Sort:  

We all stand on the shoulders of giants. You were lucky to have such a father. Critical thinking is so crucial and not taught at all in schools.

I began designing things when I was in grade school. He always treated the designs seriously, and shredded my designs like I was a degreed engineer! All I had to do was to out think the smartest MAN I had ever known, at ten years old! THAT WILL TEACH YOU TO THINK! I worked on a wrench, that I thought was the greatest thing since sliced bread. When I fixed all the problems, and I had a perfect wrench! I was so proud, until I was handed the identical wrench that had been in use for a century! But I had learned so very much from that process!

I make my living now, by out-thinking the in house Engineering, and solving problems they can't. MY Father Gave me this! :D

It's a wonderful thing to have a parent who pushes. That's the dads job! Encouragement and belief in our true abilities does great things for us.

He always believed in me, but he never cut me any slack! It always had to be exactly right. Again, it made me Think!

It was hard at first, because I didn't understand; later I understood the treasure he gave to me!
:D

That's old school! I think a balance is good. Gentle and encouraging but also firm and honest. That's what I'm shooting for. I don't understand people sugar coating everything.

He was always accurate, and always told the truth! Sometimes that was hard to hear; but it anchored me like nothing else ever could. I always knew that what he told me exactly true, and I was always able to build on that.

I could always depend on his honest opinion, and there was nothing I valued more!
:)

I think that's so incredibly important. I try hard to not give my kids inauthentic "yes's." Honesty is so valuable and good to learn early.

That's good, you will become their anchor! That bond will carry them through teenage years when they are crawling out of their skins, and give you some level of input in that critical time.

Hang in there!

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45