You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Entry to the Alternative Consumer Challenge: Hard Lotion Bars and Lip Balms

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I haven't done it in cardboard before, I would think that would leak and/or absorb the oils, unless they are waxed or something, maybe?

Sort:  

Yes, it is tricky! Contents have to be thick enough. I will have to make some and post! The cardboard does have some type of coating on the inside.

It's very hot liquid when you pour it in. If you can pour in hot oil or hot wax, it should be OK. :)

Hmmm, And if possible, let it cool just a bit before pouring into the cardboard. Much rather go to the trouble than use plastic! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

It cools and hardens very quickly, is the issue. It will be unpourable if you let it cool. I don't use plastic, either, except for when I had a soap mold which was reuseable and meant for that heat - a silicone cupcake mold and paper cupcake liners in a muffin tin were some other options.
So the cardboard might work if it has that liner bit on it, as the muffin tin with paper liners did.

OK! I may need to use the cardboard tubes for something else, but I’m definitely going to try your recipe. I’m determined to get my plastic use to a minimum!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56