🌲🌱🌿 Please Help Identify These 3 Plants ☘🌱🌲

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I am used to looking things up on my own... but three plants are giving me a hard time!

20181029_155134.jpg

I've not mowed this one down because I want to know what it is, and something tells me I shouldn't get rid of it.

Steem line 2.png

There's an are in Dreamland Express (formally known as No Man's Land Extravaganza), that reminds me of Provence. The dryness of the ground with it's sediment rock formation that chips away under your feet, mixed with clay and a certain fragrance in the air, really bring me back to that part of France.

There really is something, a smell that I couldn't identify until finally one day when I kneeled down to check for rain damage of some boxes that were under a tarp. When I lifted the tarp, a kind of heavy frustration took me over. All that stuff was drenched...! I don't know if it was my laziness or my scatterbraine but I know that I have too many projects going at once and that my boxes I thought were protected aparently were not. Maybe it was karma, I used an old stolen tarp 😞.

Don't tell me you were a saint all your life!

Yes, I was panicked and frustrated but that fragrance was there in my face and I knew it was near... Maybe there was a chance to finally find what it came from. I reached down grabbed a handfull of grass and EUREKA, there it was, that wonderful sweet smell from Provence.

After a year or so, I finally found it...I can't believe it!

20180920_164052.jpg

20180920_163751.jpg

20180920_163643.jpg

Now, I'd like to know what it is... I haven't found anyone amongst our friends who've been able to pin point this herb.

I was thinking Marjoram. It smells very strong of winter fresh mint with a hint of lemon/lime and oregano. I don't think it's mint at all, it's much more pepper like.

Can you identify this awesome little pant?

I thought I was pretty good at investigating... well not this time!

Steem line 2.png

Here are two other plants I would appreciate your help with:

  • There's this lettuce looking thing from the top of this post:

20180920_164535.jpg

20181029_205029.jpg

20180920_164505.jpg

So what do you think, is it salad worthy?

  • And then there's this interesting berry tree I cannot figure out either:

20180829_080835.jpg

20180829_080824.jpg

20181029_210704.jpg

The flesh of these berries is dark purple. Do you notice the way they're clustered too? I cannot rememebr if they had one small pit or a few tiny seeds.

That's it for now, I have a few stems of what I think is marjoram, dryed it smells really strong too. I'm sure some of you have seen these plabts and will be able to help identify them.

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @Flemingfarm
If you don't like your surroundings, change them
If you don't like your situation, change it.
If you don't like your decisions, make different ones.
All of this leads to the life that YOU want to lead, not the one others want you to lead.

Life is like chess, always try and think at least 5 moves ahead, and if you can see the dead ends you can avoid them.

(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please let me know)

Join Us On Discord

And don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

I'm really bad with plant identification but I think that tree is buckthorn. Hopefully those wiser than me will chime in :)

Thanks Steven, I'll look into that buckthorn.

I think you're right, the leaves look the same, the berries too. I still have to find out what it's good for!

Thanks again

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

MMMM ! COULD that first one be Agave? mmm maybe not actually BUT i thing its good to eat yes! It reminds me a bit of dandelion..

have you tried any of these apps that identify plants? there are a few good free ones.. they dont always get it right but they are gettin good!

Thanks, that reminds me I should have put my region at least in that post to help identify!

I haven't tried any of the apps yet, just a field guide for the area and the internet.

Thanks

okay yeah that does help!
defo try an app or two.. u will be surprised! they give you a few choices to look at and nearly always get it !

Will do soon... I had to make room in the old phone before downloading anything.

Thanks

From your description of the scent of the first one I'd have to agree it's some kind of marjoram/oregano variety. The leaves are more long and pointed than garden marjoram (which are softly curved), and the flowers also aren't quite right. Ditto for oregano, the flowers grow in clusters at the tips of the stems. But you describe the fragrance perfectly. There are so many varieties to start with and it doesn't always grow true from seed, so you might have your own special variety!

The second plant, if it grew in my garden it would go in the weed pile! Have you checked to see if a broken leaf or stem has a milky fluid? If so I'd vote 'not edible'.

That's what I'm understanding, there are quite a lot of different oregano/marjoram varieties... that fragrance though is so strong! Thanks for your input.

The weed for the weed pile... I'll still try to find out what it is mayne I can ramdomly see Susun Weeds talk about it in one of here videos one day!

I don't remember it having any milky liquid in the stem or anything.

Thanks 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.66
ETH 2400.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58