Wild Face | Encountering My Instinctual Self

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

There are many practices that can stimulate our reconnection to the instinctual self. Anything that involves us with the natural world- like digging in the dirt, walking in the woods, learning ancestral skills, eating food we've foraged or grown, and hanging out with the undomesticated animals- can mirror for us how to get back to our own animal bodies.
~ Belonging by Toko-pa Turner

DSC_0451.JPG

Wild Face

When we first moved to the land, I spent countless hours down by "the caves", a set of holes in a large stone outcropping directly above the creek.

DSC_0430.JPG

Lured by the melodic and calming sound of rushing water and the ever-present animal trails, I would sit, walk with head bent toward the earth, peer into my surroundings to discover.

DSC_0452.JPG

Winter hit and my experience exponentially grew. The presence of snow gave me a context for the animals that were creating the trail. I followed their tracks to their dens, to the waterfront, up trees, to surprising places. I've sat for hours and never seen any of these animals in person, but that's not (totally) what it's about.

DSC_0423.JPG

Observation

When I was in college, I had a friend who taught me many of these skills. By many they're grouped under the heading rewilding.

Living in a large college town, we would drive to the north side, park at a golf course and walk past the green into the real green, the large forest stands that still existed within the town. This shows that you can basically practice this anywhere.

We would sit, maybe eat some cheese, nuts, or dried fruit and be quiet. He had chosen a spot atop a hill overlooking a valley. Often we would be surrounded by trees, sheltered from sight. The first step was to just sit and be as quiet and still as possible.

An interesting thing happened then. When we first entered the forest, all of the wildlife, birds mostly and squirrels, would sound alarm. The ruckus is noticeable if you listen for it. All of the birds would send their alert cries, loud raucous alarms waking the forest up. Squirrels would bark and chirp loudly. We'd sit down and after 20-30 minutes this sound would dissipate, until not only were the alarms not going off, but the birds and squirrels and other creatures resumed their activity.

DSC_0418.JPG

Witness

At this point, the forest started to open up to us. The longer we sat, the more seemingly alive it became. We witnessed animals resuming their normal behaviors. Birds' chirps took on different sounds. They flew, not in alarm, but as a part of their daily activities. A skunk or possum would wobble by or the squirrels would scamper in front of us without so much as giving us a thought.

It was in those sessions that I understood my Wild Face. The face that one takes on when they're alone and quiet in the forest. So often we have "faces" for other humans, for walking down the street, for greeting others, etc. In the wild, when not focused on ourselves or our importance, we are given the opportunity to drop all of these faces and be present.

DSC_0425.JPG

Jaw with teeth found in front of a cave opening

Presence

This experience is not really about ourselves at all, and this is why I love it so much.

In fact, It's very easy to forget yourself while practicing this. I see this as a good thing, especially for a species that is so self-centered to be verging on the worst type of narcissism, the type that threatens to destroy everything that is not it. We're naturally human focused when in cities, in the classroom, around our families, etc. Extending my presence, observation and witness to myself as a part of a larger picture is not only humbling in the best way, but it places me in the true order of things, wherein I am just one of many species here on the earth.

It no longer matters which species is best, but that we're all here, living our lives with varying intelligences, skills and habitats. I begin to value and notice more of these species. And I find this has an interesting effect.

DSC_0478.JPG

Redbuds

Gratitude

Tracking and observing the animals and their habitats on the western edge of my land, by the rivers and near the caves has given me the perspective that:

All of these creatures are always living their lives. We can think about them as a backdrop to human life, but truly we're sharing the space with them. Barring our total destruction of their habitats or killing them all off, they'll be here with us, as they always have been. When I open my mind to include them in my life, I realize that our lives are parallel, connected even and intertwined.

I feel gratitude and awe that these creatures live their lives "on my land" or on the land that I caretake. Many of these creatures have lived here (their species generations long) way longer than I have. Hence, it's not truly my land, but I've stepped here too into their world.

DSC_0445.JPG

Wilderness Habit

These skills and patterns of observation make me a better human.

They allow me drop my face and have my natural Wild Face. They take me out of my insulated life and give me a glimpse into the larger life of the forest and the animals living all around me, around each of us in fact. As I am in the habit of being around them each season, I learn more about them. Spring turns into Summer, Fall into Winter and they, like us, collect the abundance of summer for the winter months. In spring, some animals even partake in the use of herbs, like bears, in order to clean out their digestion and boost immunity. Squirrels store nuts like we do. The list goes on.

All of this allows me to feel more like myself and get in touch with my instinctual self. It feels like home to me in a way I've always longed for. In a world with so many domesticated species, and when so many humans are severely domesticated and under the spell of anthropomorphism, spending time in the wilds of nature (whether a thousand acre wilderness area or 3 acre plot behind tucked on the edge of a city) increasingly becomes a necessity. I will leave you with a poem.

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
For a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about your despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting —
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.

Mary Oliver, Wild Geese

DSC_0449.JPG

Each of these photos was taken today while wearing my Wild Face.

ecotrain.png

This post was written by a passenger on the #ecotrain. Check the tag often for more enlightening and thought-provoking posts about living gently on the earth, among other things.

