You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Women Who Dress Provocatively Responsible for Unwanted Attention, or Should Men Learn to Control Themselves?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

To answer the question in your title, I believe in individual freedom, and I believe each individual has the right to wear the clothes he/she wants.

I despise places where women are forced to wear certain clothes that cover all of their body so they aren't "punished", that is oppression.

And regarding Unwanted Attention, I think people in general should have basic education when interacting with people they don't know. It is all about having values and common sense when presenting ourselves to new people to start a new productive relationship.

So anyone that blames women for dressing "provocatively" are in my opinion, mistaken. We all should be able to dress like we prefer, and be respected for it.

Sort:  

I believe in individual freedom, for sure, but I do think we are less free than we may think - we are very much bound by cultural conditioning as well as the conditioning that assaults us from advertising. If we were FULLY informed about this, then sure, dress how you like - but then, you also must respect the freedoms of others, as I know some people have brought up cross-cultural sensititivities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43