Hey Gorgeous! The Self Forgiveness Challenge

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Oh, forgiveness. It’s a crazy tricky topic, isn’t it? Do we really need to forgive anyone for anything ever? Are we all really doing our best with what we have in any given moment, or do we just give lip service to that whole idea? We are especially hard on ourselves. I watched a video the other night. A man was talking about a conversation with a friend whose granddaughter had committed suicide. She was berating herself as most people do, and he stopped to ask her if she thought her husband had been neglectful. Was there something he could have done differently to create a different outcome in the situation? Did she blame him? Of course she said “no.” We don’t abuse others half as bad as we abuse ourselves. Do we really need to be sorry ever? Subsequently, do we ever need to forgive someone?


Source

As tricky as it is, it’s still something I do. I apologize to my children when I yell and ask them to apologize when they abuse one another. It doesn’t feel like exactly the right way, and I imagine at some point I will choose to find another path where we somehow discuss that it’s not ok to walk around hitting others with sticks. It hurts the other person and usually makes the one hitting feel like shit.

All that said, without a doubt, I am holding myself accountable for a host of things, many of which aren’t my fault to begin with. I wish I was a better mom. I wish I didn’t ever lose my temper. I wish I was better at manifesting money. I wish I made better decisions about relationships. I wish I could let things go easier rather than riding them to the dark and bitter end. I wish I was happier more often. I wish I didn’t get depressed. I wish I was more playful. I wish I spent more time outside. Holy shit. I wish I wasn’t so damn hard on myself.

That’s it. Winner, winner chicken dinner. I am constantly abusing myself in the never ending drive for perfection. We all do this. I’ve no doubt. I think I might be a tad extra on this. When I was a child, my brother was pretty, um, challenging. He was high spirited, constantly into everything, very rebellious and mischievous. In his teenage years he was drinking and smoking whatever was available. He wrecked a car, got arrested twice, and used to have nasty screaming matches with my mother. Well, I took one look at that and said, “no, thank you.” I was the good child. I was smart, obedient, quiet, gentle, and kind. I got along with pretty much everyone and always got good grades. One of my mother’s friends named their child after me because I was some kind of model child. And the pressure started building. I periodically heard things like, “we just know you’re going to do great things and make the Harling family famous.” No pressure, though. The push, push, push got more intense. You need to go to school here and take these courses and be in these honor programs, and are you sure you don’t want to be a doctor?


Source

Looking back I can see that somewhere underneath I began to believe I was loved because I was good. So, I decided to test that theory. I started getting in all kinds of trouble. I think I just wanted to know if they still loved me when I wasn’t some kind of startling success. As it turns out, they do. And I’m so grateful for that. Now I just want to have an easier life, but I don’t exactly know how. I seem to be stuck as "the troubled one." I don’t ever want to undo or unlearn all the magical discoveries I made by exploring all kinds of different drugs and spiritual paths and even bad marriages and single motherhood. I’m grateful for all I know now, but maybe I still feel like I am supposed to be punished for not having my shit together.

So, here we go. Kristin, you gorgeous rockstar badass mama bear powerhouse genius woman, I forgive you for not having your shit together. I forgive you for being so hard on yourself. I forgive you for needing to test others' love for you. You’re perfect the way you are. Your children still love you through the poverty. They’re grateful for time spent in your arms. I forgive you for not believing you were magical fairy enough to deserve both money and time with your children, or anything else you wanted for that matter. I forgive you for buying into the lies of the patriarchy and the capitalist death trap. I forgive you for being human. I forgive you for thinking you were supposed to be perfect.

196816_10150218378019202_7475017_n.jpg
Obviously this pic is mine

There it is. That’s the thing. All these things we think we’ve done wrong were never really wrong to begin with. This living in the body business is complicated, and it gets confusing, and I think we all need to assume more often that we are all doing our best with the tools we have. I couldn’t have done different than what I did because that’s who I am, and I’ve learned so much.

Still. I forgive you anyway, you gorgeous goddess, you.

For this I nominate @eco-alex, @vegan.ninja, and @holisticmom. I look forward to seeing where this conversation goes from here.

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay unless otherwise noted.

I’m a passenger on the @ecotrain, as well as a member of @teamgirlpowa and @steemitmamas. All three are worth taking a look at, and all three are on discord.

Sort:  

lovely honest powerful post! i agree, so many of us can be so hard on ourselves and it's great to just say I LOVE AND ACCEPT YOU FOR WHO YOU ARE RIGHT NOW. the never ending quest for perfection or finally being good enough is just that... never ending. here's to self forgiveness and self love xxx

Indeed! Im so grateful to finally be getting to this point.

ooh a nomination! very good topic for me im sure.. thanks @solarupermama.. it looks like we have a few things in common! <3

I think so! I look forward to hearing what you have to say.

You don't have to get your kids to forgive others when they poke their friends. Just give them a whack on the head. If they repeat that leaned behavior, just give 'em two. It'll be just like caveman times. Oh joy what fun.

And you don't have to forgive me for writing this, cuz I'm not sorry, even though I know it's stupid.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

I love it, so ill say thanks, which is always a good thing to say. I keep telling them that one day i might change my mind and start beating them. They just roll their eyes. I tell people we all want to beat our children, but some of us have self control.

When my kiddo was growing up I only wanted to beat other people's children.

Oh, man. I wish. They drive me so crazy sometimes. I periodically want to sell them to the circus.

fantastic, I love this, you are a fabulous human who just constantly tells it like it is and doesn't hold back, yeah to all of that

you gorgeous rockstar badass mama bear powerhouse genius woman

damn straight xxx

Thank you, dahling. I love being fabulous.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful thoughts in such a poetic manner.

I felt nice reading this.

Aww. Thank you! It feels very nice to read your words!!

I really like your ability to open up. We have so many things in common and this post really resonates with me.
Thank you for the nomination, this is a challenge I am looking forward to. 😊❤ xx

Thank you! I'm definitely open. I almost cant stop myself. I look forward to seeing what you have to say.

WOW, THANK YOU @solarsupermama. I love reading this, it led me on a journey to forgive myself too :)

I forgive you for being so hard on yourself. I forgive you for needing to test others' love for you. You’re perfect the way you are.

This made me a bit teary. I never thought I can forgive myself for being hard on myself <3 I too am learning to apologize to my son when I yell and ask him to. Sometimes this parenting thing can beat me down. But thanks so much for your words :)

Thank you! Im so glad it was meaningful for you! Parenting is so very hard, but people dont want to talk about that. Looks to me like youre doing an awesome job. You clearly love your son a lot. Keep your chin up!

Awesome post and concept. I was nominated by trucklife-family, but I haven't been able to bring myself to write the post as yet! Great work :)

Thank you! It was hard at first because i started thinking of all the mistakes ive made and mean shit ive done, but then i realized we are mostly all doing our best. I hope you find a way to write it. It was very cathartic for me.

I loved this!! I said yes yes yes, to all you wished for because me too...ME TOO!!
And then now I have to just forgive myself ...haha
So not a how to be a better you post ... it’s a how to forgive, accept and love yourself post ... I ❤️
😊

I am so very glad you enjoyed it!!! It's a big process, but learning to love ourselves may be our most important work, especially the mamas.

I love your raw honesty In this, I feel alot of these things. We have to forgive our selves so we can be are best selves

Absolutely, and it's such a gift to our children as well!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55