You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ecotrain QOTW: If 50% of the defense budgets of the 10 biggest nations was given to philanthropic causes, would we see more or less war and violence in the world?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

US invading places for oil, historical wars within nations that are never-ending, power-based wars, greedy politicians/corporations warring under the guise of something else or merciless dictators.

How poorly we see the US Government for their supposed humanitarian intervention in Syria last month. Yet there are such wonderful people there too. Why is it there are the wrong people in charge? Would education turn that around or does being a leader necessate the potential to exercise military might?

I didn't know that about the Mennonites and find that fascinating. What was the work camp about and how did the public see this 'avoidance ' of military duty? I agree religion can support values that can progress humanity, although we have seen, historically, the opposite. Even Buddhist based faiths have had their moments, but certainly the practice of understanding the self as a conditioned being is key. I'm reluctant to say that religion is shit because it causes war blah blah blah. It's not the religion that does it, its the men who warp it.

Great answer to the question, @mountainjewel ... Ini for POTUS! Xxx

Sort:  

why are the wrong people in charge?

I had to laugh, even though this is really sad and dire. I suppose it's part of the bigger picture of evolution and learning we humans are progressing through.

As for the camps I think he took part in some logging work, and I can't say how it was received, my grandfather passed when I was 4. As for the religious hipocracies I feel it more the institutions rather than values that drive the negative side of Things. But gosh, you'd think we would have learned after the crusaded and inquisition and such ...

it's the men who warp it

Not much to add there other than sadly it's true. Thanks for engaging and it's great to hear from you on this @riverflows.

P.s. I'm not even a citizen of the USA, so no political career for me ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62409.07
ETH 2444.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62