“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #19 - Mediterranean Veggie Bagel Sandwich

in #ecotrain6 years ago

This week has been very rough for me so I decided to treat myself by going out to lunch and enjoying a tasty Mediterranean Veggie Bagel Sandwich and Wild Strawberry Smoothie from Big Apple Bagels!

It was absolutely delicious and really refreshing to get out of the house for something as simple as a bite to eat, but I would like to be able to make my own version of this sandwich in the future!

Ingredients:

  • Bagel (Asiago chesse)
  • Cream cheese (Onion & chive)
  • Fresh green pepper
  • Fresh tomato
  • Fresh cucumber
  • Fresh onion
  • Fresh lettuce

Instructions:

  1. Toast your choice of flavored bagel and spread desired amount of cream cheese on interior.
  2. Slice green pepper, tomato, cucumber, and onion thinly.
  3. Place your sliced produce on your sandwich and enjoy!

I would really recommend choosing a flavored bagel. I had an asiago cheese toasted bagel and the cheese added a savory and warm flavor. I also chose a flavored cream cheese with onion & chive and I don’t think it would be very hard to make your own version either!

The best part is that you can grow most of the produce on your homestead! In fact, my father is planting many of these vegetables in his backyard garden this year so maybe I will have to give them a taste test when they’re ready!


Click here to see my previous healthy recipe - Whole Wheat Waffles with Maple-Berry Syrup!

Photo by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

ohhh, that strawberry smoothie looks amazing, made my mouth water! If your dad is growing most of those veggies...you'll just have to make the bagels! I hope you're feeling better dear..be well. Good to see you're being good yourself today.

The smoothie was divine! And I will certainly try to make my own bagels one of these days (and make a post about it of course)! Thank you, it'll be a long road but at least today has been okay :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03