You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Breed or Not to Breed...Ecotrain QOTW

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Its actually incredible that we have the freedom to elect not to parent children; for most of human history they've been the most reliable way to save for retirement.
A barren woman was considered a waste of resources; and each generation cared for their parents right up until death, to set an example for their own children to follow.
We're at the tail end of the world's longest running pyramid scheme.

Yet maybe the very people who have enough concern to question whether they should bring children into this world are the ones who are best suited to raising a child with an awareness of the harm we are capable of.

So true. If the idea of parenting doesn't scare you, you're probably going to suck at it.

So why did I choose to have kids? Its an excellent question.
My best answer is that they've always existed.
I couldn't picture their faces and I didn't know their names; but they've always been there.
I had them because I missed them and wanted to meet them.

Sort:  

That's a beautiful reason to have kids. It was never going to not happen.

If the idea of parenting doesn't scare you, you're probably going to suck at it.

Someone recently said something similar when I was sharing some teen daughter problems. She said, "if you don't feel guilty you're not parenting right." I'm getting some new perspectives.

That looks like a good book. I think secretly everyone likes farts. They're one of the funniest body functions going!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the author, Zoe Blake is Hamish Blake's wife; funny guy on the radio.
Kids love all that gross-out stuff at the moment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88