Alternatives to School

in #ecotrain7 years ago

I think it's becoming clear that schools are not really working. People want to talk about how Millenials are lazy or ruining the economy or whatever, but the fact of the matter is that school doesn't get you a job anymore. In this emerging economy, people need to be innovative, creative, responsible, self disciplined, and able to navigate ever changing waters. They need to be in tune enough with themselves to know their strengths, passions, and weaknesses. They need to know what motivates them. The ability to follow orders and recite facts are no longer helpful, if they ever were in the first place.

image.jpeg

So as a lot of people begin to realize they need to look elsewhere to educate their children, many people don't know where to look or what their options are. As it turns out there are a lot, and that can be overwhelming.

Alternative Schools

Let me just say to start that I have very definite opinions and preferences, and that's probably going to be obvious. I understand, though, people have different ideas about what an ideal education looks like. So, I want to present a number of different options even though I don't totally subscribe to several of them.

Nature Schools

There are a number of variations on nature schools. These tend to focus on letting kids spend a lot of time in and study the natural world. Some of them are totally unstructured, allowing kids to freely play and explore however they choose. Some of them have structured classes mingled in with free nature play. Most of them tend to have limitations on using technology. The benefits here are obvious. Kids who explore the natural world undoubtedly develop their brains a lot. They also most likely develop their creative abilities. For sure they get to know themselves well. Self reflection is easy with the mirror of nature.

image.jpeg

The drawback, in my mind, comes in eliminating technology. I used to be a mom that severely limited screen time. Over time my mind was changed by a few key arguments. First, it's good to learn how to regulate yourself, and it's a lot easier to learn that when you don't have bills to pay. Ever known a twenty something with a tv or video game addiction? It's a little sad. Second, kids know the difference between fiction and reality. Seriously kids are way smarter than we give them credit for. Playing mortal kombat will not make them think it's ok to fight people to the death in the street. Third, tech knowledge is already critical to almost every kind of work or money making adventure you can think of. It's only going to get more so. They need to know how it works and how to adapt to that ever changing landscape.

Waldorf Schools

Rudolph Steiner was, without doubt, an incredibly brilliant man, and he had very specific ideas on how things should be done. To this end, he created very specific guidelines on a host of different topics, including farming, medicine, and of course education.

There are many benefits to Waldorf schools. They are more holistic in nature, seeking to educate a child in a far more well rounded way. The schools are often filled with imagination-inspiring, natural, beautiful toys. The teachers are very well educated on children's developmental stages and the importance of honoring where children naturally are at certain ages. They tend to get plenty of play and outside time. Education tends to be more project based.

image.jpeg

The issue I have with nature schools also applies here. Technology is often frowned upon in anything other than very small doses. Additionally I think there is a drawback to the very structured order of the schools. For example they believe no child should learn to read before 7 because they're not ready before that. I think for many, maybe even most children, this is a serious blessing, but every child is different. I have a friend who went to a Waldorf school as a child and would get in trouble for reading when she was 5 and 6. I simply think this is a different flavor of adults believing they know what is best for children who then get little say in their own lives. I really do think Waldorf schools are beautiful in their own way, but for me I want my kids to have a little more say in captaining their own ship.

Montessori

Maria Montessori was a beautiful woman who envisioned a gentler path forward for children. There is, at this point, a great deal of variation among Montessori schools, but generally speaking the idea is for children to have a more tailored learning experience. Learning is usually project based and geared toward a child's interests and goals. Similar to Waldorf, there is a focus on high quality, beautiful toys and learning materials. A main difference from Waldorf is the reading bit. Montessori children are encouraged strongly to read very early. I was taught to read at 4 in a Montessori preschool. For me the cons are the same. There is a specific idea of when, how, and using what materials children should learn. Again, I prefer my kids to be allowed to figure things out on their own.

Reggio Emilia

I learned about Reggio Emilia sort of late in the game. The model was developed in Italy after the end of the Second World War in an effort to move Italy in a different direction. It's somewhat similar to Montessori in that learning is project based and tailored to the interests of the child. It seems that children have a bit more freedom in determining what they want to learn and what direction they want to go. The teachers are seen as co-learners and are expected to encourage and direct a child based on their interests and goals rather than a preconceived idea of what the child needs to be learning. Group projects and relationship development is also highly valued. Children are also encouraged to to explore wide varieties of self expression as part of healthy mental and emotional development.

Still, it's somebody else encouraging you to learn what they think is most important. Yes, I know. I'm picky.

