The Baby Has Fledged - Baby hummingbird has left the nest - Photos + Video

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

BIS 3_TN.jpg

I promise everybody that this will be the last post about this hummingbird this year.

But personally they keep intriguing me. The fact that they weigh less than 5 grams, are able to slow down their heartbeat and metabolism during the night, can flap their wings more than 50 times a second and are able to fly backwards makes this hummingbird a wonder to behold.

2U0B5348_L.jpg

The mother started building her nest somewhere in November last year. It takes her 6 to12 days to do so. The male leaves immediately after mating. But initially hangs around to protect the territory. The nest is very sophisticated. She build it in this young mango tree less than two meters above the ground.

2U0B5723_L.jpg

The the deep cup-shaped nest is made out of woven plant material. The inner of the nest is made out of very soft material like animal hair, feather down and fluffy seeds, like the seeds of milkweed. The outer is camouflaged with green moss. She strengthens the nest with spider webbing and other sticky material that allows the nest to expand as the chicks grow.

2U0B5585_L.jpg

I wondered why she chose this mango tree. It’s quite exposed and in the wind the small tree swings like crazy. I was worried that the eggs might fall out.

2U0B5730_L.jpg

But I think that there’s definitely a reason behind it why she chose this tree. It sound perhaps crazy but my theory is that the swinging is important for the development of the young. The swinging simulates the flying. It’s a natural flight simulator. The hummingbird is the only bird that can fly backwards and sideways. These movements are perhaps learned and accustomed to, while the chick is on the nest.

2U0B6020_L1 copy.jpg
Christmas Day, a baby is born.

I don’t know when she laid her eggs but it must have been the first week of December. There were two but only one hatched. I have no idea what happened to the other one. The remaining egg hatched on Christmas Day. Initially I thought that there were two chicks because I didn’t dare to look too close. But alas.

2U0B0143_L copy.jpg

In the beginning the mother leaves the nest for very short periods. She has to eat of course but she must make sure that the eggs don’t cool down, even in the tropics.

2U0B5935_L copy.jpg

After hatching she stays away longer and longer. Now she’s really busy. She has to catch hundreds of insects a day to feed her young that demands more and more food. In this short video you can see her foraging on flowers (old material, it’s probably not even her but it could be) and feeding her chick.

As I wrote in older posts, hummingbirds can be ferocious little fighters. They are fearless if they are defending the nest from other birds and will attack other birds much bigger than themselves. And they always win. They also chase away other hummingbirds and butterflies that dare to eat from their favourite flowers.

2U0B5417_L.jpg

What was interesting is that she always flew off when I approached the nest a bit too close. But when I had to mow the lawn she would remain on the nest even if I was mowing around the tree and was less than a meter away.

2U0B9998_L copy.jpg
In this picture the young is 12 days old

During the last week before fledging, the mother started to call her young. Sometimes frantically flying around the nest and constantly calling it with a very fast tjirp. Then she would land in different corners from the garden and kept on calling it. This probably motivates the young to leave the nest.

2U0B0104_L copy.jpg
And in this picture it's 18 days old.

During the first two weeks the young only eats and sleeps. In the third week it's awake more often, curiously looking over the edge to see what’s going on in the world around him. During this period the mother can be away for quite a while. She now also leaves the chick alone during the night.

2U0B0163_L copy.jpg
The day that it fledged, 22 days old.

The young fledged on the 22 day. That was last Tuesday. I unfortunately missed that. That morning it was still sitting on the nest but when I came back from some shopping it was gone! He never returned to the nest after that.

2U0B0233_L.jpg

I say ‘he’ because I think it’s a male. It’s much bigger than mommy. I only managed to take a few photographs. I was not able to film it.

2U0B4819_L.jpg
The proud mother

I did saw him fly that day. And as you would expect, the flying is a bit clumsy but they learn very fast. Their wings don’t flap as fast and they are a bit unstable in the direction that they are flying. The way that he flew reminded me of a bumblebee.

2U0B0138_L copy.jpg

Occasionally I still see them but the mother is showing him all the other gardens in the neighbourhood as well of course. I don’t know if he’s allowed to stay in our garden or that the mother makes him leave her territory. We will see.

2U0B0098_L copy.jpg
Well done mommy!!

That’s it. I hope you enjoyed this post and that I haven’t bored you to death with, yet again, more hummingbird stories and pictures.

Much love,

Gardenbsquared



Why not click here to read more inspirational and interesting posts by the other members of the ecoTrain.

square-small.png


banner.jpg

Sort:  

This post is beautiful. I love all the photos and am so amazed at the special talent of the humming bird to craft such an intricate and beautiful nest. It looks so fragile but if it is holding the birds well, it is strong too. I am sad that this is the last post from the humming bird series because I thoroughly enjoy those. Even if you don't see me commenting on those or upvoting them, I do read them. I often don't upvote on the posts I like immediately because my power is low at that time and I wish to give them better upvotes but forget about them when my power replenishes so sorry for that. As for the comments, I always wish to write a meaningful comment but since I am not an expert on the birding topic, I cannot always think of a very deep comment so I comment only when I feel I have something meaningful to say otherwise I just read the post, enjoy it and leave with a smile on my face. Your posts have improved my knowledge on birds and made me enjoy them better. I share whatever I learn from here with my son and he loves that too. :) I am learning more names of birds and each time, I tell my son of a new bird I discover or know the name of, he gets very excited so thank you for bringing forward this lovely series and the topic of birding to my awareness and on Steemit. :)

Thank you @sharoonyasir for your kind words. I'm horrible at commenting. Find it often difficult to say something useful. I'm glad that you like my posts. I was referring to this particular species of hummingbird. If I photograph another one, I will definitely share it.

Yayyy great then :)

That is so beautiful and neat that you got to document it! Fantastic photos and magical mind blowing nature, as always... My! The detail in that nest!!!!

That nest is amazing. It must be very intelligent to build something like that. Thank you, it was a real pleasure to share this.

I often come across it near my house, but this part
hardest for birds in the photo because it is very small compared with the big bird ... your post is very interesting and I am also motivated by your posting to birding again ...

btw, my name is Andri from Aceh, Indonesia

Thank you. It will be interesting to see some birds from Indonesia.

Yes it's true, have recently been found to be endemic bird species, you know that Myzomela irianawidodoae ?

Oh this is miraculous and so beautiful. These teeny, intrepid beings are fascinating and I'm so happy they also make their homes here too, in the southwest. Thank you for this wonderful post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84