You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are women who dress provocatively responsible for unwanted attention, or should men learn to control themselves? (Ecotrain QOTW)

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Hi @hopehuggs! Interesting topic!

This may be offensive to some, but I'm going to say it. No a woman is not necessarily asking for it if she were to walk down a dark alley in a miniskirt. That said, she shouldn't be told "just be who you are" without being warned about the dangers of putting herself in that situation. No amount of education is going to change this world into an entirely safe one. The fact and reality of the matter is that there will always be evil people, there will always be rapists in this world.

Women are often so ignorant of the nature of man. When I was a teen, my mom actually encouraged dressing what I would think of now as provocative clothing. Midriffs and short shorts, ect. She would tell me how cute I was and I was so naive. I really thought people would like me for me, but always noticed men looking. Fast forward years later. My husband was frank and honest with me about how men operate. For most men, a sexy woman in their sight will pull at their gaze and they will also fantasize about having sex with her. There's a reason it's always the father who says to his daughter, "You're not going out that way, go back and change!" when the mother thinks it's fine.

Not all men will have the morality, respect, intelligence, or inhibition to refrain from acting on their impulses. Especially while walking the bar district at 3 am.

Sort:  

I had a phase of testing fate in university, stupid, but luckily didn't come to any harm, maybe I had had my quota of 'bad' people in my life up to that point already. I don't recall wearing provocative clothes too often, mind you I was really skinny with no boobs or ass to show off really anyway, they came after I had children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43