Heading Toward Our New Life Offgrid : Minimizing and Sorting

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Since we arrived back home almost 2 weeks ago it has been all systems go towards moving off-grid. This post is all about packing up and shedding excess.

JPEG_20180729_085751.jpg 9 boxes of books are coming with us, I can't part with them and most are educational for my children. Oh dear! What a messy house I have ha ha

I'm super excited about this move and have been enthusiastically sorting through three years of accumulated clutter.
We are selling and giving away most of our bulky furniture. We don't need it. Downsizing toys and clothing. The strangest thing that most of us don't really consider is the electrical items. I'm literally going through the various appliances and tech that we have, looking at the watt consumption. Most things over 500w are going. The reason for this is that our main source of power is going to be 6, 250w solar panels. We aim to attach a battery storage source but realistically at any given time peak output will be 1kw. So it makes sense to give up the unnecessary items.
image.png

I'm not a huge fan of buying new things and most of the furniture we have, had a place in someone else's home before ours. The best part is that the items of furniture we aren't taking have found other homes on the island, so I can rest at ease knowing that our move is not contributing to environmental pollution. (Everything here gets sent to the incinerator, which I will discuss more about in another post, as I'm currently campaigning to change this).
One such item I had difficulty letting go was a baby grand piano. It's a bit of an iconic emblem here on the island. It belongs to a lady who owns one of the local shops. Many years ago she gave it to the Island hall, as she had moved to a smaller house with no room for it, but they were unable to store it when other events took place. Over the years it has made the rounds in various houses here. The last guy who had it before me was moving back to England and knew how much I loved the piano and that I was looking for one to play. He didn't hesitate to entrust me with it. It lived in my kitchen for the first year and then we moved it into the living room.

20180720_161858.jpg...and here's a photo of the piano and more of my messy house. (Feeling a little embarrassed sharing this now but it's the last picture I have before the piano left.)

I must confess I hardly played it, but when I did the sound was beautiful. Perhaps I could have appreciated it more were the little dudes slightly older. It made a really good place to put our other music gear too. Hence the reason why there's a whole heap of what looks like junk on the top. It didn't affect our ability to play it though.
Sadly, I managed to find a new home for the beauty and we parted ways on Tuesday. I thought about how grateful and lucky I've been to be able to have this beautiful instrument in my home. Music is a really important aspect of my life. It is my go-to release when I am feeling overwhelmed or upset. I find by improvising with music it helps me to release those feelings, lifting my spirit and making me feel much better.

It's not the end of the line though. I will continue to play. I have a keyboard which will be coming with us on the move. As well as guitars and a really cool drum.
image.png

So that's where we are right now. It's a little emotional sifting and sorting. Particularly when finding old photos or a little piece of artwork the kids made sometime ago that fell behind that chest of drawers in the bedroom. By sorting through things it is also a way of cleansing stifled feelings. It's a time of great change, a little overwhelming at points but I'm super thrilled to be heading on the path that I've been dreaming about for years.

As one chapter in my life closes, I am grateful for all it has taught me and I look forward to what the new one will bring.

Have you made any life-changing decisions recently? If so, I'd love to read about them in the comments. <3

~ONE LOVE~

HolisticMoM.jpg


Proud to be a member of:

The 8 Pillars Of @tribesteemup



Asapers.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I cant believe how calm you seem sorting through all of that, looking after the boys and moving! Im so excited for you. Xxx PS the headings look awesome, but dark blue doesnt stand out on night mode black on Steemit so i cant read it!!

Oh I KNOW!!! Me too!
I would be having a difficult time doing this... I mean, I do tend to get rid of things that we haven't used for a while... but this would be so hard to do.

Oh I KNOW!!! Me too!
I would be having a difficult time doing this... I mean, I do tend to get rid of things that we haven't used for a while... but this would be so hard to do.

Fortunately, my partner is great at sharing the workload and last week my mother-in-law visited us and kept the boys entertained so we were able to get loads done.
As for the headings I hadn't thought about night mode. Thanks for the heads up beautiful ❤❤

It's a little overwhelming at times but I've moved around a lot in my life. Fearing out before moving to Mexico was the hardest. 14 years of accumulated memories. So 3 years isn't so bad. Xoxo

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Thank you @theluvbug. Very much appreciated. ❤❤

best wish for this great move.. i can feel the excitement! i know it can be hard to part with your precious things.. but i have a feeling you are embracing this very nicely!

let me know if you need any power advice.. i know many ways to help you use minimal power whilst keeping your phones and things running well..

<3 xx

Thank you @eco-alex yes I'm grateful for all the help we have had recently too.

That would be ace. Our solar panels arrived today. We bought used ones but a couple of them appear to have 'snail tracks' in hoping this won't affect the power output from them too much. We can test them yet either as the piece of equipment needed hasn't arrived. Do you know much about this? 😊

best of luck with the move beautiful, you seem to have it all under control, very excited that you are moving to such an amazing community and yeah to going off grid it is the best way to be xxx

Thank you beautiful lady! Yes it's really exciting. Hope for you to come visit too. ❤❤

So great that you guys are doing this. I know for me to go through everything, it would take me weeks. I would get sidetracked by reminiscing LOL. When I do each time the stack gets a little smaller. I think eventally all I'll have stored is things from the kids as they grew up and of course pictures.

I'm certainly reminiscing but have done this before with more accumulated clutter. So that previous experience prepared me to be better organised. 🤗🤗🤗

Good for you @holisticmom!! I'm so excited for you guys :) I remember doing this exact same thing and once my mind was made up, it was really very simple to do. I unfortunately left my guitars with my son who plays, and sometimes I miss it terribly (just haven't gotten around to buying one here). Like you, it was a wonderful stress reliever when I played, and the time would simply slip away...as well as the stress.

You say "island"; where are you now and where is "off the grid going to be"?

Thank you beautiful @lynnecoyle1. Oh no such a shame about your guitars but I bet they're in good hands with tour son.

I'm in the Channel Islands,UK right now but heading to Spain. ❤❤😊😊

Oh that's right @holisticmom, now I remember!

My son plays guitar a million times better than me so I'm glad they're in his hands ❤️

Good luck with the move!

That's Awesome! Yeah so does my daughter. She went off to college last year to do a diploma in music and passed the course!

Thank you. I can't wait to move. Next week woop woop! ❤

That's great about your daughter!! When I started guitar lessons, my son kept bugging me to do the same, but he was the kid that started and stopped things weekly, so I just ignored it. Finally, I just taught him a few chords, thinking he'd try and give up, and next thing I know, he was playing beautifully...self-taught haha His stubbornness in younger years played in his favor as an older guy lol

woop woop is right!! Can't wait to read all about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72