3 Minutes 2 Talk, 1 Take: Hope Huggs on Why Stress is Silly

in #ecotrain6 years ago


So I want to get more talkative and get what is in my head out my mouth and not necessarily by writing!

My answer is set to myself this challenge where I have 2 Talk for 3 Minutes or more in 1 Take.

Who knows what will come out my mouth haha!

Today, I talk about stress and the fact that it is pointless!

I have had two events this week that I have been overly stressed about and it was all a waste of time, because both things turned out better than expected.

The first thing was a family arrangements court case, which I get overly stressed over because seeing my ex-husband is not one of my favorite past times, especially at the last court he was particularly bitter, so I wasn't looking forward to this one, even got a stinking migraine caused by stress.

stress-2902537_1280.jpg

But he didn't even turn up!

He had written a letter to the judge saying he was moving to Wales, which is a lot better for me not having to worry about bumping into him here, the direct contact idea was dropped by the judge and a rule made of at least 6 contacts by Skype a year at my discretion.

So that was a little unexpected, but a good outcome for me.

Then today, I had to take the guinea pig to the vets for a second opinion on whether it had a hernia (its guts and bladder were bulging through the stomach wall) and whether it needed operating on.

It is usually a placid little thing that lets you pick it up, but when it saw the travel box come out, I never saw it move so fast to get away from me.

So I got to the vet and he was impressed at how much the swelling had gone down and the guinea pig had put on a little weight. The vet didn't think Little One was in any pain and that as it was so young the stomach wall heal and get smaller as he gets bigger.

So no operation, that was a big relief. Most of all I was worrying about how I would tell my 7 year old daughter how I was not going to pay £500 or more for a guinea pig operation and my heart was breaking at the thought of her little face. It is so sweet, she sits cuddling this guinea pig and reads to it.

piggy-2146099_1280.jpg

I'd like to think that these positive outcomes were partly due to the positive vibes sent by the ladies in @SteemSugars, so a big shout out to them, as I asked for some before going to court yesterday and I swear some of them spilled over to today.

But the moral of the story is, don't worry It might never happen and it didn't. I worried needlessly.

@hopehuggs <3

Free daily crypto: Swift Coins
How To Get Free STEEM POWER

Mingle with People Making a Difference in the EcoTrain Discord Group


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's so true that you work yourself up into a nervous frenzy about an event you are dreading and in the end everything works out ok. I'm sure it's good to talk about your problems with friends and colleagues rather than bottle it all up. Good luck to Little One...my sister had a hernia and it wasn't nice.

It is definitely is a good release to talk about it, definitely better than holding it all inside. The steemit discord groups can be like a support groups too. Do you get the impression I like this place?

So do I.....thanks to you!

You made an impressive write up base on your ex-husband I was so surprised sharing this you want us to learn from it. I hope future will be more best for you and your family, let keep hope. Though I don't like ladies to be facing challenges because they deserved respect they our mother we have to take good care of them.

I have made so many 'confessions' on the blockchain so far. It is only fair to continue the story with updates.

A lot of people worry needlessly over what would not happen at the end of the day.

I was worried about my brother failing a major exam, and I was sleepless and got headache as a result of that. At the end of the day, he had one of the best results in the school.

Note, the story you wrote on your ex-husband is super cool, and I am happy the swelling on your guinea pig is going down.

Not cool for him unfortunately. The ex-in laws keep phoning me up and telling me how broken he is now.

I agree that worry is wasted emotions. But sometimes it's easier said than done. I'm so glad both issues turned out so much better than you first thought they would. Yay!!

I sometimes think worrying is genetic and its fighting a losing battle. But I am definitely worry less than I used too.

Oh Hope, I can feel your pain. I too get stressed out by things often because I overthink things like a lotttttt. One day I went to pick my son from school and heard one of his classmates say 'I dont wanna play with you' to my son and began overthinking on to the extent that I couldn't sleep the entire night. Living in the moment and focusing your energy on it is the best way to tackle such stress for me. I am glad your daughter's guinea pig doesn't need an operation. :)

This week's journey has led me to look at shamanism and it is good sometimes to take a step back and look at your own journey, as someone else observing it. Rollarcoaster rides are fun, right?

Rollercoaster rides are super duper fun! Just love such rides. Also, shamanism had me interested some time back too. Wrote a book on it for a client and was so amazed at the number of things going on in the world especially when it comes to healing. I mean I won't try it I think but I do find it intriguing.

I'm glad everything worked out for you! You are doing a great job on challenging yourself to speak for 3 minutes a day!

It is quite an interesting challenge. I thought I'd run out of things to talk about, but my list of topics is growing.

Today was filled with good news for you. I am happy for you that your ex husband has moved to Wales and also the fact that the swelling of your guinea pig has gone down and no operation will be needed

Meanwhile, I have never heard of hernia, but thankfully you explained in your post.

Your day went well overall....congratulations

They were a couple of days that I was dreading, but they turned out okay. I didn't need to drown my sorrows in cider after all.

Like i said before, your post always gives me ideal on what to put on my blog! (No jokes).

Sorry to know that you are going to be divorced, i hate divorce,it happened to my mum and dad and it wasn't really funny with us (my siblings).

Thank you once again for inspiring me @hopehuggs.

Yes, my parents divorced too when I was about same age my kids are now. History repeating.

I'm glad my posts inspire you.

Lot of times we worry about future that may never happen, guess the same happened with you, but I am glad you have relief with both the situations, though you may face similar conditions again but now you realise its not worth it to feel stressed

Yes, often the imagination makes its lot worse than it wll be. But saying that, the feeling of relief is pretty awesome too.

awwww !!! Well that's what we're there for girl - all of us have problems coming up and there's always someone in this group who will make you feel better [and thankfully, usually, more than one!] I'm glad everything turned out fine in both cases and yes, stress is stupid and completely pointless - but who am I to talk, the super stressed person !!!
What a cute cute face and voice! [watched you after I read the post] Hugs to Huggs! :* :* :*

It is definitely one thing to say it and another thing to do it. All we can do is try to manage it all. There are things we can do like talk to our friends on steemit (and not in steemit if we are lucky), take a cold shower, and live in the moment when things are going good. I'm glad to have found @steemsugars <3

We're glad to have you :* [warm shower though, warm - enough cold where I live ahahahaha :D ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63