You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Breed or Not to Breed...Ecotrain QOTW

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I don't want to bring a child into a planet that seemingly has no future. I'm no trying to be alarmist with this comment, so I shall provide some context.

When I was about five or six, I was a reader who could not be satiated. I read every book I possibly could find. It all started with a book of the universe, and is probably my earliest "reading" memory.

"In several billion years, our star will become a red giant and swell in size. It will book the oceans of Earth, and life on this planet will cease"

My immediate thought was "We need to build a rocket ship and go elsewhere."

Over the ensuing decades and watching consumerism and capitalism envelop every single thing (and extract all possible value from it with nothing 'returned to the environment) - I am even more convinced now at the prospect of a barren landscape on Earth, devoid of human life.

If I can stop one more person suffering in that future, then I would have done good in the world.

I could probably write a whole post on this topic!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Those sorts of things would often go around my head too. I reached a point where I realised I could constantly be in fear of what might happen or I could try and make the most of life while I'm here. Nothing is permanent, even this universe, at least as we know it. Lots of generations of creatures will live before the earth is swallowed by the sun. Extinction level events have happened throughout history and will continue to happen before the earth is gone.

Building a ship to go elsewhere is on the agenda, it seems, but if we can't change we'll just harm another planet.

Did you know that in recent years there has actually been an increase in forestation? It's only happened recently and some countries are, of course, still cutting down more trees than are being replaced, but it's not something I was expecting to hear any time soon. Don't underestimate the younger generation. They still have enough optimism to believe things can change and, indeed, bring about change.

If we continue as we were, things will indeed become barren, but more and more people are making changes. It's not going to happen quickly, these things always take generations. That's assuming those in power don't have a population cull before that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88