Planting by the MoonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Veg types.jpg

Planting by the moon is a practice that’s been around for many many moons; not just in folklore but also in agriculture and that’s what I’d like to share with you today.
Of course this does not mean a romantic planting session by moonlight, LOL; lunar planting entails planting different crops during the four phases and various astrological signs of the moon.
20190620_210555.jpg

I can hear some of you think that this old gal here has gone totally loony or maybe been affected by the full moon like some people are said to be; but this is a practice that really works – plants grow stronger therefore more resistant to pests and other diseases plus the crop is more abundant and healthier.
I can personally attest to this as we used this method when we first moved into our home many many moons ago; but when I became a working mom the veggie garden sadly took a backseat.

Later on as our suburb became more built-up, monkeys became a problem as their territory was being invaded by humans, so they started venturing into the same humans’ gardens. Of course nothing frightens them; we’ve tried rubber snakes and scarecrows but they’re way too shrewd for that!
20190916_142110.jpg

Nowadays I have a small herb garden and grow a few veggies like kale, spinach, lettuce, leeks etc, as the monkeys are not interested in those.

HOW DOES LUNAR PLANTING WORK
We all know that the earth’s gravitational field is influenced by the sun as well as the moon – tides are highest during new or full moon when the sun and moon are lined up with the earth.
As tides rise because of the pull of the moon, just so does moisture rise in the earth, encouraging growth.
20190620_210555.jpg

New moon is the best time to plant aboveground annual crops that produce their seeds outside the fruit like Lettuce, Spinach, Celery, Cabbage, Kale and Grain.
During this phase of the moon, lunar gravity pulls water up which causes the seeds to swell plus the added factor of increased moonlight creates balanced root and leaf growth.
IMG_20180416_125515.jpg

During the second quarter, just before full moon also is a good time for planting aboveground annual crops but those whose seeds form inside the fruit like beans, melons, peppers, tomatoes etc. This is the time to get the benefits of peak moisture plus the strong moonlight promotes healthy leaf growth.
20190924_154331.jpg

The third and fourth quarters are just after full moon when the light is waning. Gravitational pull is high and creates more moisture in the soil.
This is the best time to plant root crops like beets, carrots, onions etc. and also bulbs and perennials.
20190923_115017.jpg
Seed Potatoes ready for planting

The fourth quarter is considered a resting period because of the decreased moonlight and gravitational pull – harvest, prune, fertilize and transplant as well as mow the lawn during this period to retard growth.
IMG_20190406_085539.jpg

Astrological Moon signs of which there are four types – earth, air, fire and water, also play a big part.
According to ancient folklore each sign confers certain growing conditions - earth signs correspond to root, water signs to leaf growth, fire signs to seed and fruit production and air signs to flowers.
Lunar gardening calendars are available from various online stores; a really nice perpetual one can be ordered from The Micro Gardener

Moon-calendar_micro gardener.jpg

Hubby is busy laying out a new veggie garden and will be installing monkey proof protection for the aboveground crops, so we’re really looking forward to harvesting our own veggies again and being able to share it with friends and neighbours.
IMG_20190331_113441.jpg

Refer to Gardening by the moon, for further information.

FoodFightFridayLiz.gif
Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

I certainly hope you are able to have a garden. I hadn't thought about monkeys invading but I'm sure they will eat just about any veggie or fruit they can get their hands on, lol Love it, and you're right, the moon and sun do set our seasonal plantings!

Well the beans and peas have popped out of the ground so the monkey protection will have to be put up very soon;) Thanks for popping by my friend!

Moon planting is a skill an a lifestyle really - something that every eco-community would benefit from understanding. But why stop with planting? I like the idea of LIVING in harmony with the moon's cycles. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Thank you so very much, really appreciate this!
It would make such a difference if more communities could adopt this way of planting; number one there would be no need for pesticides and there would be more food as well!
Good suggestion about living in harmony with the moon's cycles; women's monthly cycles are also affected by the phases of the moon; bread baking and beer brewing is better during certain phases! We really have such a lot to learn!

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Thank you for presenting this in such an easy to understand way. I’ve featured your post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you so much for the curation @minismallholding & @homesteaderscoop for the feature as well, really appreciate it:)

Posted using Partiko Android

You're most welcome and very much deserve it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I found this such an interesting read for two reasons, one I am affected by the full Moon, not so bad as I get older but when I was younger it really affected my mood and behavior a lot, and secondly because my Dad way back since i was small would always plan his planting of things in his garden ont he phase of the moon

Your dad was a wise man! There are many other things that are affected by the moon; of course the sea tides, women's monthly phases, breadmaking and beer brewing is best when the moon is waxing. It's quite a science in itself, I find it really interesting, glad you're not affected as much nowadays!
Thanks for commenting!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh yes he was and he was so proud of his garden :)

Its funny some months it affects me more than others but still milder than when I was young, I was actually in the early years of schooled allowed or requested I stay home from school on the day of a full MOon and the day after, I guess i was a lot of trouble those days LOL

LOL so I wonder what your Mom wrote in the absent note? 'Little Jay had moon sickness so could not attend school yesterday.'
You gave me a good chuckle with that😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats the cool thing no need for an absence note since it was the school's idea :)

Now you've got me really LOL:):)

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed it while it lasted a pty they didnt do the same for highschool

Go Dad! Thats so cool! And yeah me too... we all are affected by the moon, just some know it and some dont..

