Product Spotlight Series #20 - Organic Cotton #GiveAShit Tote Bag

in #ecotrain6 years ago

If you’ve ever researched how to begin eliminating plastic from your daily routine, many bloggers and zero-waste ‘gurus’ list many of the same tips and tricks… one of which is switching from plastic bags to reusable totes when shopping. It is an easy change to make - it only requires the acquisition of a fabric tote and the ability to remember to take it to the store (pro tip learned from experience: leave it in the car so you don’t forget it)!

Now you can get a reusable bag virtually anywhere. Many stores now offer them near checkout aisles and it’s a popular item to sew/craft for online stores on websites like Etsy. So I feel that a specific bag is unnecessary to recommend - I simply chose this Organic Cotton #GiveAShit Tote Bag from Package Free because it supports one of my favorite stores and is made from organic material!

This product is super straightforward - made in the USA from organic cotton, 16” width x 15.5” height x 5” base, and only $10.00! But my favorite part is the sassy statement and simple design!

So why even bother? Well, take a look at some of these not-so-fun facts from the Center of Biological Diversity:

  • Americans use 100 billion plastic bags a year, which require 12 million barrels of oil to manufacture.
  • The average American family takes home almost 1,500 plastic shopping bags a year.
  • It only takes about 14 plastic bags for the equivalent of the gas required to drive one mile.
  • It takes 500 (or more) years for a plastic bag to degrade in a landfill. Unfortunately the bags don’t break down completely but instead photo-degrade, becoming microplastics that absorb toxins and continue to pollute the environment.

I don’t shop often but when I do, I need to make the commitment to use fabric totes!

What about you? Do you use reusable bags? Why/why not? Comment below?


First photo from Pexels and used under the CC0 license. Second photo and product information from PackageFree. Statistics from the Center of Biological Diversity.

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

Yes! This is so lovely! I actually remembered reusable bags for probably the first time the other day. This year I refuse plastic and waste!

It is really quite unbelievable that plastic bags haven’t been banned years ago! Great post 👍

I have been using fabric bags since the 90s. And most of my really old canvas ones are still going strong! It's the newer, cheaper, often-given-as-freebies ones that break (of course!). Because nowadays you get so many, as gifts from nonprofits (just got another one from MSF/DWB the other day), or as store promotional items, I have way more bags than I regularly use. It's kind of a goal of mine, since I have been downsizing belongings and want to get a tiny house, that by the time I move, I won't need to acquire moving boxes. I'll have gotten rid of so much, between permanent storage things I already have like bins and all the cloth bags, I can just pack in those. 😂 We'll see if I get there!

It's amazing that this super simple idea isn't a societal staple...One day it will be...

You just planted 0.11 tree(s)!


Thanks to @skycae

We have planted already 4245.72 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18642.65
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Hi, Do You Know We Love You and Everything You Do.

Thank you for spending your time on the STEEM Network.
We resteemed your post! We Love You!!
Read Our Introduction
Check out the great posts @WeLoveYou has recently featured.

Hi, Do You Know We Love You and Everything You Do.

Thank you for spending your time on the STEEM Network.
We resteemed your post! We Love You!!
Read Our Introduction
Check out the great posts @WeLoveYou has recently featured.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31