and was suddenly surrounded by very wealthy people. As I got to know them it became quite clear that everything I'd been taught about money was very useful to those who wish to maintain the haves & havenots society we have, but not useful at all to anyone wanting to improve their financial situation.

Now I'm retired relatively young, and I attribute it to finding ways to increase money while decreasing effort.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for such an awesome comment. My dad has this hard core German work ethic, and we always had plenty of money, but he worked really hard. I was well into adulthood before I realized it was his belief system and not his hard work that made the money. I've also had to battle judgement issues of my own. Growing up a lot of the people I knew with money were yucky people, and then I got really involved in social and political stuff and started to recognize how so many were being held down, so I have had to do a lot to undo this idea I had that people with money were assholes. Thanks again for stopping by! I really appreciate your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45