Sudbury and other democratic schools

It was in Sudbury that I found my educational heart. The original Sudbury Valley School was started in Framingham, MA, just outside of Boston in 1967. The school was begun by a group of parents who were not in agreement with what they were seeing in their children's schools. They had watched closely how their children grew and learned in their early years and felt schools were totally missing the mark. They decided that, instead of reform, they needed to scrap the whole deal and start over. In this process they found the Summerhill school and found a bit of inspiration there, though Sudbury is a bit different from Summerhill.

image.jpeg

Students do what they want. All day long. No staff member brings in a really neat educational tool or suggests to a child what they need to learn. In a new Sudbury school, supplies and equipment only come in at the request of students. Students are absolutely 100% responsible for their own learning. They decide what is important to them and what they need to do to get where they want to go. Staff are there to assist when they are asked to. And yet children aren't allowed to just do whatever they want. Using any equipment requires certification from a person approved to certify you. This means a five year old can't use the microwave or recording equipment or oven or kiln unless they can show someone with wisdom and knowledge of the equipment that they are prepared to use it responsibly. I point this out because I once heard an unschooler say she was letting her daughter destroy her laptop because she had shown an interest in computers. Um, I think that's, well, I can't afford that philosophy for one thing.

image.jpeg

The schools are also run as a direct democracy. Each student and staff member has exactly one vote. All matters of the school, including rules, are handled by the school meeting. There are no sacred cows. There is no staff override. There is also an internal judicial system that handles all rule violations. This, too, is run by students. Students of all ages I might add. Age mixing is another bit I love. I don't see downsides, but I'm sure others do. Kids learn to be responsible for themselves and their community. They learn to trust themselves and others. They have to be highly creative and develop phenomenal problem solving abilities simply by directing their own learning. They face boredom and learn what they are passionate about. They learn to resolve conflict. It's really brilliant.

image.jpeg

Homeschool Options

Homeschooling is always a wonderful option. Here you can decide together with your child what is best for your family. It allows a totally tailored experience. There are several different variations on homeschooling though.

Traditional Homeschooling

This is what most people think of when they think of homeschooling. Here a parent designs a curriculum (or uses an existing one) and assigns material to their children. The children complete their assignments, which may or may not go beyond traditional school subjects, and the parents grade them. The opportunity for parents to help their children one on one allows most kids to get done much faster than they would in a traditional school leaving more time for play or chores. This is a really helpful set up for kids who are just really struggling in the environment of school, usually because of learning differences or social anxiety.

As you probably guessed, in my opinion the downside is that children are not responsible for their own learning.

Unschooling

Unschooling is a lot like Sudbury but without other kids. There are a lot of variations within the community, though. There are some who limit screens or sugar or whatever the case may be, while there are others who allow full free reign like you see in a Sudbury school. Children are on their own to figure out what they need to know and how to find it out. Parents are largely there to assist. Often families come together to decide on activities and vacations, sometimes even the family budget.

image.jpeg

To me the only drawback is not having a lot of other minds around to bounce ideas off of. That's why I love Sudbury the best. Still, unschooling is a close second.

Worldschooling

Oddly enough, it was thinking about worldschooling that inspired me to write this post. I was thinking about the Worldschooling gathering we are having here in Belize next month, and I thought there are probably a lot of people on Steemit who would love to learn about worldschooling. Probably shouldn't have put it all the way at the bottom, huh? Well, congrats to those of you who read this far!!

Worldschooling is essentially families using travel as a large part of their children's education. It can unfold in a lot of different ways, but most people are homeschooling in one way or another. A few travel only on school breaks, but it is pretty limiting. Some people slow travel a portion of the year. Others are traveling full time and have no home base. They may stay in a place for a month or three and then head to the next spot. Traveling teaches so much. Children learn other languages and cultures. They learn history, politics, economics. They learn to be adaptable and to budget.

image.jpeg

Though this is honestly almost as appealing to me as Sudbury, the downside is the difficulty in building community, especially those who are constantly going. We plan to worldschool from our home base in Belize as soon as we have the funds to do it. I am pretty sure we will air bnb our place and travel for three or so months and then come home for a while. I like the idea of maintaining a home base. Now if we could have a Sudbury school here to come back to, that would be the best.

I hope this has allowed you to see that you do have options. Even if you don't agree with my positions or values, you can find a schooling situation that works for your family. I see so many children and parents suffering at the hands of a very broken system that does not support or benefit anyone.

I'm sure there are other options. Tell me about them. Tell me what sounds appealing. Ask me questions. Join the conversation.

Sort:  

I think you are really onto something and the natural schools has piqued my interest! I just had my family over for lunch. In the morning I introduced my niece to the farm animals for the first time and showed her how she can feed the chickens and sheep... she loved the interaction, touching the animals, watching them eat. Halfway through our lunch she was asking "Can we go outside? Can we go outside and feed the sheep? Pleaasee!?" I think it's pretty clear that kids love the natural world and find endless wonder in its life, interactions and beauty. I remember back to when I was a kid and longed to be outside during class time, staring out the window and wondering and imagining!

Absolutely. My kids have free reign to choose whatever they want to do, and that includes tablets or tv or whatever, but they far more often choose being outside playing. They love being in the sand, water, or woods.

You are a wonderful mother :)

I'm always open to flattery.

Great informative post @solarsupermama, you've covered it all, there are so many different alternatives like you said. For me mainstream education is just not an option.
My girls are all so different in how they play and learn, and they certainly don't need someone telling them how to do either. I see how capable they are everyday.
In my eyes it's me and my partner that need unschooling, to help us in being the best parents and stop us from trying to interfere with the girls learning.
oh I would love to be able to attend your worldschooling gathering, maybe one year x

So true. My kids are different learners too. And it's no doubt that we are the ones that need the unschooling. When we had the Sudbury school, I almost never met a kid under 12 that didn't intuitively understand the model. Always parents that couldn't figure it out. I think we will probably do it again next year, but you'd be welcome to visit any time. It's a beautiful corner of the earth!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50