We're Back from the Silence!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemy folks! As you know, we left earlier in December and headed to Texas to spend 10 days in silence at a Vipassana Meditation retreat. We are home now and spending time with a dear friend and it's been interesting getting back into the blogosphere!

Vipassana meditation technique is all about observing sensations, purifying the mind, remaining equanimous and being steeped in this technology each day totally wiped my brain free of my Steem habit! In 2018 I only missed a couple days of posting (and one of them was because Steemit.com wasn't working!).

F42DDC17514348B19246D6F9A02ADF13.jpeg

I've been thinking of what I wanted to share with you all about my time, but first I will just say this: if you're curious,

Try Vipassana :)


I am a person who has done a lot of exploring of different meditation techniques, stretching my mind and capacity experimenting with difficult situations whether adventure, fasting, spiritual activities, homesteading, etc and Vipassana is by far the most powerful technology I have found to purify the mind, getting it to a happier, more rested and peaceful state.

dhamma.org

Vipassana, which means to see things as they really are, is one of India's most ancient techniques of meditation. It was rediscovered by Gotama Buddha more than 2500 years ago and was taught by him as a universal remedy for universal ills, i.e., an Art Of Living. This non-sectarian technique aims for the total eradication of mental impurities and the resultant highest happiness of full liberation.

Vipassana is a way of self-transformation through self-observation. It focuses on the deep interconnection between mind and body, which can be experienced directly by disciplined attention to the physical sensations that form the life of the body, and that continuously interconnect and condition the life of the mind. It is this observation-based, self-exploratory journey to the common root of mind and body that dissolves mental impurity, resulting in a balanced mind full of love and compassion.

The scientific laws that operate one's thoughts, feelings, judgements and sensations become clear. Through direct experience, the nature of how one grows or regresses, how one produces suffering or frees oneself from suffering is understood. Life becomes characterized by increased awareness, non-delusion, self-control and peace.

(Read more at their About page)


I come back renewed and, as @porters wished us, a deeper insight into ourselves, gained after peeling back many layers.

I'm sure I'll write more about the experience as time goes on, yet for now I just wanted to "break the silence", say a hearty hello and let you know we're back online!

Blessings y'all! Don't be a stranger, stop by and say hello <3

Sort:  

Peeling back the layers is never easy, but it's good work and so rejuvenating. Welcome back, I can't wait to hear about your experience.
There is a vipassana center 30 min from my house, maybe I should check it out. I've done lots of peeling but it never hurts to try something new!

Xx ToL

Oh wow @thetreeoflife! You have a center only 30 min. away!
It could be wonderful connection for you to take a course then it could be a place to return to for group sittings etc. I find there is a real boost in energy when people are meditating together.

Yah I think I'll be checking it out! It's way out in the country, I happened to drive past it coming home from a job. I never would have known it existed otherwise. Haha funny how that happens.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep! Funny how it works, you are probably destined to come to the teachings and discover Vipassana!

yes! i really loved it. difficult as all get out, but so much lighter now and this technique really works for me! thankful to have found it. :)

I'm so happy you gained more insights and came back refreshed! Great way to start the New Year!

Happy to see you back, I really value your posts here but would never want it to distract from that most important spiritual growth!

I just heard a good description of Vipassana -

Being aware of the life continuum and flow of consciousness.

That gave me a very clear image of what I am trying to achieve in my meditation.

Wishing you Peace and Happiness for the New Year!

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.882 which ranks you at #1223 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 1228).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Welcome back friends!

Sounds like you had a great experience! I have found that I enjoy introspection quite immensely and find it easier through fasting and certain strains of cannabis. Controlling one's thoughts is crucial to visualization of goals and dreams. I also use Lion's Mane mushroom everyday in teas or drinks to stimulate the brain further expanding the ability to self observe the mind and train it.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

So glad you had such a positive experience at the meditation retreat. Can't wait to spend time with you and hearing more about It! love you! oxox

Well goddamn.. I've been burning leaves at dawn and singing to Her Grace in the Eastern Sky... Now you're gonna tell me there's a goddamn Earth Root to be easily found...

Just... just post more videos of your stag shooting arrows or something.. #startssquirrelingawaymoneyandfindinglocalvendors... #goddamnhippies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78