DQmV7M5mjzei82DoHnQK7yPibNV9X32vJ4RxmH24EvFJ4Cc.jpeg

DQmT3xjHwdKfTo7W9b7fFn7sagmnNimPBpySHuJiXU8pgVu_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

This is a beaitiful, gentle, thoughtful article..we are returning from a week in the bush where we both feel we have been dipped in holy waters, that our souls are re-natured now, and the term wild face is perfect. To sit by a stream, quiet... where a dragonfly lands on your knee, where a black rabbit bounds from sunburnt grasses, where a wallaby will walk up, curious, with her baby as if to say: i see your wildness! Is just the best gift...20180405_175014.jpg

truly it is the best gift! you certainly understand!

where we both feel we have been dipped in holy waters, that our souls are re-natured now, and the term wild face is perfect.

this is so beautiful and i can resonate with that feeling. it reminds me of a time hiking just outside of los angeles in the mountains and finding the pure clear stream. it was such a rejuvenating and stark contrast to the city below. it restored my soul. thanks for stopping by :)

You are welcome. My husband and I think that we will now say to each other 'lets get our wild faces on' .... 🖤😉

haha ! love it!!!

Wow, you brought back another good memory that had lost its way into my brain. Over where I use to live about 20 years ago, we had a little park next to our apartment. While Kevin was in school, I'd walk over to this one special place just at the edge of the forest, sit just inside the edge past the carefully cut park grass and into the "wild" land.

From there, I could tune out all the sounds that go along with city life and as you said, the animals would start coming out of their homes and going about their business as if I wasn't there.

I had squirrels and rabbits that would walk up in front of me, have a seat and carry on a conversation with me. I never understood their language but it seemed they understood mine.

Occasionally I'd see a fox walking 50 yards or so back in the woods. He would stop, look my way then turn and walk on as if he knew he had nothing to worry about with me.

Thank you again for speaking to my inner self. Occasionally everyone says some little something that gets another memory to rise up. But, you tend to bring the whole memory flooding back. (It's a very good experience for me). So much of it is things I thought PTSD had locked away forever

i'm so happy this revived such a beautiful memory that had hitherto been lost. that's fantastic! i love your memory of those times sitting on the edge of the forest. so special; so connected. thanks for stopping by @fernowl13.

Re-wilding. Yes. So much resonance and clarity here. Reconnecting with our true nature, as it reflects and interfaces with Mother Earth. Beautiful post. Thought provoking. Grateful for your contribution.

<3 <3 yes thank you.

Really appreciate this article. I have found myself wanting to learn what wild face means for me. Camping, gardening, and life outdoors have become increasingly appealing for me.

Exicted about the opportunities but sad that it has taken me so many years to get to this point.

i hear you <3 i'm thrilled you're attending that inner call, no matter how long it's taken you!

It's amazing how long it takes to re-train our brains. As much as this article calls to me, I still find myself fearful of going out in the woods with my kids if I'm the only adult. Crazy, isn't it? I mean, statistically speaking, I know we're safer out here than we were in town and if it was just me, I would roam freely, but being responsible for these little humans, triggers the fear in me! I'm working on it though and I absolutely do love where we live. How many places do you have deer, moose, cougar, bear, wolf and more right outside your door? But, I also have a very healthy respect for animals that are more powerful than I, especially being a parent.

I believe fears can be passed down along generations and mine feels ancient and deep. I hope that by being aware and working on it I can give my children a different experience and a different outlook than what I grew up with.

Thanks for the beautiful photos!

ah thanks for your meaningful and transparent reflection. i've encountered this fear many times in my life too and even moreso had people who are afraid for me.

I believe fears can be passed down along generations and mine feels ancient and deep.

I believe you're spot on. Especially as women we're taught (and with good reason) that our bodies aren't always safe in these spaces, and especially in the woods, the place of so much that is unknown, it can trigger this. i have no experience having children of my own in the woods, but i have been a camp counselor and trip leader and i know that brings a different level of alertness.

when i was in my early 20s, i was tired of having the ancestral and familiar voices dominate my experience of movement and freedom and i undertook a spirit journey as i called it. going on trust and really testing what it is like for a human in a woman's body to go forth into the world on her own, hitchhiking, camping and so forth. i did meet some weirdos, but less often than i had awesome synchronistic experiences. blessings to you strong mama as you unfold and uncover and heal these ancestral fears. it's a big task for anyone willing to face them, but what a gift to your kids and generations hence!!! xoxo

This is beautiful, I love when you said "wherever you are" I think that is key. Not all can be as fortunate to have the beautiful nature as close as you have, but we all can have our wild face. Truly, insightful post. Thank you!

yes, wherever you are for sure. i learned that walking behind your house in the loop. i saw many things there and still felt connected many a time! :) you're also blessed to be so close to some truly amazing wild areas!! <3 love you

Ahhh...
I ♥ this post. :)

ahhh :) thanks !! <3

Reading this makes me all excited to go back into nature... It really triggers my adrenaline and the animal side (especially when i'm alone). There is something about nature that really humbles us, but also makes us feel invincible and free.

yes exactly!

There is something about nature that really humbles us, but also makes us feel invincible and free.

<3 excited for you to get back into nature too :D

Very good post about connecting... Ahhh... so so good!!!! Can't wait to get to the woods!

thank you dear. <3 <3 <3

Beautiful land, love the description of finding your "wild face." That poem is one my daughter sent me when she and I were having serious problems, it is one of my favorites.

<3 thanks for your appreciation. It’s one of my favorite poems too; reaches right into the core of things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31