Gardening: Small Stump Removal with Pickaxe, Chainsaw, and Cats

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Two Small Juniper Tree Stumps were blocking the progress on the garden terrace project - They had to be Removed. I was all set and had the hardwood ready to burn these stumps out of the ground, but in the pickaxe trenching preperation around the first stump, I realized this job was going to be a much easier - no fire required.

Stump 1 Removal with Pickaxe and Cats

A pickaxe, leverage, and gravity were used to remove the first stump. The pickaxe was used to first remove dirt and rocks from the stump while hacking the roots at multiple angles. In the screen capture below you can the use of body weight and gravity to help leverage this stump out of the ground.

stump1rootpull.JPG

The best way to own this particular stump is with a root hack using the pickaxe - brute-force is most useful here - using the axe side.

stump1owningtheroot.JPG

The pick side does do a great job at breaking into tougher ground that is filled with clay and various sizes of rocks. Picked rocks are tossed aside to the pile outside of the garden space for use later.

stump1pickaxecat.JPG

While I was working away on the stump in the garden, one of my cats decided to use my soon to be garden as a litter box. The other cat is always in stalking mode so he soon enough chases him out of the picture.

Stump 1 Removal Video:

Stump 2 Removal with Pickaxe and Chainsaw

The second stump has a large tap root going straight down that I end up sheering off with the chainsaw.

stump2rocklove.JPG

As you can see in the screen capture above from the second stump video, a large field rock is briefly brought into the mix.

I could have kept hacking, and I'm not above sinking my wood axe into the dirt, but I felt this was a great time for the cordless 20v chainsaw.

stump2chainsaw.JPG

After using the chainsaw to cut through the large tap root, the second and last stump is easily twisted out of the ground.

Stump 2 Removal Video

Garden Stumps Removed

In the picture below you can see the small juniper tree stumps that were removed - and the tools used to remove them.

stump.jpg

Now I can finish leveling and creating the terrace garden beds and irrigation ditches - and then start seeding and transplanting.

Previous posts that may interest you:

Have a Great Day!

Sort:  

When we bought our house in Minnesota I removed several small stumps. I had a long, heavy steel pry bar. Besides the obvious mechanic advantage of the long pry bar, I could use it to cut roots. Basically slammed it down, kind of like a post hole digger. I like brute strength projects :)

Ah perfect - I was thinking of a pry par when the first stump started to give but didn't have one handy, it will make the next small stumps a little easier :)

Thats one tough root system! The strength in each individual root is amazing. Wonder if Juniper will ever re-sprout and 'spring-up' again?
Looked like a lot of work there!

You're inspirational! Thanks for chat last night, and invite.
I second the digging bar. That thing is a life saving brute!

You let your chainsaw hit the dirt? My partner freaks out if that happens.

Grind right in there if i need to, remove all the rocks first. Keep the chain well oiled, sharpen it if I need to. It's a small electric chainsaw, I wouldn't do that with an expensive serious wood cutting chainsaw ;)

I stack wood on it, and burn it out.

But, I was glad to see you have all the good Cat help! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55