You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you think it a good or bad idea to bring children into this world in these troubled times?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Solution is simple.... but still very challenging.

Please don't get me wrong: I love your response. Agree with it too....

But that's why I'm going to go contrarian on this, mores to challenge my own thinking too....

What do we mean by "parent them right"?

That's where we start to get into some dicey territory. Who determines what is the 'right' way of parenting? I teach my daughter about living in a way to minimise waste, not to pollute the planet, accept ethnic/cultural/racial/religious difference, accept different sexual-preferences and gender norms, etc... and yet there are people who would say I am "brainwashing" my child with "greenie-leftist-cultural-marxist-postmodernist agenda".

I may disagree with their point of view, but I'm still 'conditioning' her to think a certain way is 'normal', and that views different to that are not. Now the thing is, I'm not explicitly teaching her these things, but she is modelling them based on how I choose to live my life.

If those people who disagreed with my perspectives were holding government positions, they might use the laws to take my child away, or even lock me up....

So yeah, maybe modelling kindness, compassion, tolerance, etc is 'good' thing.... but what about those parents who are maybe finding it really really hard to cope...? Who are too stressed, over-tired, etc to feel compassion for anyone else because they're living day-to-day in survival mode? I actually see this a lot with my work.... and what they're modelling to their kids isn't necessarily great... but they're doing the best they can with what they have.

These are reasons, not excuses.

And yet, I can see that they adore their kids, in those moments where love shines through. But those moments can be few and far between. Who am I to judge on how they're parenting? Just like I would hope no-one judged me on my parenting.

Just some thoughts........ 😊🙏🏽☯️

Sort:  

wow I never thought this way, maybe because I don't have children yet.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts so genuinely with me, It has impacted the way I think about this matter.

🙏👍👍😊 agree

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87