"Focus on the Future" Friday - Becoming a Farm Hand?!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Happy Friday everyone! With the end of this week comes another personal development article where I explore in what ways I have grown and what ways I need to continue improving!

First and foremost, I have an interview this Sunday! I’ll be touring a small dairy farm (it’s Wisconsin… duh) near where my boyfriend currently lives and applying to be a part-time farm hand that helps out with milking, mucking, and feeding calves. I am both incredibly excited and nervous. I like working with small teams of people (or animals) instead of the fast paced and high stress “customer service” realm so that is a plus. Also it’ll be nice to have a job in that location so my boyfriend and I can continue planning to move in together.

Speaking of cows, my beef boycott has been going fairly well! I’ve been trying to cut back on my meat consumption this year by limiting the amount of beef and pork I eat. I figured the first half of 2018 could be spent eliminating those red meats and during the second half of the year I would try to cut back on venison.

To be honest, I slipped up a few times especially when I ate meals made by family that I was too polite (and hungry) to refuse or when I went out to eat (rare, but still). However, I have made some distinct choices including ordering veggie burgers and skipping the steak dinners at home.

The next step I want to try is experimenting with a meat alternative made from a pea protein! I’ve seen some “chicken” and “burger” made from this plant-based protein and I’ve always wanted to try it, so I’m going to give it a go! We will see how it tastes! Maybe I will write up a recipe using it for my Wednesday recipe series!

Of course, I can’t talk about development without mentioning Wild Rose Acres! I redesigned our website basically from scratch and added much more information about the projects we plan on getting done this spring/summer - check it out here!

Along with the “relaunch” of our website, I plan on starting a vlog series for the homestead with a video tour this spring so stay tuned! It’ll be a big step outside of my comfort zone to stand in front of the camera and show my face, but it will really stretch me to the limits of my creativity as well with video editing (which I’ve always wanted to dabble with).

It may be a crazy few weeks so posting is probably going to be intermittent. I’ve also been spending more time on other passive income streams so that takes up a little more of my schedule.

The WHN this Sunday may be delayed because of my interview/tour so I apologize in advance. Wish me luck!


First and second photos from Pexels and used under the CC0 license. Third photo screenshot from the Wild Rose Acres website.

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

nice to catch up with u! keep up keepin up! I always say when someone offers you something like meat then its Ok to have it, unless its every day! Its also good to listen to our body and know when we need it.. sometimes i hardly touch meat for weeks on end.. then other times i do binge.. esp if im weak or unwell.. <3

Good luck in your interview!! I hope it goes well for your :) That is so exciting that you are pursuing a job doing what you enjoy and can be proud of.

Good luck on your interview! It would be great to get paid to learn homesteading related skills!

That's awesome! Good luck on Sunday!!

looks great and glad all is going well! we've missed you here in steemy land :D

To be honest, I slipped up a few times especially when I ate meals made by family that I was too polite (and hungry) to refuse or when I went out to eat (rare, but still).

Hey, it's so hard to eat ideally when you're eating with those you live! <3 Can totally relate. Good luck in your interview, hope you like it and if you do, that you get the job.

Yeeeee! I am so excited for you!! That's two of our people working on and getting jobs at farms! That is so cool! Congratulations!

I guess I missed out on your beef boycott, man, I like beef. Hahah. My body doesn't love it. It's something I'm working on. Haha. I wish you the best with your boycott!

Go get em!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01