“What’s for Lunch?” Healthy Recipe Series #14 - Vegetarian Chickpea Burger

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I may still be having a hard time cutting beef and pork from my diet, but I’ve been trying my best to make more creative choices… one of which included trying this chickpea burger for lunch! I was especially excited to cook this meal because it will be my entry into the #livesustainably “Cook it Fresh” competition being run by @livesustainably!

Chickpea Burger

Ingredients:
- 1 Can Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
- 1 Carrot, roughly chopped
- 1 tsp Garlic, minced
- 1.5 tsp Ground Cumin
- 1.5 tsp Ground Coriander
- 1 Egg
- 2 tbls Flour
- Whole Wheat Burger Bun
- 1 Tomato, sliced
- Lettuce, shredded
- Mayonnaise
- Salt & pepper

Instructions:
1. Process the drained and rinsed chickpeas in a food processor along with the chopped carrot, minced garlic, and spices until evenly mixed but still slightly “rugged.”
2. Mix in egg and flour until thoroughly combined. More/less flour can be added depending on consistency - you should be able to make patties at this point.
3. Fry the patties in an oiled pan for approx. 2-3 minutes on each side.
4. Place the patty on a burger bun along with some mayonnaise, lettuce, and tomato slices.
5. Enjoy!

I was such a fan of this recipe! I usually use the same spices over and over but I’m glad I expanded my horizons by using some cumin and coriander! You could definitely taste the unique flavors especially against the delicate chickpea and crisp carrot. Maybe next time I will try to make it spicy with a teaspoon of horseradish!

The best part is that many of these ingredients can be grown in your backyard garden which means less miles travelled to get to your plate! Tomatoes, garlic, and leafy greens are especially easy to grow and if you raise chickens on your homestead, then you already have farm fresh eggs ready to use!

The only complaint I have is that the patty had a tendency to fall apart. I think more experimentation is needed to find the perfect consistency using varying amounts of egg and flour.

P.S. I ran out of burger buns so yes, this is a english muffin!

Have you tried a “bean burger” before? What did you think?


Check out the last healthy recipe I tried - Vegan Tofu Egg Salad!

First photo (modified by @kiaraantonoviche) from Pexels and used under the CC0 license. Recipe (modified by @kiaraantonoviche) from GeniusKitchen. Second photo by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

Very nice idea! Yesterday I saw a chocolate humus recipe from Stillwatersart on facebook and today this chickpea burger! The chickpea is such a versatile little bean.

That sounds delicious! I will have to try that recipe. I’m trying to cut out meat as well.

Mmm sounds delicious, one definitely worth trying out! 😊

Wow, this looks REALLY delicious! Gotta try the recipe.

mmm, looks YUMYYY! I notice there is no binding 'agent' in this recipe and am curious how well they hold together.. maybe the chickpeas alone do the job, like a falafel which also somehow stays in one piece..

<3

They do fall apart a bit which I mentioned near the bottom - I think the eggs and flour are 'supposed' to be the binding agent but of course they are not as effective as they could be lol! It was a little messy to eat but next time I am going to experiment with some different variations

Yeah egg is supposed to be very binding if the amounts are in balance.

.Bean burgers are my favorite way to eat beans. All the bean burgers i've ate have been at restaurants or from the frozen food section. My favorite is the black bean burger from chillis restaurant. I've thought of making my own bean burgers, but never got around to it, so i'll have to give this chickpea burger recipe a try, then experiment. I havent ate meat for 20+ years, to me the burger was always about the fixins. Veggie burgers to me taste the same as regular burgers, but i feel much better after eating the veggie ones. Thanks :)

I recently decided to start shifting to a vegetarian diet. I'm excited to try this recipe, seems simple enough.

And I'm totally a person, I use anything as a bun except actual hamburger buns.

My sister is a good cook. When I cook for my own, I try to avoid potatoes as they affect my health. My sister uses cauliflower instead of potato while making those mash. I will send her this post maybe she will try this too. :)


Rydhi
xox

You got a 11.11% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @kiaraantonoviche! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17