Abun-dancing with Rhubarb: Coconut, Chia, Lime and Rhubarb Pudding

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

I grow too much rhubarb.

There, I've said it. That feels better. Sure, I've been accused of it before, but I was reluctant to accept it. How can I possibly grow too much food? I love growing excess because I love love love giving it away. I put it in a bucket out front with a cardboard sign that says 'FREE' and I come home and it's gone. I don't know who takes it but I sure hope they're enjoying it!


Anyway, I kinda thought that maaaaayyyybbbeee my friends were right. What's the point of it if you're not going to eat it? Okay, you're on, I thought. I'm damn well going to make a desert!

The thing is, I'm not a desert person. I hate baking, and I'm not very good at measuring. I go to make stuff and I'm missing half the ingredients. Thus, I decided to make some coconut yoghurt, and top it with stewed rhubarb. That'll make a good steem post, right? And doesn't it look TASTY! (excuse the blurriness - food photographer I aint)


20180529_095704.jpg

Well, that's NOT yoghurt - I didn't have half the ingredients - namely, full fat coconut cream and the culture needed to make it yoghurty.


So, there I was tossing a can of coconut milk in my hand staring at the rhubarb patch.

My rhubarb patch is sexy. It's fat and plump and fertile. Ooh er. She gets a good old fertilise with alpaca poo and compost and some comfrey fertiliser and this time of year, when the rain comes in, she's worth picking and eating. All summer, she's looked sad and half dead and eaten by grasshoppers. She always seems to survive though - never in full sun, and always just enough water.


This time of year though I get busy dividing her - somehow, I'm totally obsessed by dividing it and thinking - ooh, free plants, more food for the apocalypse!! Wonderful. If the zombies do come, we can sit and eat rhubarb all day long.

This is the point I realised I also had an apocalypse cupboard - not a lot to make a desert. However, I did find some limes on the tree, a half jar of rice syrup, some agar agar and some chia seeds. A-ha! I thought! That's my kind of desert - a make it up out of random ingredients kinda thing!

By some rhubarbalicious miracle, it worked, and was totally yummy!!!

Rhubarb, Coconut, Chia and Lime Pudding

  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp of agar agar
  • 3 tbsps of chia seeds
  • 3 stalks of rhubarb
  • a few drops of vanilla essence or one scraped vanilla pod
  • 4 tbsps rice syrup
  • juice of one lime
  • zest of one lime.

Simmer the coconut milk with 1 tbsp of agar agar until slightly thickened and agar agar is dissolved. Add chia seeds and simmer 2 more minutes. Add the vanilla and sweeten with rice syrup (you could also use honey or maple syrup). Stir through the lemon zest. Pour into two small jars or bowls and place in the fridge to half way set.

Meanwhile, slice the rhubarb and simmer in the lime juice until softened. If it's quite runny, you can add the other tablespoon of agar agar and simmer until dissolved (I'd put the juice of a BIG lime, so that was the case for me).

Gently place the rhubarb on top of the chia pudding.

Gently fry coconut until browned, and spoon over the top. Granola would work nicely here too.


20180529_095759.jpg

Jamie was pleasantly surprised that I'd made him a desert, and seemed suspicious, thinking I'd made it just to write a steemit post about it. What do you think? Was I just being enthusiastic about rhubarb, or just serving up my own best rhubarb interest?


small river circle.png

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

I'm also totally honoured to be a passenger on the #ecotrain - check out this hashtag for some pretty amazing posts permaculture to meditation, environmental issues to food forests - I highly recommend checking out this tag as you're guaranteed of sweeeetness!



ecotrain.png

Plus, I'm super excited and honoured to be part of @tribesteemup - a heap of amazing crew who all post quality posts about helping the Earth and humanity and generally making the world a better place. You should definitely check out the #tribesteemup trail to find some quality writing.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-30T10:03:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 155.90/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

gorgeous yummy recipe.. i just wish i could taste it.. ill have to try it out huh!

and i LOVE that you live in abundance.. this world has enough for everyone.. there is NO such thing as waste.. that is an illusion.. and im SURE someone really enjoyed your gifts! sometimes not knowing where it went is part of the magic! <3 xxx

Absolutely!!!! Giving of our own abundance is really fulfilling too. I dont need praise or cash... I live a good life and if i can give to others then Im happy. So... rhubarb for all!! And its a really easy recipe and adaptable

Well 10 out of 10 for ingenuity if you made it for Jamie just to write this post as he suggests as this recipe sounds delicious, the combination of coconut milk and chia seeds, and the limey rhubarb combo!!
My tastebuds are going crazy, i have some chia seeds and a can of coconut milk in the cupboard and will give this a try 😊😊 yum yum xx

It's super easy. If you aren't using agar agar you could use more chia. It will set slightly differently but still be delicious!!!

Yum! This looks great. I like your vegan food.

Thanks so much @choogirl !!! I'm going to make some with stewed apple today.

Hi there :)

This post was spotted by the #steemitbloggers
and we would like to extend an invitation to you
to potentially join our fabulous family.

The Steemit Bloggers Community
is a discord community of individuals who are dedicated
to producing quality content which adds value to the Steemit platform.
We are also focused on supporting our fellow members and their growth on Steemit as well as offering support to those struggling to stay afloat.

If you would like to see who some of our members are,
the official @steemitbloggers account is dedicated to resteeming
the brilliant work of all our amazing writers and creatives...

If you are interested in joining, please contact us HERE

Hi there :)

This post was spotted by the #steemitbloggers
and we would like to extend an invitation to you
to potentially join our fabulous family.

The Steemit Bloggers Community
is a discord community of individuals who are dedicated
to producing quality content which adds value to the Steemit platform.
We are also focused on supporting our fellow members and their growth on Steemit as well as offering support to those struggling to stay afloat.

If you would like to see who some of our members are,
the official @steemitbloggers account is dedicated to resteeming
the brilliant work of all our amazing writers and creatives...

If you are interested in joining, please contact us HERE

Mmmm yummy I love rhubarb so much but I never see it here in Bali! I tried to grow it but it didn't take so since you have so much extra maybe I should come take some off your hands? :)

Sure... or maybe I'll smuggle some to Bali when Im over there in a few weeks ? A suitcase do?

Awww soooo fun! Are you coming over here? I would love a smuggle suitcase please! <3

Yes, for a few weeks late June to early July to escape the winter blues in Australia! I hate winter holidays - i have 3 weeks and it SUCKS to be cold!

WHAT THE that looks crazy. I gotta try it

Ha. Chia puddings are all the rage here..this is just a variation. you could substitute with different fruit. Its GOOD!!

I just want to say right now, I love rhubarb!! I am so jealous of you for your lovely garden full of it. Rhubarb and strawberry pies, jams, sooooo wonderful. I love the tartness, so yummy. Your post is really wonderful, love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41