You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are women who dress provocatively responsible for unwanted attention?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Hello again Sharoon!

It is an interesting question, and I must say that a man's actions are a man's responsibility. And I was thinking of a different answer until you mentioned rape and assault, it is hard to believe but my mind does not even imagine such horrible things, perhaps I am guilty of 'looking on the bright side' and ignoring some of the harsher realities of our world

I do think that being modest (for both men and women) is more responsible and attractive. That does not excuse any behavior by other parties.

But when we talk about unwanted attention, I imagine flirting. Men and women flirt and talk to each other in certain circumstances. When people are single, they look for a partner through these techniques in certain cultures. And what we wear and how we act, our dress and body language, are the first line of communication to the opposite sex. If a man is interesting in finding a partner, he might use dress as an indicator of which women or when to talk to certain women.

In this case I think that if a woman is going to dress a certain way, she may get more men talking to her. There are cultures where women wear their hair a certain way before they are married, and a different way after they are married. What we wear does send a message, and we must be aware of that.

Assault, rape etc are NEVER appropriate. Attention to me does not have to be violent, it could be an invitation to coffee or another type of activity. I am married, so maybe I am out of the loop.

Good to stop in and chat! May God Bless you and your family Sharoon!

Sort:  

Heyy can't tell you how happy your comment made me for 2 reasons mainly. First, cos it's good to see you on my blog and it has been quite long since we talked and you always make me happy. Second, I loved the aspect you brought out in your comment. The way you have put it and elaborated, it does make sense and I agree with you. Funny how when I saw this question, my mind instantly went to rape and assault and not the aspect you highlighted and yours went to something else. This really proves how our environment and the things we are recently exposed to make us think.

This is so true, our environment is a very powerful driver for how our brain reacts to ideas. I think the most important lesson is that we respect one another, men to women and women to men.

I was happy to see your post again too! I have been engaging in a league of commenter recently, apparently the problem with user retention has lead certain groups to reward the best commenter on the site, and so I have been working on becoming one of those top commenters. And can you believe it I saw this post in the @c-squared feed! I use their feed because that way I get to a lot of different users, many who I would never see otherwise.

And I was pleasantly surprised to find a friend :)

Hey, I have heard papa-pepper making noises about maybe another round of the selfie contest. Would you consider joining again? Maybe he will start it about the same time as last year, but I'm not sure, I have no inside information. He just said several times to keep our eyes open.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85