Back Acres: Strawberry and Rhubarb Pie - Just 1 Year Away

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

I'm very patient - more than happy to wait. Good things take time and planning, organic growth is preferred. You can see the wild strawberry patch in the wood framed raised garden bed that I planted last year. Very happy with how they turned out, the patch is filled with growing strawberries and strawberry flowers and will be giving strawberries into fall.

For more Information about Wild Strawberry: Wikipedia: Wild Strawberry

strawberryrhubarb.jpg

I had heard about Rhubarb, but didn't have much interest until recently when someone reminded me about strawberry and rhubarb pie. Knowing how well the wild strawberry patch was doing, my interest was suddenly peaked about growing rhubarb. We were at a hardware store when I was reminded by the seed rack that I was on the hunt for rhubarb. One of the clerks said they don't usually grow them from seed, the rhubarb patch just keeps getting larger and larger, so you split it. The rhubarb patch can easily be split and transplanted to another location. He mentioned that he had just removed a patch of rhubarb the other day - just missed it. My Aunt that was with me that day called a few days later. She was at a nursery and was picking up two rhubarb plants for me - very nice.

transplantready.jpg

In the picture above you can see a bucket of water and the two rhubarb plants that my Aunt picked up for me. Some of the leaves were damaged on the transport, but the rhizomes - the upper bulb of roots that the plant grows out of - were in great condition. The rhubarb will bulk up this summer and will be ready for an early spring harvest. The young reddish leaf stalks are edible with a sweet and tart taste, but the leaves are toxic. My wife said that when she was little, she used to pick rhubarb from the garden and eat it dipped in sugar as a treat. Another popular use for rhubarb is to make a sweet and tart rhubarb pie.

For more Information about Rhubarb: Wikipedia: Rhubarb.

rhubarbcloseup.jpg

In the picture above you can see the two rhubarb plants transplanted into the soon to be rhubarb patch. First I mounded the dirt for good soil drainage, dug a small water catching ditch on the uphill side of the mound. I was sure to leave the top part of the rhizome above the ground - where the leaf stalks come out. Gave the new transplants a full bucket of water to help while the roots are expanding into their new ground.

gardenterrace.jpg

Strawberry and Rhubarb pie pie pie - I can wait to grow and bake my own - Just 1 Year Away.

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Yummm... strawberry/rhubarb pie! 🤤
Great landscaping job, looks good!

Thanks - it's nice to see it all grow in :)

I love rhubarb pie. I always have some when I see it because you don't see it that much. And my experience with rhubarb is that it grows like crazy so once you get started you are probably set and then some haha.

I've heard that too - that it grows well. I'll eventually pick out another spot for a 2nd rhubarb patch. Eventually I'll have to fight it back I suppose :)

I've seen a few videos where peoples rhubarb plant grows like wild fire compared to the other plants next to it. Heard its very resilient too. I think its leaves might be poisonous to animals (like pets)

I was just thinking of strawberry rhubarb sauce last night...

A sauce sounds nice too - I'm going to have to look into making jam with it too eventually :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

When I was a kid we used to pick quarts of Wild Strawberries. Nature makes the best produce. I have not seen a whole field of Wild Strawberries since. I have a perfect spot to plant some. I better get with it like you!

Rhubarb is tart enough to make a Blue Jay scream, using Thoreau's wording.

Strawberries are excellent. Have some black berry plants i'm moving to the garden. Just picked up red raspberry roots - 5. A few dwarf cherry trees - romeo sour cherry and juliette cherry. Looking forward to everything growing in over the years :)

Your beds are so nicely formed with the rocks! The allotment ive just taken over has Giant Rhubab.

I hope they grow well for you =D

Thank you - my Aunt was saying that most of the properties she bought came with a rhubarb patch :)

Weirdly enough mine did too ha!

Love the rocks around your beds. Look so natural almost like they are already part of your land. I don't have rhubarb in my food forest yet. I have never tried strawberry rhubarb pie. Is it really that much better than just plain strawberry? Might have to hunt a pie down so I know if I need to put a rhubarb in the ground.

Just do it! Rhubarb compote, champagne, chutney, tart, jam, pie, pudding, kombucha, cordial... etc. 😘😘

Patoence is a virtue they say!!! The plants look healthy. The best thing is that in a couple of years you can divide them up to give to others or plant more! Or make rhubarb champagne!

I love the rocks here stopping the earth.

Heres my rhubarb story this week... must be Rhubarb Week!!! You might like the recipe for next year ... oh and check out @veganiinjas rhubarb lattice!!!!

https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@riverflows/abun-dancing-with-rhubarb-coconut-chia-lime-and-rhubarb-pudding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66