Yeah he was so proud of his garden and it always did so well, I never inherited the green thumb from him :)

Oh, my! I must say that I was totally intrigued by this!! My mom and dad were always about the moon for different things in life, but, I guess I didn't realize the gravitational pull was so strong.

And then I think about tides.

Brilliant write, my friend! I am always learning new things from you!! Thank you!

!tip.20

I think the older generation...says she who is considered a such by her junior peers;);)... but really, they were wiser than we would like to admit!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this, thank you for your lovely comments Denise:)

I truly did and didn't get to comment as fully as liked, but, just know that you always bring such interesting things and facts to the table with you!

Thanks again!

PS... As an aside, your upvote on my comment is certainly appreciated, however, they have changed how they count it and comments are no longer smart to do. If it not at least $0.03, it turns to dust and swept away to the rewards pool.

So you are losing steem power by upping the comments and who can afford that? Better off a great comment! xoxo Thanks!

Oh I have always WANTED to doit, but Im too impatient.. if i have things to plant, I want to do it NOW. BUT ... I truly believe its the way to go.

Your monkeys dont like kale?? Tsk. Not hipster monkeys then!

I'm just as impatient, if something is on my to-do list I want it done like yesterday;) ...but it's worthwhile waiting with this, no nasty little pests as the plants grow good and strong!
They pulled out a smallish Kale yesterday believe it or not, so they've now discovered that:):)

I have not read anything this informative on the subject. Thank you, It's a keeper!

I remember talking with someone in their 20's about moon phases, ways to work with them and how they can influence a person. He thought that lunar influence over anything can be nothing but fantasy.

Others accept a relationship between moon and tide but rather than explore further implications, it seems that most stop with whatever second hand knowledge is within close reach.

So if anyone thinks you're loony for understanding relationships within nat.. / the original environment, then we all need to be working to break industry dominance over education & commercial influences that shape (limit) our beliefs and possibilities before understandings like this, which may have taken generations to develop are colored dark, or lost altogether.

Thank you so very much for the meaningful feedback @dougbudlong, you're absolutely right about how our beliefs become limited by modern society! We need to keep our minds open, I also believe there's a lot we can learn from the older generation as I've often come to realize that many of the old practices actually works.

I definitely don't think you are loony! But then again I'm quite looney myself so who knows! Bahaha! I talk to my plants because I truly believe they can hear me and feel my energy. I definitely believe that planting by the lunar phases has an extraordinary effect on the plants. It's no different than the concept that our own human energy levels and moods are affected by the moon. If it affects us, what makes anyone think it doesn't affect ALL living things...to include plants?? It's why Native American's use(d) this concept as well. I need to remember to set reminders and put more of a focus on it. I did get myself a lunar garden calendar that gives ideas of what to plant when which is totally helpful. What I need to focus on is lining my life up to this concept. I've upvoted this and am going to share the link on our Facebook page. I love this info! Side note...do you mind me asking where you live that monkeys roam about? They're cute! I'm sure you're thinking, yeah, cute until they destroy your garden. Yes, I know, my ignorance is bliss. But we don't have monkeys here and I do think they are adorable. tehehe.

Ah what a lovely response and I'm also going to be taking note of the moon phases and my own activities! I know from baking that some days things turn out wonderfully well and at other times not so good and that is using the exact same recipe;)
I live in South Africa and yes, although they can be a nuisance as far as veggies and fruit, the monkeys really are cute and give us endless giggles :):)
Thanks for stopping by!

Hello, @lizelle! Thank you for sharing these awesome photos of your farm produce.

Want to earn more on your quality article? You're welcome to post your DIY/How-to articles via Build-it?

Build-it is a new tribe on the steem blockchain that serves as a central hub for DIY and How-to's contents on steemit. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY artcle are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. You'll get rewarded with BUILD tokens, which can also be exchanged for steem on steem-engine when you use any of the recommended tags as well as posting via our website.

Have a question? Join us on Discord and telegram

This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, vote for us as a witness on the steem blockchain.

Thank you will definitely check it out:)

Posted using Partiko Android

@lizelle Yes, many people will say that this is crazy, but we are sure that it works... Not only the sowing, but also the harvest.
In my country people who make wooden musical instruments, are careful to cut the wood at the right time so as not to harm the rest of the plant, on the contrary improves its growth if you take only a part at the right time, likewise if they plant the tree again to always have that generous cycle of nature.
Thank you for your publication, it is beautiful.

That is wonderful, your people are wiser than many others then! Thank you for your feedback, I really appreciate it:)

Posted using Partiko Android

It is an honor to read your publications and leave a comment, always give a lot of encouragement to continue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52