You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling 101 Part 2: Freedom of Activity

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I like Khan too. My older kids didn't, but I haven't shown the younger ones yet. They might like it. I think the older ones didn't like it because they were introduced to it during their short stint in public schools. It's true. We have all kinds of crazy devices now. It's weird trying to write fiction based in the future because we can't really have a clue what we're gonna have even 5 years from now.
Just 2 years in public school did terrible things to my older daughter. Her self esteem got totally shot. She has told me that she is pretty sure she wouldn't have made it through if I had kept her in there. As an artist she just had very different priorities of what was most important in life, and as an unschooler she was totally unaccustomed to being told what to think and do all day. Not to mention the social train wreck. For me and my older son, I think it was more about associating our worth with our good grades.
I'm so glad you're enjoying these. These are the comments that keep me going.

Sort:  

Khan academy is great, our kids love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55826.71
ETH 2298.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39